In publica commoda

Start-up funding programmes for project proposals


Internal start-up funding programme


The Foundation under private law of the University of Göttingen or the Presidential Board of the University can provide start-up funding upon application to support collaborative research initiatives and to prepare project proposals for the European Research Council (ERC). The electronic application form for start-up funding is available here.

Collaborative project proposals that will be submitted to national, international and European funding institutions are eligible for receiving start-up funding, if they include collaborations involving several working groups or researchers from the University of Göttingen. Funding is only granted for projects that are coordinated in Göttingen.

The aim of this start-up funding programme is to provide researchers, usually the spokesperson, the best possible conditions for submitting a high-quality proposal in order to improve the chances of the initiative's success.

The funds made available can largely be used freely, taking into account the subject-specific requirements, for example for an additional academic staff member, for assistants, for conducting workshops or for necessary business trips. It is also possible to invite external experts.

Please note in your planning that a fixed-term contract for academic or administrative staff is not generally possible with approval in individual cases. It is therefore essential that you contact the Human Resources Department in advance in order to clarify any questions regarding fixed-term contracts at an early stage.

The start-up funding programme generally provides the following maximum funding amounts:

COLLABORATIVE INITIATIVES DRAFT PROPOSAL FULL PROPOSAL
Collaborative Research Centre 30,000 euro 40,000 euro
Research Unit 15,000 euro 20,000 euro
Research Training Group 10,000 euro 25,000 euro
Larger project with third party participation 10,000 euro 20,000 euro
If your application is approved, the funds will usually be allocated by the Finance Department within 28 days after your application for start-up funding was submitted to the Research and Transfer Services.

External start-up funding programmes


Moreover, there are further opportunities to apply for start-up funding with regard to EU project proposals e.g. Horizon Europe. If you are interested in applying for start-up funding, please contact the EU Office as soon as possible. Our team can decide, if you are eligible for start-up funding and if yes, which start-up funding programme best suits your research idea.
The Europe Programme of the Ministry for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony (MWK) offers, upon application, financial support for the following activities, for example:

  • Niedersachsen FIT: Research and innovation days in Brussels for the presentation of the research strengths and innovative ideas of Lower Saxony.
  • Niedersachsen BEREIT: Measures for the preparation of project proposals for EU funding programmes.
  • Niedersachsen KONSORT: Measures to set up and consolidate project consortia with the intention of acting as the project coordinator of this consortium to jointly apply in an EU funding programme.

The MWK will review each application and approval depends on the availability of funding. A start-up funding cannot be guaranteed.
Further information


The German Research Foundation (DFG) supports the initiation of international collaboration. Applicants interested in establishing collaborative scientific relationships with partners abroad may apply for funding for trips abroad, guest visits or for exploratory workshops.

The DFG also funds scientific networks. They offer researchers in all career phases the opportunity to engage in a multi-year, cross-location exchange on a research topic of their choice with the aim of achieving a concrete result. A research network consists of a fixed group of people, usually 10 to 20, which may also include researchers working abroad.
Further information on the initiation of international collaboration
Further information on scientific networks
In addition, the Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) supports measures such as the preparation of joint EU project applications by German applicants with partners in other regions e.g.:
Call Bridge2ERA2021
Call Bridge2ERA-EaP

In publica commoda

Programme zur Anschubfinanzierung für Projektanträge


Universitätsinternes Anschubprogramm


Für die Unterstützung von Initiativen der Verbundforschung und zur Vorbereitung von Projektanträgen des European Research Council (ERC) kann von der Stiftung privaten Rechts der Universität Göttingen oder vom Präsidium der Universität auf Antrag eine Anschubfinanzierung zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Das elektronische Antragsformular auf Anschubfinanzierung finden Sie hier.

Zu unterstützungsfähigen Projektanträgen nationaler, internationaler und europäischer Förderinstitutionen zählen Verbünde, an denen mehrere Arbeitsgruppen bzw. Wissenschaftler*innen der Universität Göttingen beteiligt sind. Die Finanzierung wird nur für solche Anträge gewährt, deren Koordination in Göttingen liegt.

Ziel des Anschubprogramms ist es, den Wissenschaftler*innen, i.d.R. dem/der Sprecher*in, bestmögliche Voraussetzungen für eine qualitativ hochwertige Antragstellung zu bieten, um so die Chancen für einen Erfolg der Initiative zu verbessern.

Die zur Verfügung gestellten Mittel können weitgehend frei und unter Berücksichtigung der fachspezifischen Erfordernisse verwendet werden, beispielsweise für eine/n zusätzliche/n wissenschaftliche/n Mitarbeiter*in, für Hilfskräfte, zur Durchführung von Workshops oder für notwendige Dienstreisen. Auch die Einladung externer Expert*innen ist möglich.

Bitte beachten Sie bei Ihren Planungen, dass eine Befristung von wissenschaftlichem oder administrativem Personal im Einzelfall nicht generell mit Bewilligung möglich ist. Setzen Sie sich daher bitte unbedingt rechtzeitig mit der Personalabteilung in Verbindung, um befristungsrechtliche Fragen frühzeitig zu klären.

Das Anschubprogramm bietet im Regelfall maximal folgende finanzielle Unterstützung:

VERBUNDINITIATIVE ANTRAGSSKIZZE EINRICHTUNGSANTRAG
Sonderforschungsbereich 30.000 Euro 40.000 Euro
Forschungsgruppe 15.000 Euro 20.000 Euro
Graduiertenkolleg 10.000 Euro 25.000 Euro
größeres Projekt mit Beteiligung Dritter 10.000 Euro 20.000 Euro
Ab dem Zeitpunkt der Vorlage Ihres Antrags auf Anschubfinanzierung in der Abteilung Forschung und Transfer erfolgt bei positivem Bescheid die Zuweisung der Mittel durch die Finanzabteilung in der Regel innerhalb von 28 Tagen.

Externe Anschubprogramme


Darüber hinaus gibt es für EU-Projektanträge (z.B. Horizon Europe) weitere Möglichkeiten, eine Anschubfinanzierung zu beantragen. Falls Sie Interesse an einer Anschubfinanzierung haben, wenden Sie sich bitte frühzeitig an das EU-Hochschulbüro. Unser Team kann entscheiden, ob eine Anschubfinanzierung möglich ist und falls ja, welches Anschubprogramm am besten zu Ihrer Antragsidee passt.
Das Europa-Programm des Niedersächsischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK) bietet auf Antrag eine finanzielle Unterstützung u.a. folgender Aktivitäten an:

  • Niedersachsen FIT: FORSCHUNGS- UND INNOVATIONS-TAGE in Brüssel zur Präsentation niedersächsischer Forschungsstärken und Innovationsideen.
  • Niedersachsen BEREIT: Maßnahmen zur VorBEREITung von Anträgen für EU-Förderprogramme.
  • Niedersachsen KONSORT: Maßnahmen zum Aufbau und zur Festigung von KONSORTien mit dem Ziel, federführend als Konsortialführer europäische Kooperationen auszubauen und die gemeinsame Antragstellung in EU-Förderprogrammen zu initiieren.

Das MWK evaluiert jeden Antrag. Eine Entscheidung hängt von der Verfügbarkeit der finanziellen Mittel ab. Es besteht kein Anspruch auf Förderung.
Weitere Informationen


Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) fördert den Aufbau internationaler Kooperationen. Antragstellende, die eine wissenschaftliche Kooperation mit ausländischen Partner*innen aufbauen möchten, können Mittel für Auslandsreisen, Gastaufenthalte oder projektvorbereitende Workshops beantragen.

Die DFG fördert zudem Wissenschaftliche Netzwerke. Sie eröffnen Wissenschaftler*innen in allen Karrierephasen die Möglichkeit zu einem mehrjährigen ortsübergreifenden Austausch zu einem selbstgewählten wissenschaftlichen Themenbereich mit dem Ziel, ein konkretes Ergebnis zu erreichen. Ein Wissenschaftliches Netzwerk besteht aus einem festen Personenkreis von in der Regel 10 bis 20 Personen, dem auch im Ausland tätige Wissenschaftler*innen angehören können.
Weitere Informationen zum Aufbau internationaler Kooperationen
Weitere Informationen zu Wissenschaftlichen Netzwerken
Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unterstützt u.a. Maßnahmen zur Vorbereitung von gemeinsamen EU-Projektanträgen von deutschen Antragstellenden mit Partnern in anderen Regionen wie z.B.:
Förderaufruf Bridge2ERA2021
Förderaufruf Bridge2ERA-EaP