In publica commoda

Prehistory and Early History (B.A.) (two subjects)

A spadeful of the past: The archaeology of prehistory and early history enables us to reconstruct non-literate societies from the Stone Age up until the Middle Ages on the basis of excavations and the most modern analytical methods. This degree programme offers numerous points of contact with neighbouring subjects and connects theoretical knowledge with practical activity in the best possible way. A good degree qualifies students for a continuing Master's degree programme at Göttingen.

Programme name: Prehistory and Early History
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (two subjects)
Standard period of study: 6 semesters
Start: Only each winter semester
Language of the programme: German

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): open admission (application to International Student Services)



Subject description
Prehistory and Early History is a historical cultural science. Working with material relics, it examines environment, economics and social organizational forms of early mankind as well as art, traditions and religion. Its aim is to analyze and reconstruct cultural-historical correlations and developments and development processes beyond the spatiotemporal framework. The working area of prehistory and early history begins with the appearance of man and ends temporally and spatially there where significant amounts of written sources appear in addition to archaeological findings. Omitted from the broad span of this working area are archaeological disciplines that have established themselves as independent subjects (Egyptology, Ancient American Studies, Assyrian Studies, Christian Archaeology, Classical Archaeology, Near Eastern Archaeology).

The programme enables graduates to continue on with Master's studies in the subject "Prehistory and History" as well as qualifies graduates for an occupational field. The programme therefore gives students a broad scientific education. Students will acquire the skills needed to conduct independent scientific work as well as extensive knowledge on European Prehistory and Early History with a concentration in Central Europe and bordering areas. Students will acquire and learn to apply basic scientific terms, theories and methods pertaining to Prehistory and Early History. In practical blocks (especially field internships, excursions) students will become familiar with several fields of occupation. For successful studies in the subject "Prehistory and Early History" students should have good knowledge in at least two modern European foreign languages. Students are additionally recommended to acquire reading skills in additional foreign languages. A concentration in the historical-geographical field acquired during school education and special interest in issues pertaining to environmental history are also required.

Occupational fields
Graduates of the subject "Prehistory and Early History" find their primary fields of occupation in institutions for the preservation of historical monuments and in museums. To a certain extent, there is also a demand for graduates from private excavation companies in Germany and abroad.

The occupational possibilities in universities and other research institutes are much fewer. The perspectives in the cultural, journalistic or commercial field, however, have increased over the last few years. The programme takes these various occupational perspectives into account.

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Universität Göttingen

Contact
Studien- und Prüfungsberatung
Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer, Eva Wolff
Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen
Phone +49 551 39 10664
Fax +49 551 39 4010
E-mailHomepage


Spezifische Fachberatung
Dr. Immo Heske
Seminar für Ur- und Frühgeschichte
Philosophische Fakultät
Nikolausberger Weg 15
37073 Göttingen
Tel. +49 (0)551/395080
iheske@gwdg.de





Informationen zum Fach



Studienaufbau



Vor dem Studium



Verwandte Studiengänge



Aufbauende/weiterführende Studiengänge



Weitere Informationen

Ur- und Frühgeschichte (B.A.) (2-Fächer)


Mit dem Spaten in die Vergangenheit: Die ur- und frühgeschichtliche Archäologie ermöglicht auf der Grundlage von Ausgrabungen und modernsten Analyseverfahren die Rekonstruktion schriftloser Gesellschaften von der Steinzeit bis ins Mittelalter. Der Studiengang bietet zahlreiche Anknüpfungspunkte an benachbarte Fächer und verbindet in idealer Weise theoretisches Wissen mit praktischer Tätigkeit. Ein guter Abschluss qualifiziert für den Göttinger Masterstudiengang.

Name des Studienfachs: Ur- und Frühgeschichte
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: nur Wintersemester

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2016/17:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Darstellung des Studienfachs
Die Ur- und Frühgeschichte ist eine historisch arbeitende Kulturwissenschaft. Ausgehend von materiellen Überresten erforscht sie Umwelt, Wirtschaft und soziale Organisationsformen der frühen Menschheit ebenso wie Kunst, Brauchtum und Religion. Ihr Ziel ist die Analyse und Rekonstruktion kulturgeschichtlicher Zusammenhänge und Entwicklungsprozesse über den zeitlich-räumlichen Rahmen schriftlicher Überlieferung hinaus. Das Arbeitsfeld der Ur- und Frühgeschichte beginnt mit dem Auftreten des Menschen und endet zeitlich und räumlich dort, wo neben die Bodenfunde in erheblichem Umfang schriftliche Quellen treten. Aus diesem weit gespannten Arbeitsgebiet bleiben jene archäologischen Disziplinen ausgeklammert, die sich als selbständige Fächer etabliert haben (Ägyptologie, Altamerikanistik, Assyriologie, Christliche Archäologie, Klassische Archäologie, Vorderasiatische Altertumskunde).

Studienziele sind die Aufnahme in den Masterstudiengang mit dem Studienfach „Ur- und Frühgeschichte“ bzw. die Qualifikation für ein Berufsfeld. Deshalb wird auf eine breite wissenschaftliche Ausbildung wert gelegt. Die Studierenden sollen die Fähigkeit zur selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit erwerben und sich umfangreiche Kenntnisse zur europäischen Ur- und Frühgeschichte mit einem Schwerpunkt Mitteleuropa und angrenzende Gebiete erarbeiten. Sie sollen grundlegende fachwissenschaftliche Begriffe, Theorien und Methoden der Ur- und Frühgeschichte kennen und sicher anwenden können. In praxisbezogenen Anteilen (insbesondere Geländepraktika, Exkursionen) werden die Studierenden an einige der Berufsfelder herangeführt. Für ein erfolgreiches Studium im Fach "Ur- und Frühgeschichte" sind gute Kenntnisse in mindestens zwei modernen europäischen Fremdsprachen nützlich. Zusätzlich wird der Erwerb von Lesefähigkeiten in weiteren Fremdsprachen empfohlen. Ein Schwerpunkt der schulischen Ausbildung im historisch-geographischen Bereich und ein besonderes Interesse für umweltgeschichtliche Fragen sind dem Studium förderlich.

Berufsfelder
Die Absolventen des Faches „Ur- und Frühgeschichte“ finden ihre primären Betätigungsfelder in Einrichtungen der Denkmalpflege und in Museen. In gewissem Umfange werden Absolventen auch von privaten Grabungsfirmen des In- und Auslandes nachgefragt.

Wesentlich geringer sind die Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten an den Universitäten und sonstigen Forschungseinrichtungen. Perspektiven auf kulturellem, journalistischem oder kommerziellem Gebiet gewinnen hingegen in den letzten Jahren zunehmend an Bedeutung. Diesen sehr unterschiedlichen beruflichen Perspektiven trägt das Studienprogramm Rechnung.