The Associated Theological Seminars

Since the mid-19th century a five-discipline structure has been established for all German-speaking Faculties of Evangelical Theology. Therefore in Göttingen exist five Theological Seminars [united into the Associated Theological Seminars since the mid-1960’s: VTS = Vereinigte Theologische Seminare] which reflect in a scientific manner the principal documents of Christianity (Old Testament, New Testament), the history of Christianity (Church history), its current theoretical and dogmatic content (Dogmatics and moral theology), as well as its ecclesiastic and school practice (Practical theology), in appropriately various contexts. These five seminars outline the basic structure of the theological teaching and research. They are complemented by religious studies which represent a distinct unit in the Faculty of Theology and foster a close cooperation with the Faculty of Philosophy.