In publica commoda

Visa and Residence Permit:

Information for International Students

Before Arrival in Germany

This visa is an entry permit which is valid from 90 days to 6 months. After your arrival in Germany, you will have to apply for a residence permit, which is generally valid for 2 years and can be extended until you have finished your studies.

Do not enter Germany with a tourist visa (“Schengen Visa” only for a stay in Germany for up to 90 days)! It is not possible to extend this visa or change it into a student visa.

Students from the European Union (EU) and those from the Schengen Area do not need a visa for entering Germany and may stay in the country for an unlimited time period.

Students who are non-EU citizens and not from the Schengen Area generally need a visa to enter Germany. Check here if a visa requirement applies for you:

You must apply for a visa in person at a German diplomatic mission in your country (Embassy or Consulate). The Embassy or Consulate in the country in which you are a legal resident is responsible for issuing you a visa. They will provide you with the application documents in the national language that applies in that country. In general, you should hand in your visa application personally with all documents required.

In order to avoid time consuming requests for additional information or documentation (document requirements can vary from country to country), you are advised to consult the website of the respective mission well in advance to find out about the visa procedure and about the documentation which has to be submitted. Make sure to apply for the correct visa, which is a study visa since the purpose of your stay in Germany is to study. Go to the following link to find further information. Once you have selected a country, you can select the link for German missions:

The following documents are normally required for a successful visa application:

  • Acceptance Letter from the University
  • If the University accepts your application for a place of study, you will be sent an acceptance letter by mail. The acceptance letter confirms that you have been offered a place of study.

  • Valid Passport
  • Your passport is proof of identification. It should be valid for at least six months before entering Germany. It is best to ensure that your passport is valid for your entire stay in order to avoid any bureaucratic obstacles.

  • Proof of Health Insurance
  • Health insurance is mandatory by federal law for all students attending German universities. Already when applying for your visa and enrolling at the University, you will be required to show proof of health insurance. For the application process, we recommend applying for travel health insurance, which will meet the visa requirements. It should be valid for the first weeks of your stay in Germany until you have been issued a residence permit. Once you have arrived in Germany, you should apply for German health insurance for the entire period of your stay in Germany.

  • Proof of Financing
  • When applying for a visa you will need to prove that you have enough financial resources to pay for at least the first year abroad. Currently, you are required to demonstrate that you have 10,332 Euros available to finance your studies. Proof of financing can be demonstrated by either presenting an account statement of a blocked account (Sperrkonto) or confirmation of financial support by a third party living in Germany. Please note that a part-time job is not sufficient for self-financing in Germany and will not be accepted as proof of financing. Make sure to inquire at the German embassy in your country as to which form of financial proof is necessary.

    Most international students show proof of financing by opening a blocked account with the required amount of financing. We recommend the following blocked account options which are affordable and provided through Fintiba, Expatrio and Allyways.

    Please find further information about proof of financial resources here.

  • Proof of Accommodation
  • Before arriving in Germany, you should already make arrangements for accommodation for the first few months. A rental contract (be it a room in a shared apartment or a dormitory room) is sufficient.

    If you need assistance in finding accommodation, please contact the Accommodation Service.

  • Biometric Passport Photos

Upon Arrival in Germany

Students who are non-EU citizens and not from the Schengen Area will need a residence permit for any stay that is longer than 90 days in Germany. Please apply in person at the Foreigner's Registration Office (Ausländerbehörde) where you will be living while your visa is still valid.

In order to apply for the permit, you will need to contact the Foreigner's Registration Office to make an appointment. Please contact them during their office hours: Monday and Tuesday - 2:00pm-3:30pm:

For the residence permit you will need to present similar documents like those required for your visa (please note, that it may be necessary to submit further documents):

  • completed application form
  • certificate of enrolment from the University of Göttingen
  • proof of financial resources
  • health insurance certificate
  • rental agreement
  • confirmation of registration by the Residents' Registration Office
  • valid passport
  • visa for entry for the purpose of studies
  • biometric passport photo
  • money for the fee

Helpful links

More information for...



Contact:

The International Office
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Personal Office Hours:
Mon and Wed 10-12 h

Hotline-International students and applicants


+49 551/39 27777


Calling Hours:
Mon - Fri 9 - 12 h

Contact


Map


Find us on Facebook

In publica commoda

Visum und Aufenthaltsgenehmigung:

Informationen für internationale Studierende

Vor der Einreise

Ein Visum ist eine Einreiseerlaubnis, die zwischen 90 Tagen und 6 Monaten gültig bleiben kann. Nach Ihrer Ankunft in Deutschland müssen Sie vor Ort eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung beantragen. Diese wird in der Regel für 2 Jahre vergeben und kann verlängert werden, bis Sie Ihr Studium abgeschlossen haben.

Reisen Sie unter keinen Umständen mit einem Touristen-Visum („Schengen-Visum“ nur für einen Aufenthalt von bis zu 90 Tagen) ein! Dieses kann nicht verlängert oder in eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zum Zweck des Studiums umgeschrieben werden.

Studierende aus Staaten der EU und des EWR brauchen kein Visum. Sie können ungehindert einreisen und sich unbegrenzt in Deutschland aufhalten.

Studierende aus Nicht EU/EWR-Staaten brauchen für die Einreise in der Regel ein Visum. Prüfen Sie hier, ob Sie visumpflichtig sind:

Das Visum muss persönlich bei einer deutschen Auslandsvertretung (eine Botschaft oder ein Konsulat) beantragt werden. Zuständig ist das Konsulat oder die Botschaft im demjenigen Land, in dem Sie aktuell Ihren regelmäßigen Aufenthalt haben. Botschaften und Konsulate stellen das Antragsformular auch in der Landessprache zur Verfügung. Der Antrag ist persönlich und mit allen nötigen Dokumenten und Nachweisen zu stellen.

Versuchen Sie, zeitaufwendige Nachfragen und Nachforderungen von Informationen und Dokumenten zu vermeiden. Informieren Sie sich ausführlich im Voraus auf der Internetseite der jeweiligen Auslandsvertretung – die geforderten Dokumente und Nachweise können sich von Land zu Land unterscheiden. Achten Sie insbesondere darauf, das richtige Visum zu beantragen: Geben Sie als Zweck Ihres Aufenthalts ‚Studium‘ an. Unter dem folgenden Link finden Sie die weitere Informationen. Nach Auswahl eines Landes können Sie links ‚Deutsche Vertretungen‘ auswählen und erhalten dann die Kontaktinformationen der dortigen deutschen Auslandsvertretungen:

Folgende Dokumente werden in der Regel für einen erfolgreichen Visumsantrag benötigt:

  • Zulassungsbescheid
  • Wird über Ihre Bewerbung für einen Studienplatz an der Universität positiv entschieden, so erhalten Sie einen Zulassungsbescheid. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Mitteilung, dass Ihnen der Studienplatz, für den Sie sich beworben haben, angeboten wird.

  • Gültiger Reisepass
  • Ihr Reisepass dienst als Identitätsnachweis. Er sollte bei Einreise noch mindestens sechs Monate gültig sein. Sie vermeiden organisatorischen Aufwand, wenn Ihr Reisepass für die gesamte Dauer Ihres Aufenthalts gültig bleibt.

  • Krankenversicherungsnachweis
  • Eine Krankenversicherung ist für alle Studierenden deutscher Hochschulen gesetzlich vorgeschrieben. Schon bei der Beantragung Ihres Visums müssen Sie eine Krankenversicherung nachweisen, auch für die Immatrikulation ist sie eine Voraussetzung. Sie sollten zunächst eine Reisekrankenversicherung abschließen, die den Anforderungen des Visum-Verfahrens genügt. Sie muss die Anreise und die Zeit bis zum Erhalt einer Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Deutschland abdecken. Nach Ihrer Ankunft in Göttingen schließen Sie dann eine deutsche Krankenversicherung ab, die den Gesamtzeitraum Ihres Studienaufenthalts abdeckt.

  • Finanzierungsnachweis
  • Schon bei der Beantragung eines Visums müssen Sie nachweisen, dass Sie Ihren Lebensunterhalt mindestens für das erste Jahr Ihres Aufenthalts decken können. Sie müssen dazu finanzielle Mittel von aktuell 10.332€ nachweisen. Sie können dies durch die entsprechende Summe auf einem Sperrkonto, durch eine Bürgschaft oder durch die Verpflichtungserklärung einer Person in Deutschland nachweisen. Beachten Sie bitte, dass ein Nebenjob in Deutschland nicht zur Eigenfinanzierung ausreichen und nicht als Finanzierungsnachweis anerkannt werden wird.

    Die meisten internationalen Studierenden weisen ihre Finanzierung durch Barmittel auf einem Sperrkonto nach. Sperrkontolösungen, die preisgünstig und von uns geprüft sind, werden von Fintiba und Expatrio angeboten.

    Weitere Informationen über mögliche Finanzierungsnachweise

  • Unterkunftsnachweis
  • Vor der Einreise sollte die Unterkunft für die ersten Monate schon geklärt sein. Ein Mietvertrag reicht in dieser Hinsicht aus.

    Sollten Sie Unterstützung bei der Wohnungssuche benötigen, können Sie sich gerne an den Accommodation Service wenden.

  • Biometrische Passfotos

Nach der Einreise

Ihr Visum zu Studienzwecken erlaubt Ihnen die Einreise nach Deutschland, aber noch nicht den längerfristigen Aufenthalt. Hierzu müssen Sie bei der Ausländerbehörde in Göttingen eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen. Diesen Antrag stellen Sie persönlich innerhalb von 90 Tagen nach der Einreise.

Um eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung zu beantragen brauchen Sie einen Termin bei der Ausländerbehörde. Wenden Sie sich zur Terminvereinbarung während der telefonischen Sprechzeiten (Montag und Dienstag von 14:00 bis 15:30 Uhr) der Ausländerbehörde an die*den für Sie zuständigen Sachbearbeiter*in:

Für die Aufenthaltsgenehmigung werden ähnliche Dokumente wie für ein Visum benötigt. Über die hier genannten können in Ihrem individuellen Fall weitere Dokumente nötig werden:

  • Ausgefülltes Antragsformular
  • Immatrikulationsbescheinigung der Universität Göttingen
  • Finanzierungsnachweis
  • Krankenversicherungsnachweis
  • Mietvertrag
  • Meldebestätigung des Einwohnermeldeamtes
  • Gültiger Reisepass
  • Visum zur Einreise zum Zweck des Studiums
  • Gesundheitszeugnis
  • Biometrisches Passfoto
  • Bearbeitungsgebühr

Hilfreiche Links


Weitere Informationen für...



Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Persönliche Sprechstunden
(finden zur Zeit nicht statt!)
Mo und Mi 10-12 Uhr

Hotline-Internationale Studierende und Bewerber*innen

+49 551/39 27777


Telefonische Sprechstunden:
Mo - Fr 9 - 12 Uhr

Kontakt


Lageplan


Find us on Facebook