Forest Work Science and Engineering

Forest Work Science and Engineering

Prof. Dr. Dirk Jaeger

The department is concerned with research and university teaching in the fields of forestry ergonomics and forestry process engineering. This involves the analysis, evaluation and design of production processes and production systems for the sustainable management and use of forests and landscapes with special consideration of the people involved in the work process. Ergonomics and process technology thus contribute to the successful implementation of land use and forest planning objectives. The overall objective is not only to make the necessary processes and systems resource-efficient, ergonomic and safe at work, but also socially and environmentally compatible.

Research
In addition to the analysis of ergonomic and technical aspects of forestry work systems, assessments of the environmental impacts of mechanised work systems, especially of crane harvesters (harvesters) and crane retractors (forwarders) are becoming increasingly important. These include in particular interactions between the chassis of forestry machines and the ground. Here the department has developed its own measuring technology, which enables the analysis of the static and dynamic contact surface pressure of different tires.

Current projects deal with digitisation in forestry and its potential for improving the flow of data and materials between actors in the forest-wood supply chain. It also deals with the technical foundations for creating new business models in forestry. Another aspect of current research is based on the development of forest development concepts for adaptation to climate change conditions. This also includes studies for a forward-looking assessment of the risk of driving on forest soils, taking into account the soil water content and current weather conditions. In international projects in Brazil, careful wood supply chains for the Mata Atlantica, in Mexico for sustainable energy wood supply and in Canada for the duration of traffic damage are being investigated.

Doctrine
The aim of the course "Timber Harvesting Methods" within the Bachelor's programme is to familiarise students with concepts for planning, implementation, monitoring and quality control within secondary (technical) production in the forest. The focus here is on possible supply processes for forest wood, taking into account the required conditions of use. In this way, students should not only be able to identify suitable working methods depending on terrain, location and existing conditions and to calculate the costs for wood supply, but also be able to assess different methods with regard to occupational safety and their ecological effects. A second focus of the basic study period is forest development, which forms the basis and the first step of regulated forest management. The students deal with current concepts for the analysis of development systems in the forest together with planning procedures for basic and detailed development and their implementation. In addition, organisational concepts for path maintenance are developed.
In the Master's programme, topics from the fields of process engineering are dealt with, especially in the specialisation "Forest Management and Forest Utilisation", which prepares students, among other things, for a management position in forestry management. The course in Tropical and International Forestry also focuses on methods for the sustainable supply of logs. Students with other specialisations can also deepen their knowledge in the fields of work science, timber harvesting and forestry technology in various elective modules. The external seminars for practical case studies conducted by the department in cooperation with the forestry training centres of the state forestry administrations, especially in Lower Saxony and North Rhine-Westphalia, are of great importance here.

Arbeitswissenschaft und Verfahrenstechnologie

Arbeitswissenschaft und Verfahrenstechnologie

(Department of Forest Work Science and Engineering)

Prof. Dr. Dirk Jaeger

Die Abteilung befasst sich mit Forschung und universitärer Lehre in den Bereichen forstlicher Arbeitswissenschaft und forstlicher Verfahrenstechnik. Dabei geht es um die Analyse, Bewertung und Gestaltung von Produktionsprozessen und Produktionssystemen zur nachhaltigen Bewirtschaftung und Nutzung von Wald und Landschaft unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der im Arbeitsprozess beteiligten Menschen. Die Arbeitswissenschaft und Verfahrenstechnologie tragen somit zur erfolgreichen Umsetzung von Landnutzungs- und Forstplanungszielen bei. Insgesamt besteht die Zielsetzung, die erforderlichen Prozesse und Systeme nicht nur ressourceneffizient, ergonomisch und arbeitssicher sondern auch sozial- und umweltverträglich zu gestalten.

Forschung
Neben der Analyse ergonomischer und technischer Aspekte forstlicher Arbeitssysteme gewinnen zunehmend Beurteilungen der Umweltfolgen von mechanisierten Arbeitssystemen, besonders von Kranvollerntern (Harvestern) und Kranrückezügen (Forwardern) an Bedeutung. Dazu zählen insbesondere Interaktionen zwischen den Fahrwerken von Forstmaschinen und dem Boden. Hier hat die Abteilung eigene Messtechnik entwickelt, die die Analyse des statischen und dynamischen Kontaktflächendrucks unterschiedlicher Bereifungen ermöglicht.

Aktuelle Projekte befassen sich mit der Digitalisierung in der Forstwirtschaft und ihren Potenzialen bei der Verbesserung des Daten- und Materialflusses zwischen den Akteuren der Forst-Holz-Bereitstellungskette. Dabei geht es auch um die technischen Grundlagen zur Schaffung neuer Geschäftsmodelle in der Forstwirtschaft. Ein weiterer Aspekt aktueller Forschung beruht auf der Entwicklung von Walderschließungskonzepten zur Anpassung an Klimawandelbedingungen. Dazu zählen auch Untersuchungen zur vorausschauenden Abschätzung des Befahrungsrisikos von Waldböden unter Berücksichtigung des Bodenwassergehaltes und aktueller Witterungsbedingungen. International werden in Projekten in Brasilien pflegliche Holz-Bereitstellungsketten für den Mata Atlantica, in Mexiko zur nachhaltigen Energieholzbereitstellung und in Kanada zur zeitlichen Dauer von Befahrungsschäden untersucht.

Lehre
Ziel der Lehrveranstaltung „Holzernteverfahren“ innerhalb des Bachelorstudienganges ist es, die Studierenden mit Konzepten zur Planung, Durchführung, Monitoring und Qualitätskontrolle innerhalb der sekundären (technischen) Produktion im Wald vertraut zu machen. Dabei liegt ein Schwerpunkt auf möglichen Bereitstellungsprozessen für Waldholz unter Berücksichtigung der erforderlichen Einsatzbedingungen. Die Studierenden sollen auf diese Weise nicht nur in die Lage versetzt werden, geeignete Arbeitsverfahren in Abhängigkeit von Gelände-, Standort- und Bestandesverhältnissen zu identifizieren und die Kosten für die Holzbereitstellung zu kalkulieren, sondern unterschiedliche Verfahren auch hinsichtlich der Arbeitssicherheit und ihrer ökologischen Auswirkungen beurteilen können. Einen zweiten Schwerpunkt im Grundstudium bildet die Walderschließung, welche die Grundlage und den ersten Schritt einer geregelten Waldbewirtschaftung darstellt. Dabei befassen sich die Studierenden mit aktuellen Konzepten zur Analyse von Erschließungssystemen im Wald zusammen mit Planungsverfahren für Basis- und Feinerschließung sowie deren Umsetzung. Zusätzlich werden Organisationkonzepte für die Wegeerhaltung entwickelt.
Im Masterstudium werden Themen aus den Bereichen der Verfahrenstechnik insbesondere im Vertiefungsschwerpunkt „Forstbetrieb und Waldnutzung“ behandelt, der unter anderem auf eine Führungstätigkeit im Forstbetrieb vorbereitet. Verfahren zur nachhaltigen Bereitstellung von Rundholz stehen auch im Mittelpunkt der Lehrveranstaltung im Studiengang Tropische und Internationale Forstwirtschaft. Ebenso können Studierende anderer Schwerpunkte ihre Kenntnisse im Bereich Arbeitswissenschaft, Holzernte und Forsttechnik in verschiedenen Wahlmodulen vertiefen. Hierbei kommt den von der Abteilung in Zusammenarbeit mit den forstlichen Bildungszentren der Landesforstverwaltungen besonders in Niedersachsen und Nordrhein-Westfalen durchgeführten Außenseminaren für praktische Fallstudien eine große Bedeutung zu.