In publica commoda

German Studies (M.A.)


Philologie: gelehrtes studium der … sprachen und literaturen
(The German Dictionary by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm)
Programme: German Studies M.A.
Degree: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Standard period of study: 4 semesters
Start: Summer and winter semester
Part-time studies possible
Degree programme options: Single Honours MA in German Studies/German Philology (78 C); Joint Honours MA in German Studies/German Philology (42 C); module packages: German Studies/German Philology as MA minor subjects (36 C/18 C)
Admission requirements for Single and Joint Honours MA: Overview
Entrance requirements for module packages: Overview
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)

Language of the programme: German

Why a Master's Degree in German Studies?

German Studies today is a central discipline in the humanities and cultural sciences that deals comprehensively with German language and literature: with their preconditions and forms of use as well as with its mediality and impact, with 'classic' texts as well as with everyday culture. For more than 100 million people today the German language is the elementary medium of thought and action. With their long history from the Middle Ages onwards and their strong interrelationships with other languages, literary traditions and cultures, German literature and the German language are a field of surprising discoveries. If you are interested in an in-depth scholarly examination of German language and literature, if you are interested in working in the media and culture sector or if you wish to continue your academic work in German studies, you should choose the Master's programme in German Studies.

Why a Master's programme in German Studies in Göttingen?

Studying in Göttingen offers you

  • a wide variety of methods from philology and corpus linguistics to cultural studies, digital humanities and psycholinguistics,
  • a strong focus on cultural, literary and linguistic theory,
  • a comprehensive historical perspective from the beginnings of German language and literature around 750 to the 21st century.

You have a multitude of different possibilities to create your individual study programme from the entire spectrum of the subject. At the beginning of the Master's programme, you select two of the three sub-disciplines – German Linguistics, German Medieval Studies and Modern German Literature. Towards the end of the programme, culminating in the Master’s thesis, you will focus on a sub-discipline or a theoretical orientation (German Linguistics, German Medieval Studies, Modern German Literature or Theory and Methodology of Textual Analysis).

In the one-subject Master's programme, the emphasis can thus be placed on 'German Literature' (with a literary-historical or literary-theoretical focus) or on language and literature' (with a systematic or historical approach). If the programme is studied as a two- or three-subject Master's degree (or if a ‘module package’ is selected), there are many possible combinations - for example with other literatures, with Comparative Literature, Linguistics and, soon, with Digital Humanities as a separate subject.

Sample study plans for all options can be found here. The programme may be started in the summer or the winter semester. The standard period of study is four semesters. Part-time study is possible.

One-subject master's degree
(78 C subject studies + 12 C professionalization area [key competencies] + 30 C master thesis)

In the first semester, two of the three sub-disciplines are studied:

  • German Linguistics (language structures, language system and language use in history and the present);
  • German Medieval Studies (texts in the language levels of Old, Middle and Early Modern High German from about 750 to 1520);
  • Literary Studies – Modern German Literature (texts of the 16th to 21st centuries).

In the second semester, two of the three sub-disciplines are combined in an integrative module. In addition, a focus is placed on one of the four areas of studies, on which the studies in the 3rd and 4th semesters then concentrate completely:

  • German Linguistics;
  • German Medieval Studies;
  • Literature Studies (Modern German Literature);
  • Theory and Methodology of Textual Analysis.

Details of the modules and the exact requirements for the Master's thesis can be found here.

Two- or Three-subject Master's Degrees
(42 C subject studies + one external module package of 36 C or two external module packages of 18 C each + 12 C professionalisation area [key competencies] + 30 C master thesis)

In this version, two of the three sub-disciplines are studied: in two discipline-specific modules and one integrative module.

Details of the modules and the exact requirements for the Master's thesis can be found here.

Module packages
(18 C or 36 C within the framework of another suitable Master's programme)

If a ‘module package’ is selected, modules will be studied in two of the three sub-disciplines (German Linguistics, German Medieval Studies, Modern German Literature). An overview of the admission requirements for module packages can be found here.

Details on the modules can be found here.

A mother-tongue or a proven near-native competence of the German language is indispensable for a German studies programme in order to ensure the ability to study (cf. § 2,4 of the admission regulations). Prerequisite for admission to the Master's programme is the successful completion of a relevant Bachelor's programme in German Studies or a closely related subject. It is important that at least two of the three sub-disciplines (German Linguistics, German Medieval Studies, Modern German Literature) have been a focus of study within the Bachelor's programme. Details on this and the admission procedure can be found here, as well as information on the possibility of applying if the Bachelor's programme has not yet been completed.

In publica commoda

Germanistik/Deutsche Philologie (M.A.)


Philologie: gelehrtes studium der … sprachen und literaturen
(Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm Grimm)
Name des Studienangebots: Germanistik / Deutsche Philologie
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Sommer- und Wintersemester
Teilzeitstudium möglich
Studienmöglichkeiten: Ein-Fach-Masterstudiengang MA in Germanistik/Deutsche Philologie (78 C); Kombinierter Masterstudiengang MA in Germanistik/Deutsche Philologie (42 C); Nebenfach/Modulpaket Germanistik/Deutsche Philologie (36 C/18 C)
Zulassungsvoraussetzungen für Masterstudiengang: Übersicht
Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete: Übersicht (pdf)
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)


Studium:

Warum ein Masterstudium der Germanistik / Deutschen Philologie?

Die heutige Germanistik ist eine geistes- und kulturwissenschaftliche Zentraldisziplin, die sich umfassend mit der deutschen Sprache und Literatur beschäftigt: mit ihren Voraussetzungen und Verwendungsweisen ebenso wie mit ihrer Medialität und Wirkung, mit ,Klassikern‘ ebenso wie mit der Alltagskultur. Für mehr als 100 Millionen Menschen ist die deutsche Sprache heute das elementare Medium des Denkens und Handelns. Mit ihrer langen Geschichte vom Mittelalter an und ihren intensiven Wechselbeziehungen zu anderen Sprachen, Literaturtraditionen und Kulturen sind die deutsche Literatur und die deutsche Sprache ein Feld überraschender Entdeckungen. Wer sich für die vertiefte wissenschaftliche Auseinandersetzung mit der deutschen Sprache und Literatur interessiert, eine Tätigkeit im Medien- und Kulturbereich anstrebt oder in der Germanistik weitergehend wissenschaftlich arbeiten will, sollte den Masterstudiengang Germanistik / Deutsche Philologie wählen.

Warum ein Masterstudium der Germanistik / Deutschen Philologie in Göttingen?

Das Studium in Göttingen bietet Ihnen

  • eine breite Vielfalt an Methoden von Editionswissenschaft und Korpuslinguistik über kulturwissenschaftliche Ansätze bis zu den Digital Humanities und der Psycholinguistik,
  • einen ausgeprägten kultur-, literatur- und sprachtheoretischen Schwerpunkt,
  • eine umfassende historische Perspektive von den Anfängen der deutschen Sprache und Literatur um 750 bis ins 21. Jahrhundert.

Sie haben eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Möglichkeiten, sich aus dem gesamten Spektrum des Fachs Ihr individuelles Studienprogramm zusammenzustellen. Dabei können Sie zu Beginn des Masterstudiengangs zwei der drei Teildisziplinen – Germanistische Linguistik, Germanistische Mediävistik, Neuere deutsche Literatur – kombinieren. Zur Masterarbeit hin erfolgt dann die Spezialisierung auf eine Teildisziplin oder eine theoretische Ausrichtung (Germanistische Linguistik, Germanistische Mediävistik, Neuere Deutsche Literatur oder Theorie und Methodologie der Textwissenschaften).

Im Ein-Fach-Master kann so der Schwerpunkt auf ,Deutsche Literatur‘ gelegt werden (mit literaturhistorischer oder literaturtheoretischer Ausrichtung) oder auf ,Sprache und Literatur‘ (mit systematischer oder mit historischer Ausrichtung). Wird der Studiengang als Zwei- oder Drei-Fach-Master studiert (oder im Rahmen von Modulpaketen), gibt es vielfältige Kombinationsmöglichkeiten – etwa mit anderen Philologien, mit der Komparatistik, der Linguistik und demnächst auch den Digital Humanities als eigenem Fach.

Exemplarische Studienverlaufspläne zu allen Varianten finden Sie hier. Der Studienbeginn kann zum Sommer- oder zum Wintersemester erfolgen. Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt vier Semester. Ein Teilzeitstudium ist möglich.

Ein-Fach-Master
(78 C Fachstudium + 12 C Professionalisierungsbereich [Schlüsselkompetenzen] + 30 C Masterarbeit)

Im ersten Semester werden zwei der drei Teildisziplinen studiert:

  • Germanistische Linguistik (Sprachstrukturen, Sprachsystem und Sprachgebrauch in Geschichte und Gegenwart);
  • Germanistische Mediävistik (Texte in den Sprachstufen des Alt-, Mittel- und Frühneu-hochdeutschen von ca. 750 bis 1520);
  • Literaturwissenschaft – Neuere deutsche Literatur (Texte des 16.–21. Jahrhunderts).

Im zweiten Semester werden zwei der drei Teildisziplinen in einem integrativen Modul verbunden. Außerdem erfolgt eine Schwerpunktsetzung in einem der vier Profilierungsbereiche, auf den sich das Studium im 3. und 4. Semester dann ganz konzentriert:

  • Germanistische Linguistik;
  • Germanistische Mediävistik;
  • Literaturwissenschaft (Neuere deutsche Literatur);
  • Theorie und Methodologie der Textwissenschaften.

Details zu den Modulen und den genauen Voraussetzungen für die Masterarbeit finden Sie hier.

Zwei- oder Drei-Fach-Master
(42 C Fachstudium + ein fachexternes Modulpaket im Umfang von 36 C oder zwei fachexterne Modulpakete von je 18 C + 12 C Professionalisierungsbereich [Schlüsselkompetenzen] + 30 C Masterarbeit)

Bei dieser Variante werden zwei der drei Teildisziplinen studiert: in zwei disziplinspezifischen Modulen und einem integrativen Modul.

Details zu den Modulen und den genauen Voraussetzungen für die Masterarbeit finden Sie hier.

Modulpakete
(18 C oder 36 C im Rahmen eines anderen geeigneten Masterstudiengangs)

Im Rahmen von Modulpaketen werden Module in zwei der drei Teildisziplinen (Germanistische Linguistik, Germanistische Mediävistik, Neuere deutsche Literatur) studiert. Eine Übersicht über die Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete ist hier.

Details zu den Modulen finden Sie hier.

Eine muttersprachliche oder eine nachgewiesene muttersprachennahe Kompetenz der deutschen Sprache ist zur Sicherung der Studierfähigkeit für ein Germanistikstudium unabdingbar (vgl. § 2,4 der Zulassungsordnung. Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme in den Masterstudiengang ist ein einschlägiges Bachelorstudium im Fach Germanistik / Deutsche Philologie oder einer eng verwandten Fachrichtung. Wichtig ist, dass im Rahmen des Bachelorstudiengangs Leistungen in (mindestens) zwei der drei Teildisziplinen (Germanistische Linguistik, Germanistische Mediävistik, Neuere deutsche Literatur) erbracht worden sind. Details dazu und zum Zulassungsverfahren finden Sie hier, ebenso Informationen zur Möglichkeit der Bewerbung, wenn das Bachelorstudium noch nicht ganz abgeschlossen ist.