In publica commoda

Geosciences (B.Sc.)

Research-oriented and interdisciplinary: The Bachelor's degree programme in Geosciences connects fundamental knowledge of the natural sciences and analytical knowledge with geoscientific issues in the field. As a rule, students continue with a further degree programme after completing the Bachelor's degree. The Bachelor's degree qualifies the student for one of the Master's degree programmes in Geosciences at Göttingen.

Subject: Geosciences
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Standard period of study: 6 semesters
Start of programme: winter and summer semester
Language of the programme: German

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): open admission (application to International Student Services)



Course description
Earth is our habitat and our livelihood. To safeguard this basis of our life, we need comprehensive knowledge of the "System Earth" and of the dynamics of its habitats. Our Geoscience programmes are addressed to those who want to better understand the processes in the Earth's interior and on its surface, taking the natural sciences as a basis.

The Bachelor's programme in Geoscience leads to the "Bachelor of Science - Specialisation: Geoscience" (which is a professional qualification) after six semesters. Students will acquire the basic specialist knowledge and methodology as well as an understanding of interdisciplinary interrelations, always in step with actual practice. Thus, this programme opens the door to various professions in several sectors of economy and administration (resources, conservation, consulting, engineering, building materials, insurances, authorities).

Programme structure
The programme structure complies with international standards: All courses constitute self-contained modules for which completion credits (C) are awarded upon completion. The programme encompasses 180 C to be earned in the areas Scientific Knowledge (specialised studies), Professionalisation (ca. 34 C), and Bachelor's thesis (12 C). During the first year, the geoscientific and natural-scientific basics are taught, to prepare for in-depth studies of individual branches of the geosciences in the second year. During the third year, elective modules and the Bachelor's thesis can be used to set individual priorities for pursuing a career in the following areas:

- Geoscientists in administration and consulting sectors (engineering firms, conservation, public jobs, etc.)
- Geoscientists in industry (resource exploration and extraction, building material industry, etc.)
- Continuing with a Master's programme (see links)

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Geowissenschaften

Kontakt
Studien- und Prüfungsberatung
Dr. Matthias Deicke
Geowissenschaftliches Zentrum
Raum 3 (EG)
+49 (0)551 39-10866
geowissenschaften@geo.uni-goettin
gen.de


Sprechzeiten: Montag bis Donnerstag 11.00-13.00 und nach Vereinbarung









Informationen zum Fach



Vor dem Studium



Aufbauende/weiterführende Studiengänge



Fachliche Links





Geowissenschaften (B.Sc)


Forschungsorientiert und interdisziplinär: Der Bachelorstudiengang Geowissenschaften verknüpft naturwissenschaftliches Grundlagenwissen und analytische Kenntnisse mit geowissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen aus der Praxis. In der Regel schließen Sie an den Bachelor einen weiterführenden Studiengang an. Der Abschluss qualifiziert Sie für einen der Göttinger Masterstudiengänge im Bereich Geowissenschaften.

Name des Studienfachs: Geowissenschaften
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester und Sommersemester

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2016/17:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Darstellung des Studienfachs
Es ist die Erde, auf der und von der wir leben. Die nachhaltige Sicherung dieser Lebensgrundlage erfordert ein grundlegendes Verständnis des 'Systems Erde' und der Dynamik ihrer Lebensräume. Unsere geowissenschaftlichen Studiengänge richten sich an alle, die auf naturwissenschaftlicher Grundlage die Entwicklung unserer Erde, die Vorgänge im Inneren und die Prozesse an der Erdoberfläche besser verstehen wollen.

Der Bachelorstudiengang Geowissenschaften führt nach sechs Semestern zum berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss „Bachelor of Science – Fachrichtung Geowissenschaften“ (kurz: B.Sc.). Er vermittelt praxisnah die grundlegenden fachlichen Sachverhalte und Methoden, aber auch ein Verständnis für interdisziplinäre Zusammenhänge. Damit eröffnet dieser Studiengang vielseitige geowissenschaftliche Berufsfelder in diversen Wirtschafts- und Verwaltungszweigen (Rohstoffe, Umweltschutz, Consulting- und Ingenieurbüros, Baustoffe, Versicherungen, Behörden).

Die Studiengangsstruktur entspricht den modernen internationalen Standards. Alle Lehrveranstaltungen sind zu abgeschlossenen und mit Anrechnungspunkten (Credits, C) versehenen Lehr- und Lerneinheiten (Module) zusammengefasst. Das Studium mit einem Umfang von insgesamt 180C gliedert sich in einen Bereich fachwissenschaftlicher Kompetenz (Fachstudium), einen Professionalisierungsbereich (ca. 34C), und die Abschlussarbeit (Bachelorarbeit, 12C). Dabei dient das erste Studienjahr vor allem der Vermittlung von geowissenschaftlichen und naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen, bevor im zweiten Jahr die Teildisziplinen vertieft werden. Im dritten Jahr ermöglichen wählbare Module und die Bachelorarbeit eine individuelle Schwerpunktsetzung in folgende Richtungen:

- GeowissenschaftlerInnen in Behörden und Consulting (z.B. Ingenieurbüros, Umweltschutz, öffentliche Arbeitgeber)

- GeowissenschaftlerInnen in der industriellen Praxis (z.B. Rohstofferkundung und -förderung, Baustoff- und Werkstoffindustrie)

- Übergang zu den weiterführenden Masterstudiengängen (siehe Links)