In publica commoda

Portuguese and Brazilian Studies/Portuguese (B.A.) (2 subjects)

« Minha pátria é minha lingua. »Caetano Veloso

With about 240 million native speakers and about 30 million people who speak it as their second language, Portuguese is one of the most widespread global languages. If you are interested in the Portuguese language, literature and culture, from the poetry of the courtly troubadours to the digital media, study with us! Become a specialist in the cultures of Portugal, Brazil and the lusophone regions of Africa and explore their distinctive linguistic characteristics. Find out why Portugal is sometimes described as a country of poets, or learn more about what the Portuguese fado and the Brazilian samba have in common.

Name of subject: Portuguese and Brazilian Studies/Portuguese
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard course length: 6 semesters
Start of programme: Winter semester
Language requirements prior to start of programme (evidence required): Previous knowledge of the Portuguese language is not required. Students with previous knowledge will be placed in a higher-level language course following an orientation test.

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): open admission (application to International Student Services)

Subject description

Subject/content/goals

In the course of your Portuguese and Brazilian Studies, you will acquire competencies in numerous different areas:

  • linguistic competence (level B2 GER)
  • intercultural competence
  • ability to conduct scientific work
  • historical perspectives on linguistic, literary and cultural developments
  • regional and country-specific knowledge
  • analytical skills
  • key competencies in communication, investigation methods and information processing

Research areas and research focus

The sections of the Bachelor’s degree programme Portuguese and Brazilian Studies are language practice, literary studies, linguistics, regional and cultural studies and communication skills.

In the area of language practice, you will practice and expand the four skills of listening, reading, speaking and writing on the basis of the European Framework of Reference (from level A1 to B2), to develop your receptive and productive competence in oral and written communication. You will analyse and compare various aspects of German and Portuguese grammar. All courses in language practice include some aspects of regional and cultural studies (such as history, culture, politics, etc.) of Portugal and the other parts of the lusophone world.

The purpose of linguistics is to examine the structure and usage of contemporary Portuguese and its historical development (e.g. the description of phonetic structure, vocabulary and grammar). The basic principles, core areas and methods of Portuguese linguistics are taught in the relevant courses. We make a point of offering a wide range of courses from traditional Romance language areas, such as historical linguistics, generative syntax and dialectology, as well as covering modern questions of discourse linguistics and cognitive semantics. The goal here is to enable students to carry out independent work using modern linguistic methods (e.g. computational linguistics).

Literary studies deal with the lusophone literatures and cultures, and their history from the medieval beginnings to the 21st century. You will be familiarized with various methods of text interpretation and literary theories, whose diversity opens up a great variety of approaches to text analysis and other forms of media processing (e.g. film). In the literary studies courses, some specific eras and works are dealt with in more detail. Some research areas in Portuguese-language literary studies are the Portuguese literature of the Middle Ages and early modern era, as well as the 19th and 20th centuries, cultural transfer, imagology and literary gender studies.

In regional and cultural studies, you will acquire basic knowledge about the history, economics, politics, society and culture of Portugal, Brazil and lusophone Africa, using theories from the social and cultural sciences. The acquisition of regional and cultural knowledge includes the development of intercultural competence to enable you to reflect on both your own and the foreign culture, and to comprehend the two cultures as dynamic, living and multifaceted systems. In the advanced courses, this basic knowledge is expanded using specific examples.

The degree programme includes one module to impart knowledge about using and designing media to process and present subject-specific content. Here you will also learn how to critically analyse content presented via various media.

Structure of the degree programme

The degree programme consists of several basic and advanced modules in the sections of language practice, linguistics, literary studies and regional and cultural studies, as well as one module of communication skills. The modules are composed of individual courses, for each of which a fixed number of credits can be obtained. These credits reflect the amount of work required to complete the individual courses and are granted separately from the grades.

Studying Portuguese in Göttingen

There are so many advantages to studying Portuguese in Göttingen:

  • You learn about Portuguese, Brazilian and lusophone Africa’s language and culture in the heart of Germany.
  • You will get personal support in learning groups with small numbers of participants.
  • We have an international teaching staff.
  • A major part of the curriculum is taught in the target language.
  • Your studies are research-oriented thanks to our interdisciplinary cooperation projects.
  • We have a special subject library with more than 100,000 volumes.
  • You can also get into contact with other Romance languages and cultures, if you like.

Possible/recommended profiles

Depending on the targeted occupational field, a combination of the subject Portuguese and Brazilian Studies with subjects of cultural and social sciences is recommended, or, alternatively, with studies of economics and/or law. Studying in Göttingen provides opportunities for innovative, personal combinations from a choice of about 40 subjects.

Occupational fields

For graduates, all types of careers are open which are connected with the Portuguese language and lusophone cultures. Some typical occupational fields are media professions, tourism, publishing, non-governmental and cultural organisations and public relations, for example in internationally active commercial enterprises. The Bachelor’s degree in Portuguese and Brazilian Studies offers an optimal starting point for subsequent specialisation as an interpreter or translator. The University offers many programmes of career guidance and preparation for the job market.

In publica commoda

Portugal- und Brasilienstudien/Portugiesisch (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

« Minha pátria é minha lingua. »Caetano Veloso

Mit circa 240 Millionen Muttersprachlerinnen und Muttersprachlern und circa 30 Millionen Sprecherinnen und Sprechern als Zweitsprache ist Portugiesisch eine der weltweit am meisten verbreiteten Sprachen. Wenn Sie Interesse an der portugiesischen Sprache, Literatur und Kultur haben, von den Versen der höfischen Troubadoure bis zu den digitalen Medien, studieren Sie bei uns: Werden Sie Spezialistin bzw. Spezialist für die Kulturen Portugals, Brasiliens und der lusophonen Regionen Afrikas und erforschen Sie ihre sprachlichen Besonderheiten. Erkunden Sie, warum Portugal manchmal als Land der Poeten bezeichnet wird, oder erfahren Sie mehr über die Gemeinsamkeiten des portugiesischen Fado und der brasilianischen Samba.

Name des Studienfachs: Portugal- und Brasilienstudien/Portugiesisch
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn (Nachweis): Es sind keine Vorkenntnisse der portugiesischen Sprache erforderlich; bei Vorkenntnissen erfolgt die Einstufung in ein höheres Sprachniveau durch einen Orientierungstest.

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2018/19:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei Studium International)

Darstellung des Studienfachs

Gegenstand/Inhalte/Zielsetzungen

In Ihrem Portugiesisch-Studium erwerben Sie vielfältige Kompetenzen:

  • Sprachkompetenz (Niveau B2 GER)
  • interkulturelle Kompetenz
  • Fähigkeit zum wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten
  • historische Perspektiven auf sprachliche, literarische und kulturelle Entwicklungen
  • regionale und landesspezifische Kenntnisse
  • analytische Fähigkeiten
  • Schlüsselkompetenzen in der Kommunikation, Recherche und Informationsbearbeitung

Fachgebiete und Forschungsschwerpunkte

Die Teilbereiche des Bachelor Portugal- und Brasilienstudien sind Sprachpraxis, Literaturwissenschaft, Sprachwissenschaft, Landeswissenschaft und Vermittlungskompetenz.

Im Bereich der Sprachpraxis werden die vier Fertigkeiten (Hören, Lesen, Sprechen und Schreiben) zur Entwicklung der mündlichen und schriftlichen Rezeptions- und Produktionskompetenzen auf der Grundlage des Europäischen Referenzrahmens eingeübt und vertieft (von Niveau A1 bis B2). Sie analysieren vergleichend verschiedene Aspekte der deutschen und portugiesischen Grammatik. Alle Lehrveranstaltungen in der Sprachpraxis berücksichtigen landeswissenschaftliche Aspekte (Geschichte, Kultur, Politik, usw.) sowohl Portugals als auch der restlichen lusophonen Welt.

Die Sprachwissenschaft (oder Linguistik) untersucht die Struktur und den Gebrauch des Portugiesischen in der Gegenwart und seine geschichtliche Entwicklung (z. B. die Beschreibung von Lautstruktur, Wortschatz und Grammatik). In den Lehrveranstaltungen werden die Grundlagen, Kernbereiche und Methoden der portugiesischen Sprachwissenschaft vermittelt. Wir legen Wert darauf, ein breit gefächertes Angebot an Veranstaltungen sowohl aus den traditionellen romanistischen Bereichen wie der Historischen Linguistik, der Generativen Syntax und der Dialektologie zu gewährleisten als auch modernen Fragestellungen der Diskurslinguistik und der Kognitiven Semantik gerecht zu werden. Ziel ist dabei auch, die Studierenden zum eigenständigen Arbeiten mit modernen linguistischen Methoden zu befähigen (z.B. Computerlinguistik).

Die Literaturwissenschaft beschäftigt sich mit den portugiesischsprachigen Literaturen und Kulturen und ihrer Geschichte von den Anfängen im Mittelalter bis ins 21. Jahrhundert. Die Studierenden werden in verschiedene Methoden der Textauslegung und in literaturwissenschaftliche Theorien eingeführt, deren Vielfalt eine Fülle an Zugängen für die Analyse von Texten und anderen medialen Formen (z. B. Film) eröffnet. In den Lehrveranstaltungen werden bestimmte Epochen und Werke vertieft erschlossen. Forschungsgebiete der portugiesischsprachigen Literaturwissenschaft sind die portugiesische Literatur des Mittelalters und der frühen Neuzeit sowie des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts, Kulturtransfer, Imagologie und die literaturwissenschaftliche Geschlechterforschung.

Die Landeswissenschaft vermittelt grundlegende Kenntnisse über Geschichte, Wirtschaft, Politik, Gesellschaft und Kultur Portugals, Brasiliens und des lusophonen Afrika unter Verwendung sozial- und kulturwissenschaftlicher Theorien. Der Erwerb von landeswissenschaftlichen Kenntnissen beinhaltet den Aufbau einer interkulturellen Kompetenz, die ermöglichen soll, über die eigene und die fremde Kultur zu reflektieren und beide als dynamisches, lebendiges und vielfältiges System zu verstehen. In den weiterführenden Lehrveranstaltungen werden die Grundkenntnisse anhand konkreter Beispiele vertieft.

Das Studium beinhaltet ein Modul zur Vermittlung von Kenntnissen über die Nutzung und Gestaltung von Medien bei der Aufarbeitung fachspezifischer Inhalte. Hier lernen Sie auch, die über die verschiedenen Medien vermittelten Inhalte kritisch zu analysieren.

Aufbau des Studiums

Das Studium besteht aus Basis- und Aufbaumodulen in den Teilbereichen Sprachpraxis, Sprach-, Literatur- und Landeswissenschaft sowie aus einem Modul im Bereich der Vermittlungskompetenz. Die Module setzen sich aus einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen zusammen, für die jeweils eine bestimmte Anzahl an Credits vorgesehen ist. Diese Credits bilden den Arbeitsaufwand für die einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen ab und werden unabhängig von der Note vergeben.

Portugiesisch studieren in Göttingen

  • Sprache und Kultur Portugals, Brasiliens und des lusophonen Afrika im Herzen Deutschlands
  • individuelle Betreuung in Lerngruppen mit überschaubarer Teilnehmerzahl
  • internationales Team von Lehrenden
  • Unterricht in der Zielsprache in einem großen Anteil des Curriculums
  • forschungsorientiertes Studieren dank interdisziplinärer Kooperationen
  • Fachbibliothek mit über 100.000 Bänden
  • Kontakt und Austausch mit weiteren romanischen Sprachen und Kulturen in einem gesamtromanistischen Institut

Mögliche/empfohlene Profile

Je nach angestrebtem Berufsfeld ist eine Kombination des Faches Portugal- und Brasilienstudien mit verschiedenen kultur- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern, darüber hinaus mit Wirtschafts- bzw. Rechtswissenschaften empfehlenswert. Das Studium in Göttingen ermöglicht individuelle, innovative Kombinationen aus einem Angebot von rund 40 Fächern.

Berufsfelder

Für Absolventinnen und Absolventen erschließen sich alle beruflichen Wege, die mit der portugiesischen Sprache und den portugiesischsprachigen Kulturen zu tun haben. Typische Berufsfelder sind beispielsweise Medienberufe, Tourismus, Verlagswesen, Nichtregierungs- und Kulturorganisationen sowie Öffentlichkeitsarbeit etwa in international agierenden Wirtschaftsunternehmen. Der Bachelor Portugal- und Brasilienstudien bietet optimale Voraussetzungen für eine spätere Spezialisierung als Dolmetscherin oder Übersetzerin bzw. Dolmetscher und Übersetzer. Die Universität bietet viele Veranstaltungen zur Berufsorientierung und zur Vorbereitung auf den Arbeitsmarkt.