SICHERHEIT is the biennial conference of the technical committee „Security – protection and reliability“ of the German Informatics Society, held since 2003, and preceded by the Verlässliche Informationssysteme conference series dating back to 1991. The conference is a meeting place for the German-speaking information security community. Co-located with SICHERHEIT 2020 there will be a doctoral forum with proceedings on Monday 16 March 2020.


Ph.D. students are encouraged to submit extended abstracts (4-6 pages) on their research related to any aspects of the safety and security of IT systems. Submissions must not be published or submitted for publication in identical or very similar form in other indexed publication channels. All accepted contributions will be published in the SICHERHEIT 2020 conference proceedings as an edition of Lecture Notes in Informatics (LNI), indexed by DBLP. Authors of accepted contributions need to register for the conference, present their work at the doctoral forum on 16 March and on a poster at the main conference (17-20 March). SICHERHEIT 2020 offers many networking opportunities with other Ph.D. students, senior faculty, and practitioners in the information security field.

In the spirit of a doctoral forum, submissions should be authored by Ph.D. students only. All submissions will be evaluated by the programme committee according to relevance, innovation, interest for a broader audience, and quality of presentation. The best contribution will receive a special award during the conference.

Papers are accepted in English and German, need to use one of the LNI templates ( and must be submitted through

Important dates

  • Submissions due 1 October 2019
  • Notifications to authors 16 December 2019
  • Camera-ready version 10 January 2020
  • Doctoral forum 16 March 2020
  • Conference SICHERHEIT 2020: 17-20 March 2020

PC Chair PhD Forum

  • Mathias Fischer, Universität Hamburg, PC Chair Doktorandenforum

Programme Committee

Thomas Eisenbarth Universität zu Lübeck
Simone Fischer-Hübner Karlstad University
Felix Freiling Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen
Dieter Gollmann TU Hamburg
Stefan Katzenbeißer Universität Passau
Michael Meier Universität Bonn
Max Mühlhäuser TU Darmstadt
Konrad Rieck TU Braunschweig
Stefanie Roos TU Delft
Christian Rossow Universität des Saarlandes
Thorsten Strufe TU Dresden
Melanie Volkamer Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Edgar Weippl Universität Wien