Childcare

Childcare for children of pre-school age

Krippe or crèches accept children up to the age of three. In Göttingen (as in many German cities), the demand for crèche places exceeds the supply. Therefore, you should definitely start looking as early as possible. The costs for childcare vary depending on what is being offered and the age of the child. In most cases, they also depend on the parents’ income.

Kindergarten attendance is voluntary in Germany. From the age of three to six, children have a legal right to a free place in kindergarten. Kindergartens are usually open from 7:30 or 8 am and offer different types of care: either half-day (until 12:00) or full-day (until 14:00 or 16:30/17:00). You must pay for lunch separately. Kindergartens are run by local authorities or by churches, social or private providers.

The demand for kindergarten places also clearly exceeds the number available. Most kindergartens have waiting lists. Register your child as early as possible!

Childminders offer individual care in a family environment and have more flexible working hours. They usually look after several children at the same time in their own home. Childminders are trained and must have an official permit from the local child and youth welfare office. The Kindertagespflegebörse (Childcare board) Göttingen can help you find one.

The best way to find babysitters who can look after your children during the day or for a few hours in the evening is via the above-mentioned Kindertagespflegebörse or by asking colleagues or neighbours. You can also post a job opening on the Stellenwerk (job board) of the University of Göttingen.

Providers and facilities

The Family Service of the University of Göttingen is the first place to find answers to your questions about University-related and University childcare services.

The Family Service of the University of Göttingen can assist you in finding childcare facilities in Göttingen.

The Family Service of the University of Göttingen can assist you in finding childcare facilities in Göttingen.

Contact:

The International Office
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

Email: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Phone: +49 (0)551 39-21321

Team Welcome Centre
Map


Find us on Facebook

The Welcome Centre is not barrier-free. Please contact us if you need assistance.

Kinderbetreuung

Betreuung für Kinder im Vorschulalter

Krippen nehmen Kinder bis zum Alter von drei Jahren auf. In Göttingen (wie in vielen deutschen Städten) übersteigt die Nachfrage nach Krippenplätzen das Angebot. Deswegen sollten sie unbedingt so früh wie möglich mit der Suche beginnen. Die Kosten für die Kinderbetreuung variieren je nach Angebot und Alter des Kindes. Meist sind sie auch vom Einkommen der Eltern abhängig.

Der Besuch des Kindergartens ist in Deutschland freiwillig. Vom dritten bis zum sechsten Lebensjahr haben Kinder einen Rechtsanspruch auf einen kostenlosen Kindergartenplatz. Kindergärten sind meist ab 7:30 oder 8 Uhr morgens geöffnet und bieten unterschiedliche Betreuungsplätze: Halbtagesplätze (bis 12:00 Uhr) oder Ganztagesplätze (bis 14 Uhr oder 16:30/ 17 Uhr. Das Mittagessen müssen Sie separat bezahlen. Kindergärten werden kommunal oder von kirchlichen, sozialen oder privaten Trägern betrieben.

Auch für Kindergartenplätze übersteigt die Nachfrage das Angebot deutlich. Die meisten Kindergärten haben Wartelisten. Melden Sie Ihr Kind so früh wie möglich an!

Tagesmütter oder -väter bieten eine individuelle Betreuung im familiären Umfeld und haben flexiblere Arbeitszeiten. Sie betreuen in der Regel mehrere Kinder gleichzeitig in ihrem eigenen Zuhause. Tagesmütter und -väter sind geschult und müssen eine offizielle Erlaubnis der örtlichen Kinder- und Jugendhilfe haben. Die Kindertagespflegebörse Göttingen hilft Ihnen bei der Suche.

Babysitter, die tagsüber oder abends für ein paar Stunden auf Ihre Kinder aufpassen, finden Sie am besten über die Kindertagespflegebörse oder durch Nachfragen bei Kolleg*innen oder Nachbar*innen. Sie können auch ein Gesuch im Stellenwerk der Universität Göttingen aufgeben.

Anbieter und Einrichtungen

Der FamilienService der Universität Göttingen ist Ihre erste Anlaufstelle bei Fragen zu universitätsnahen und universitären Kinderbetreuungsangeboten.

Der FamilienService der Universität Göttingen unterstützt Sie bei der Orientierung zu Kinderbetreuungsangeboten in Göttingen.

Der FamilienService der Universität Göttingen unterstützt Sie bei der Orientierung zu Kinderbetreuungsangeboten in Göttingen.

Der FamilienService der Universität Göttingen unterstützt Sie bei der Orientierung zu Kinderbetreuungsangeboten in Göttingen.

Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Welcome Centre

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: welcome@uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: +49 (0)551 39 21321

Das Team des Welcome Centre
Lageplan


Find us on Facebook

Das Welcome Centre ist nicht barrierefrei zugänglich. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn Sie Assistenz oder einen barrierefreien Zugang zu den Angeboten des Welcome Centre benötigen.