Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
The University of Göttingen against Xenophobia



The University of Göttingen prides itself on being a cosmopolitan, open-minded institution of higher education. Outstanding science thrives on diversity and international exchange. Our University currently works collaboratively with institutions of higher education in 116 countries. At present, at total of 3,380 international students are engaged in teaching, academia and research at the University of Göttingen; this accounts for over 12 percent of our students. Eighteen percent of our academic staff hails from abroad.
Without international exchange, without students, doctoral candidates, scholars, academics and scientists from all over the world, the University would not only be less successful and the city of Göttingen would be less rich in diversity, but they would also be economically less prosperous as well. That is only one reason why we are work together with the city, our affiliates on the Göttingen Campus and many other initiatives to practice a welcoming culture in our everyday lives by showing cosmopolitanism, world-openness and tolerance and are evolving constantly.
Moreover, we aim to help our society face the challenges of coping with the influx of refugees and supporting the people who have fled to Germany to escape from the scourges of war, violence, poverty and hunger. Therein, we especially see a chance to contribute to more openness, transparency and diversity at the University, in our town and in society. That is also why we are taking part in the nationwide campaign "Universities for openness, tolerance and against xenophobia" initiated by the German Rectors' Conference.






Studying

Research


The University offers over 50 Master's and doctoral degree programmes in English. Our over 3000 international students have access to a comprehensive range of support programmes: Exchange Buddy Service for exchange students, study buddy programme for foreign students, language courses, Foyer International, InDiGU, scholarship counselling, Career Service for International Students

Eighteen percent of our academic personnel and 12 percent of our professors hail from abroad. Annually, our Welcome Centre offers services to more than 200 new international visiting scholars, researchers and fellows who maintain innumerable relationships with their fellow colleagues all over the world, traveling internationally for academic and research projects, to teach and attend conferences, whilst receiving legions of guests to share expertise with here in Göttingen.


International relations:



Strategy


The global partnerships and cooperation projects ongoing at the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen make a key contribution to the University's international profile. Our University provides myriad exchange opportunities for students, teachers and staff. We presently offer 1,400 exchange programme options at 517 institutions of higher education in 76 countries. Our University currently runs 778 cooperation projects with 872 institutions of higher education in 116 countries.

  • Internationalisation strategy
  • Guiding principle


  • Research on migration and diversity



    20 – 22 November 2015: Conference on "Migration – Peace – Human Security"


    The topics of diversity and migration are also research subjects at the University, among others at the:
  • Institute of Diversity Science
  • Professor Sabine Hess at the Institute for Cultural Anthropology
  • Professor Christine Langenfeld at the Faculty of Law
  • Professor Gabriele Rosenthal at the Center of Methods in Social Sciences
  • as well as at other affiliated institutions on the Göttingen Campus
  • Max Planck Institute for the Study of Religious and Ethnic Diversity in Göttingen

  • What might an immigration policy that is not guided primarily by security considerations, but rather by conflict prevention, violence prevention and social protection for migrants, have as its primary objective? How can a migration policy be designed to understand migration as a basic constant of human existence and as a social potential, as opposed to an exception caused by crisis and a threat? The conference invites participants from a broad multidisciplinary field of science, politics, civil society organisations and interested members of the public to discuss the opportunities, strategies, obstacles and limitations associated with such a "dual" perspective change. Further information. Further information


    Videos





    Alain Mendy (Senegal) about his studies


  • Other international students voice their opinions
  • You can watch all of the University's videos on our YouTube channel

  • Video on the start of winter semester 2015/16




    Further information




  • Göttingen International Office
  • GöGuide – Guide to Göttingen
  • Programmes offered for refugees

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
Weltoffene Hochschule Universität Göttingen


Die Universität Göttingen ist eine weltoffene Hochschule. Exzellente Wissenschaft braucht Vielfalt und den internationalen Austausch. Unsere Universität hat zurzeit Kooperationen mit Hochschulen in 116 Ländern. Aktuell lernen und forschen 3.380 internationale Studierende an der Universität Göttingen - mehr als 12 Prozent unserer Studierenden. 18 Prozent unseres wissenschaftlichen Personals kommen aus dem Ausland.
Ohne den internationalen Austausch, ohne Studierende, Promovenden, Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen aus aller Welt wäre die Universität weniger erfolgreich und Göttingen nicht nur um Vielfalt ärmer, sondern auch wirtschaftlich weitaus schlechter gestellt. Deshalb arbeiten wir mit der Stadt, mit den Partnern am Göttingen Campus und mit vielen anderen Initiativen zusammen, um Willkommenskultur, Weltoffenheit und Toleranz leben und ständig weiterentwickeln zu können.
Dabei beteiligen wir uns auch an der gesellschaftlichen Herausforderung, den Flüchtlingszugang zu bewältigen und unterstützen die Menschen, die vor den Folgen von Krieg, Unterdrückung, Gewalt, Armut und Hunger nach Deutschland geflohen sind. Wir sehen darin vor allem eine Chance, in Universität, Stadt und Gesellschaft zu mehr Offenheit, Transparenz und Diversität beizutragen. Und sind deshalb Teil der Aktion "Weltoffene Hochschulen - gegen Fremdenfeindlichkeit" der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz.






Studium

Forschung


Die Universität bietet über 50 englischsprachige Master- und Promotionsprogramme an. Für unsere über 3000 internatinale Studierende gibt es ein umfassendes Betreuungsprogramm: Exchange Buddy Service für Austauschstudierende, Fachpartnerschaftsprogramm für ausländische Studierende, Sprachkurse, Foyer International, InDiGU, Stipendienberatung, Career Service für internationale Studierende

18 Prozent unseres wissenschaftlichen Personals und 12 Prozent unserer Professoren und Professorinnen kommen aus dem Ausland. Unser Welcome Centre bietet einen Service für jährlich über 200 neue internationale Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler. Unsere Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler pflegen unzählige Beziehungen zu Kolleginnen und Kollegen in aller Welt, sind für Forschung, Lehre und zu Konferenzen international unterwegs und empfangen zahlreiche Gäste zum Erfahrungsaustausch hier in Göttingen.


Internationale Beziehungen



Strategie


Die weltweiten Partnerschaften und Kooperationen der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen tragen wesentlich zum internationalen Profil der Universität bei. Unsere Universität unterhält eine Vielfalt an Austauschmöglichkeiten für Studierende, Lehrende und Personal. Zurzeit bietet wir 1.400 Austauschmöglichkeiten in 517 Hochschulen in 76 Ländern. Unsere Universität hat zur Zeit 778 Kooperationen mit 872 Hochschulen in 116 Ländern.

  • Internationalisierungsstrategie
  • Leitbild


  • Forschung zu Migration und Diversität



    20. - 22. November 2015: Konferenz "Migration - Frieden - Human Security"


    Die Themen Diversität und Migration sind auch Forschungsgegenstand an der Universität, unter anderem bei:
  • Institut für Diversitätsforschung
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Hess am Institut für Kulturanthropologie
  • Prof. Dr. Christine Langenfeld an der Juristischen Fakultät
  • Prof. Dr. Gabriele Rosenthal am Methodenzentrum Sozialwissenschaften
  • sowie an einer unserer Partner-Einrichtungen am Göttingen Campus
  • Max-Planck-Institut zur Erforschung multireligiöser und multiethnischer Gesellschaften

  • Wie könnte eine Migrationspolitik aussehen, die nicht vor allem von Sicherheitsüberlegungen geleitet ist, sondern Konfliktvermeidung, Gewaltprävention und eine soziale Absicherung der Migration zum obersten Ziel hat? Wie kann eine Migrationspolitik konzipiert werden, die Migration nicht als krisenhafte Ausnahme und als Bedrohung, sondern als Grundkonstante menschlicher Existenz und als gesellschaftliches Potential versteht? Die Konferenz lädt ein breites multidisziplinäres Feld aus Wissenschaft, Politik, zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen und interessierter Öffentlichkeit dazu ein, Möglichkeiten, Strategien, Hindernisse und Grenzen eines derartigen doppelten Perspektivwechsels zu diskutieren. weitere Informationen


    Videos





    Alain Mendy (Senegal) über sein Studium


  • Weitere Stimmen von internationalen Studierenden
  • Alle Videos der Universität auf unserem youtube Kanal

  • Video zum Beginn des Wintersemesters 2015/16




    weitere Informationen




  • Abteilung Göttingen International
  • GöGuide - Guide to Göttingen
  • Angebote für Flüchtlinge