Chair for social-ecological interactions in agricultural systems

What we do

Our field of research is sustainability sciences. Our goal is to promote sustainability in agriculture and other forms of land management through a deeper understanding of the interrelationships between biodiversity, ecosystem services and landscape change.

We are convinced that the threats to our ecosystem and a transformation towards more sustainability can only be researched together with land use practice, politics and society. We therefore understand agricultural landscapes as social-ecological systems in which there are numerous interactions between natural and social processes and in which nature and society shape each other.


Research approach

We address current environmental issues of global relevance by means of case studies carried out on a landscape scale. The study areas are strategically selected to cover the main gradients of environmental and land use history. This allows both a cross-site comparison and the consideration of regional land use systems. Our research is collaborative and interdisciplinary, combining natural and social science approaches with ecosystem services, research at landscape level and land management. We focus on interactions between different ecosystem services: provision (e.g. crop production), regulation (e.g. carbon sequestration, erosion control) and cultural services (e.g. recreation, cultural heritage values). This scope is broad and allows the analysis of various trade-offs and synergies between agricultural and forest production, biodiversity and the provision of intangible ecosystem services. Our research covers basic and applied research and is relevant to various policy areas related to land use, landscapes and ecosystem services.


Universities of Kassel and Göttingen

Our department is jointly supported by the University of Kassel and the Georg-August-University of Göttingen.

Our international partners


Our group works with networks, institutes and groups that are world leaders in sustainability science: Stockholm Resilience Centre, Helsinki Institute of Sustainability Science, Institute for Environmental Studies of the Free University of Amsterdam and Division of Society & Environment of the University of California at Berkeley and others.

You can find more information on Researchgate und at Research

Lehrstuhl für sozial-ökologische Interaktionen in Agrarsystemen

Was wir tun

Unser Forschungsfeld sind die Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften. Unser Ziel ist, die Nachhaltigkeit in der Landwirtschaft und anderen Formen des Landmanagements durch ein vertieftes Verständnis der Zusammenhänge von Biodiversität, Ökosystemdienstleistungen und Landschaftsveränderungen zu fördern.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass die Bedrohungen unseres Ökosystems sowie eine Transformation hin zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit nur gemeinsam mit Landnutzungspraxis, Politik und Gesellschaft erforscht werden können. Deshalb verstehen wir Agrarlandschaften als sozial-ökologische Systeme, in denen es zahlreiche Wechselwirkungen zwischen natürlichen und sozialen Prozessen gibt und in denen Natur und Gesellschaft sich gegenseitig prägen.


Forschungsansatz

Wir behandeln aktuelle Umweltthemen von globaler Relevanz anhand von Fallstudien, die im Landschaftsmaßstab durchgeführt werden. Die Untersuchungsgebiete werden strategisch so ausgewählt, dass sie die wichtigsten Gradienten der Umwelt- und Landnutzungsgeschichte umfassen. Dies ermöglicht sowohl einen standortübergreifenden Vergleich als auch die Berücksichtigung regionaler Landnutzungssysteme. Unsere Forschung ist kollaborativ und interdisziplinär und verbindet natur- und sozialwissenschaftliche Ansätze mit Ökosystemdienstleistungen, Forschung auf Landschaftsebene sowie Landmanagement. Wir konzentrieren uns auf Interaktionen zwischen verschiedenen Ökosystemdienstleistungen: Bereitstellung (z.B. Pflanzenbau),Regulierung (z.B. Kohlenstoffbindung, Erosionsschutz) und kulturelle Dienstleistungen (z.B. Erholung, Werte des Kulturerbes). Dieser Wirkungsbereich ist umfassend und ermöglicht die Analyse verschiedener Zielkonflikte und Synergien zwischen der land- und forstwirtschaftlichen Produktion, der biologischen Vielfalt und der Bereitstellung immaterieller Ökosystemdienstleistungen. Unsere Forschung umfasst Grundlagen- und angewandte Forschung und ist für verschiedene Politikbereiche rund um Landnutzung, Landschaften und Ökosystemdienstleistungen relevant.


Universitäten Kassel und Göttingen

Unser Fachgebiet wird gemeinsam von der Universität Kassel und der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen getragen.

Unsere internationalen Partner


Unsere Gruppe arbeitet mit Netzwerken, Instituten und Gruppen zusammen, die weltweit führend in der Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaft sind: Stockholm Resilience Centre, Helsinki Institute of Sustainability Science, Institute for Environmental Studies der Freien Universität Amsterdam und Division of Society & Environment der University of California in Berkeley und andere.

Mehr Informationen auf Researchgate und unter Forschung