In publica commoda

East Asian Studies/Modern China (B.A.) (two subjects)

Degree programme title: East Asian Studies/Modern China (B.A.) (two subjects)
Final degree: Bachelor of Arts
Standard period of study: 6 semesters
Starting semester: Winter semester
Language of the programme: German

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): open admission (application to International Student Services)



Degree programme description
The study objectives in the bachelor?s degree programme "East Asian Studies/Modern China" are divided into the fields of language training, knowledge transfer, theory and methodological training, academic research and preparation for advanced degree programmes as well as preparation for professional careers.

  • Language training: The degree programme provides basic skills in modern, standard spoken Chinese needed for mastering everyday communication as a prerequisite for subsequent in-depth studies.
  • Knowledge transfer: Students acquire introductory qualifications in the fields of history and philosophy/religion. Additionally, students choose three from the following five fields to acquire introductory qualifications: politics, society, economics, law of modern China and linguistics of modern Chinese. These introductory qualifications enable students to understand processes in modern and contemporary China.
  • Theory and methodological training: Graduates have a critical understanding of important cultural and social science theories and methods as applied to the subject of China.
  • Academic research work and preparation for advanced degree programmes: Students develop the ability to deepen the knowledge acquired independently and to develop knowledge of the current state of research. They acquire the capability to take a differentiated approach to reflection regarding modern China and are introduced to scientific work on issues that arise in this context.


Fields of work
The degree programme prepares students for professional careers in all areas that require introductory language skills and knowledge on the development of modern China. This includes, in addition to the transfer of knowledge and skills mentioned above, the ability to communicate information, ideas, problems and solutions to experts and laypersons, both orally and in writing.

The selection of the course combination and the professionalization area both play an important role in preparing students for future professions and acquiring core competences. Students are recommended to consult the subject-specific Student Advisory Service.

Language recommendations:
Knowledge of English and one other modern foreign language is recommended, with at least the level B2 of the common European framework of reference for each language.

In publica commoda

Ostasienwissenschaft/Modernes China (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Name des Studienangebots: Ostasienwissenschaft/Modernes China (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester

Zulassung zum Sommersemester 2018:

  • 1. Fachsemester: keine Zulassung (Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Darstellung des Studienangebots
Die Studienziele gliedern sich in die Bereiche Sprachausbildung, Wissensvermittlung, Theorie- und Methodenausbildung, wissenschaftliches Arbeiten und Vorbereitung auf ein weiterführendes Studium sowie Vorbereitung auf berufliche Tätigkeiten.

  • Sprachausbildung: Das Studium vermittelt eine einführende Qualifikationen in der modernen chinesischen gesprochenen Hochsprache zur Meisterung alltäglicher Kommunikation als Voraussetzung für eine spätere Vertiefung.
  • Wissensvermittlung: Die Studierenden erarbeiten sich Basiswissen zu den Bereichen Geschichte und Geistesgeschichte. Sie wählen zudem aus den fünf Bereichen Politik, Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft, Recht des modernen China und Sprachwissenschaft des Chinesischen drei aus, in denen sie sich ebenfalls Basiswissen erarbeiten. Dieses Basiswissen ermöglicht es ihnen, Vorgänge im modernen und gegenwärtigen China verstehen zu können.
  • Theorie- und Methodenausbildung: Die Absolventen haben ein kritisches Verständnis wichtiger kultur- und sozialwissenschaftlicher Theorien und Methoden in ihrer Anwendung auf den Gegenstand China.
  • Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten und Vorbereitung auf weiterführendes Studium: Studierende erarbeiten sich die Fähigkeit, das erworbene Wissen selbständig zu vertiefen und sich Kenntnisse des aktuellen Forschungsstandes zu erarbeiten. Sie sind zu einer differenzierten Reflexion über das moderne China in der Lage und werden an die wissenschaftliche Arbeit herangeführt zu Themen, die sich in diesem Zusammenhang stellen.


Berufsperspektiven
Das Studium bereitet für berufliche Tätigkeiten in allen Bereichen vor, die einführende Sprachkenntnisse und Kenntnisse zur Entwicklung des modernen China voraussetzen. Hierzu zählt neben der oben genannten Wissens- und Kompetenzvermittlung auch die Fähigkeit zu mündlicher und schriftlicher Kommunikation von Informationen, Ideen, Problemen und Lösungen an Experten und Laien.

Eine wichtige Rolle in der Vorbereitung späterer Berufsfelder spielt die Auswahl der Studienfachkombination und die Ausfüllung des Professionalisierungsbereichs und der Schlüsselkompetenzen. Eine Inanspruchnahme der Fachstudienberatung wird empfohlen.

Sprachempfehlungen:
Es werden Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache und einer weiteren modernen Fremdsprache jeweils wenigstens auf dem Niveau B2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen empfohlen.