In publica commoda

Law (B.A.) (2 subjects)

Programme name: Law
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard period of study: 6 semesters
Start: Every winter semester
Language: German

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st and 2nd subject semester: limited admissions (application to the university)
  • 3rd to 9th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): limited admission (application to International Student Office)



The degree programme
Legal questions are of significance in virtually all professions and fields of employment. Students of "Law" will be taught basic legal knowledge and how to apply it. The students will acquire knowledge in at least two of the three main subject areas of applicable law (Civil Law, Criminal Law and Public Law). They will be familiarised with the methods of legal interpretation and subsumption techniques, and with how to apply these in developing case solutions. By attending lectures and seminars and completing the subsequent examinations (written examinations, assignments and oral examinations), the students prove their ability to apply the scientific principles of their field of learning to many different areas.

The seminars offer an opportunity to deal with current legal problems and controversial issues in depth and to discuss them with other seminar participants. In-depth study of a freely selected area of law also offers the opportunity to study law in a targeted way as a part of individual career planning. In-depth study is possible in the following areas, among others: principles of law, private and public commercial law, employment law, media law, European and international law, international commercial law, international criminal law, criminology, medical law. In addition to the purely subject-related courses, students can also take subject-related foreign language courses and key qualification courses (about topics such as dispute settlement, mediation and discussion techniques).

The goal of this course of studies is the acquisition of subject and methodology-related skills in the form of legal knowledge in at least two of the three legal subject areas of Civil Law, Criminal Law and Public Law, as well as methods of legal action. Moreover, students of this subject are expected to acquire the ability to apply the methods learned in solving legal problems themselves on a scientific basis and thus have an opportunity to prepare in the course of their Bachelor's degree programme for proceeding to a possible expansion of their professional knowledge in Master's degree programmes.

Combinations of subjects:
Combinations of subjects are possible with Bachelor's degree programmes on an equivalent level. You will find possible combinations here.
Popular combination subjects in the dual-subject Bachelor's degree programme in Law are Politics, Economics and History.

Occupational fields:
On completion of their Bachelor's degree, students will have access to occupations involving legal matters, for example in industry and commerce, journalism, publishing, organisations and associations, in libraries, documentation and information institutions, in insurance and in some areas of public administration or international organisations. A specific subject-related expansion of knowledge in relevant areas of law (see structure and content of studies) offers an opportunity for subject-related qualification.

Structure and content of studies:
The subject of Law with a "Bachelor of Arts" degree is a partial degree programme within the dual-subject Bachelor's degree programme. The standard course length is 6 semesters.

The beginners' legal courses (from the degree programme "Law, State Examination") - divided into the subject areas of Civil Law, Criminal Law and Public Law - constitute the group of elective compulsory modules I. Courses covering basic topics (such as lectures about the history of law, general political science, philosophy of law or canon law) are categorised according to subject-related criteria and each allocated to one of the three subject areas. Of the total 66 subject-related credits to be completed, students are required to successfully complete 42 credits from the group of the elective compulsory modules I. Among these, modules from at least two of the three subject areas must be selected; modules to a minimum total extent of 14 credits must be successfully completed in each one of the subject areas chosen. Within the optional segment, students can choose between subject-related expansion of knowledge by taking additional legal modules, and an occupational field-related profile by taking courses to acquire subject-specific key competencies or modules from Economics. Moreover, seven module packages, composed according to subject-related criteria, ranging from 18 to 23 credits, are available for students of other subjects.

Subject-related in-depth study is possible for example in the following areas: principles of law, private and public commercial law, employment law, media law, European and international law, international commercial law, international criminal law, criminology, medical law. In addition to the purely subject-related courses, students can also take subject-related foreign language courses and key qualification courses (about topics such as dispute settlement, mediation and discussion techniques).

Recommended prerequisites
Besides the general or subject-related university entrance qualification or a qualification recognised as equivalent, there are no formal requirements for admission to a degree programme in Law. Students should have an understanding of and be interested in political, economic and social processes and contexts, be able to express themselves well and precisely both orally and in writing, and also have a talent for logical and abstract thinking.

In view of the ongoing internationalisation and globalisation, good foreign language skills, especially in English, are becoming more and more important also for members of the legal profession.

In publica commoda

Rechtswissenschaft (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Name des Studienfachs: Rechtswissenschaft
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester

Zulassung zum Sommersemester 2018:

  • 1. Fachsemester: keine Zulassung (Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): Studienbeginn nur zum Wintersemester (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Der Studiengang
Rechtswissenschaftliche Fragestellungen sind in nahezu allen Bereichen der Berufswelt von Bedeutung. Den Studierenden des Studienfachs "Rechtswissenschaften" werden juristische Grundkenntnisse und die Fähigkeit zu deren Anwendung vermittelt. Die Studierenden erwerben Kenntnisse in mindestens zwei der drei Teilgebiete (Zivilrecht, Strafrecht, öffentliches Recht) des geltenden Rechts. Sie lernen die juristischen Auslegungsmethoden und die Subsumtionstechnik kennen und im Rahmen der Entwicklung von Falllösungen anwenden. Die Studierenden weisen durch den Besuch von Vorlesungen und Seminaren und das Ablegen der daran anschließenden Prüfungen (Klausuren, Hausarbeiten und mündliche Prüfungen) nach, dass sie die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen des Lerngebietes auf vielen Anwendungsbereichen nutzen.

Seminare bieten Gelegenheit, aktuelle juristische Problemstellungen und Streitfragen vertieft zu bearbeiten und mit anderen Seminarteilnehmern zu diskutieren. Die fachliche Vertiefung in einem frei gewählten Rechtsgebiet bietet darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, das Studium des Faches Rechtswissenschaften gezielt für eine individuelle Berufswegplanung zu nutzen. Eine Vertiefung ist unter anderem in folgenden Gebieten möglich: Grundlagen des Rechts, privates und öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht, Arbeitsrecht, Medienrecht, Europa- und Völkerrecht, Internationales Wirtschaftsrecht, Internationales Strafrecht, Kriminologie, Medizinrecht. Neben den rein fachlichen Lehrveranstaltungen können fachspezifische Fremdsprachenkurse und Schlüsselqualifikationsveranstaltungen (unter anderem zu Themen wie Streitbeilegung. Mediation, Gesprächsführung) belegt werden.

Das Ziel des Studiums ist zum einen der Erwerb von Fach- und Methodenwissen in Form materiell-rechtlicher Kenntnisse in wenigstens zwei der drei Rechtsgebiete Bürgerliches Recht, Strafrecht und öffentliches Recht sowie der juristischen Methoden. Darüber hinaus sollen Studierende des Faches die Fähigkeit erwerben, unter Anwendung der erlernten Methoden juristische Fragestellungen selbstständig wissenschaftlich zu bearbeiten und so Gelegenheit erhalten, sich im Rahmen des Bachelorstudiums auf eine etwaige fachwissenschaftliche Vertiefung in Masterstudiengängen vorzubereiten.


Fächerkombinationen:
Fächerkombinationen sind mit gleichrangigen Bachelorstudiengängen möglich. Mögliche Kombinationen können sie hier einsehen.
Beliebte Fächerkombinationen im 2-Fach-Bachelor der Rechtswissenschaft sind Politik, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Geschichte.


Berufsfelder:
Mit dem Bachelorabschluss stehen den Absolventinnen und Absolventen Tätigkeitsfelder offen, die juristische Bereiche tangieren, zum Beispiel in Wirtschaftsunternehmen, im Journalismus, im Verlagswesen, im Vereins- und Verbandswesen, im Bibliotheks-, Dokumentations- und Informationswesen, im Versicherungswesen, in einigen Bereichen der öffentlichen Verwaltung oder internationalen Organisationen. Eine spezifische fachwissenschaftliche Vertiefung in einschlägigen Rechtsgebieten (siehe unter Aufbau und Inhalte des Studiums) bietet dabei die Möglichkeit fachspezifischer Qualifizierung.


Aufbau und Inhalte des Studiums:
Das Fach Rechtswissenschaften mit dem Abschluss "Bachelor of Arts" ist ein Teilstudiengang des Zwei-Fächer-Bachelor-Studienganges. Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt 6 Semester.

Die Lehrveranstaltungen des volljuristischen Grundstudiums bilden - wiederum untergliedert nach den Teilgebieten Zivilrecht, Strafrecht und öffentliches Recht - die Gruppe der Wahlpflichtmodule I. Lehrveranstaltungen aus dem Grundlagenbereich (zum Beispiel Vorlesungen aus den Bereichen Rechtsgeschichte, Allgemeine Staatslehre, Rechtsphilosophie oder Kirchenrecht) sind dabei unter fachlichen Gesichtspunkten jeweils den drei Teilgebieten zugeordnet. Die Studierenden müssen im Rahmen der insgesamt zu belegenden 66 fachwissenschaftlichen Credits, 42 Credits aus der Gruppe der Wahlpflichtmodule I erfolgreich belegen. Hierbei sind Module aus mindestens zwei der drei Teilgebiete zu wählen; je gewähltem Teilgebiet müssen Module im Umfang von insgesamt wenigstens 14 Credits erfolgreich absolviert werden. Im Optionalbereich können die Studierenden zwischen der fachwissenschaftlichen Vertiefung durch Belegung weiterer juristischer Module und dem berufsfeldbezogenen Profil durch Belegung fachspezifischer Schlüsselqualifikationsveranstaltungen und wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Module wählen. Für Studierende anderer Fächer werden darüber hinaus sieben nach fachlichen Gesichtspunkten zusammengestellte Modulpakete von 18 - 23 Credits angeboten.

Eine fachliche Vertiefung ist unter anderem in folgenden Gebieten möglich: Grundlagen des Rechts, privates und öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht, Arbeitsrecht, Medienrecht, Europa- und Völkerrecht, Internationales Wirtschaftsrecht, Internationales Strafrecht, Kriminologie, Medizinrecht. Neben den rein fachlichen Lehrveranstaltungen können fachspezifische Fremdsprachenkurse und Schlüsselqualifikationsveranstaltungen (unter anderem zu Themen wie Streitbeilegung. Mediation, Gesprächsführung) belegt werden.


Empfohlene Voraussetzungen
Neben der allgemeinen oder fachgebundenen Hochschulreife oder einem als gleichwertig anerkannten Abschluss gibt es keine formalen Voraussetzungen für die Aufnahme eines juristischen Studiums. Studienbewerber sollten Verständnis und Interesse für politische, wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Vorgänge und Zusammenhänge, die Fähigkeit, sich schriftlich und mündlich gut und präzise ausdrücken zu können sowie die Gabe zu logischem und abstraktem Denken mitbringen.

Gute Fremdsprachenkenntnisse, insbesondere der englischen Sprache, werden im Hinblick auf Internationalisierung und Globalisierung auch für Juristen zunehmend wichtiger.