In publica commoda

Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology (M.Sc.)

Features

Looking at the forest from various perspectives: forest management, conservation and timber – you can specialise in one of these three foci as your individually chosen forestry topic. In addition to the compulsory modules, you can extend your course of studies thanks to a large set of options, internships and international visits.

This degree programme qualifies the student for a career in forestry and wood management as well as in the areas of environmental protection and conservation.

Name:
Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology
Degree:
Master of Science
Teaching language:
German
Standard period of studies:
4 semesters
Start of studies:
Winter and summer semester
Admission:
Restricted
(Application to the faculty)

Details

Sustainable Management, ecology and nature conservation as well as the role of the forest for recreational activities are integrated components of modern forest management. The mitigating effects of forests contribute essentially to climate protection. Also, wood is an important renewable resource, which is more and more employed in bio-technological processes. In the combination of all these factors consists the great challenge of today’s forest management. Due to this development, the areas of responsibility and possible professions for university-educated foresters have become broader and more diverse.

In the Master Programme the students specialise in a field of choice. There are three specialization fields (programmes) the students can choose from:

  • Forest Management and Utilisation
  • Forest Conservation
  • Wood Biology and Wood Technology

The studies convey scientific contents and methods as well as professional skills for subsequent occupational activity. These skills comprise competences in problem solving, capacity for teamwork, know how with project management and interdisciplinary thinking and working.

Study contents are quite different, depending on the specialization field. In addition to the programme-specific compulsory courses a number of optional courses, covering 30 credit points, can be selected from course offerings by the Faculty of Forestry, by other faculties of the University of Göttingen and from international partner universities.

Master programme “Forest Management and Utilization”

The Master Programme “Forest Management and Utilisation” conveys required knowledge and abilities for the implementation of a sustainable, multifunctional and efficient forest utilization and protection within the framework of modern forest management. In addition to the basics of forestry and modern methods of forest enterprise management, the programme teaches resource management, marketing and policy, silviculture, harvesting, and forest protection. The programme enables graduates to take up leading positions in management and administration of not only forest enterprises, but also within related industries.

Master programme “Forest Conservation”

The Master Programme “Forest Conservation” covers most topics required for careers in biological aspects of bio-ecology and nature conservation, but also gives an explicit insight in the ecology and function of forests as part of the landscape. Good knowledge of local fauna and flora are substantial.

Master programme “Wood Biology and Wood Technology”

This multifaceted programme covers topics around the processing of wood and renewable resources. Technologies for the manufacturing and processing of wood into sawn timber, engineered wood products and wood composites are especially given attention. Students are also introduced into methods of wood bio-technology and the energy recovery of wood.

In addition students from this programme visit the production sites of many well-known wood and paper technology companies. Students have the possibility to produce paper, plywood, medium density fibreboards and chipboards themselves in the laboratories of the university.

The programme endows the students with the knowledge required for employment in companies and agencies of the wood industry, and in wood science research.

Depending on the area of specialization, the programmes qualify and enable students to pursue a professional career in the following fields:

  • Public and private forest administration and enterprises
  • Timber trade and wood industry
  • Consultancy and planning agencies (forest planning, nature conservation)
  • Nature conservation agencies and organizations
  • Universities and research institutes
  • International organizations
  • International development cooperation
  • Forest services and freelance work

Consecutive/graduate Programmes


Specialization

You will be completing a total of 120 C, 90 C by taking courses and 30 C by writing the Master’s thesis.

You have three foci to choose from: Forest Management and Utilisation, Forest Conservation, and Wood Biology and Wood Technology.

Structure

The following illustrations refer to the start of studies in the winter semester.


Regulations and module directory


Application

Previous education

  • Bachelor's Degree in Forestry or related subject with a total of at least 180 ECTS credits
  • at least 150 ECTS at the time of application
  • Eligibility:
    • Verification required of academic performance in Forestry or Environmental Sciences, Resource or Ecosystem Management, Life Sciences or Economics in the scope of at least 60 ECTS, including:
      • at least 24 ECTS in Forestry

Language requirements

  • If German is not your first language, you must provide proof of proficiency in German at level of the DSH-2.
Details and next steps

Contact

Academic Advising

Jutta Hohlstamm

Faculty of Forest Sciences and Forest Ecology
Büsgenweg 5
37077 Göttingen

Phone: + 49 (0)551 39 9999
E-Mail: jutta.hohlstamm@forst.uni-goettingen.de

In publica commoda

Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie (M.Sc.)

Steckbrief

Den Wald aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln betrachten: Forstbetrieb, Naturschutz und Holz - mit einem der drei verschiedenen Studienschwerpunkte können Sie sich individuell auf Ihr Waldthema spezialisieren. Neben Pflichtmodulen können Sie Ihr Studium durch einen großen Wahlbereich, Praktika und Auslandsaufenthalte passend ergänzen.

Das Studium qualifiziert für eine Karriere in der Forst- und Holzwirtschaft sowie im Umwelt- und Naturschutzbereich.

Name:
Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie
Abschluss:
Master of Science
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Regelstudienzeit:
4 Semester
Studienbeginn:
Winter- und Sommersemester
Zulassung:
Bewerbung bei der Fakultät

Inhalte

Nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung, Ökologie und Naturschutz sowie die Rolle des Waldes als Freizeit- und Erholungsraum sind integrale Bestandteile der modernen Forst- und Waldwirtschaft. Die ausgleichenden Funktionen des Waldes leisten einen unverzichtbaren Beitrag zum Klimaschutz. Und Holz ist ein wichtiger nachwachsender Rohstoff, der zunehmend in modernen biotechnologischen Verfahren zum Einsatz kommt. In der Zusammenführung aller Faktoren liegt die große Herausforderung der heutigen Forstwirtschaft. Damit sind die Aufgabenbereiche und Berufsmöglichkeiten universitär ausgebildeter Forstleute auch vielfältiger geworden.

Das Master-Studium dient der wissenschaftlichen Vertiefung in einem der drei angebotenen Studienschwerpunkte. Die Studierenden können eine der folgenden Vertiefungsrichtungen wählen:

  • Forstbetrieb und Waldnutzung
  • Waldnaturschutz
  • Holzbiologie und Holztechnologie

Das Studium vermittelt neben wissenschaftlichen Inhalten und Methoden ebenfalls Schlüsselqualifikationen für die spätere berufliche Tätigkeit. Dazu zählen unter anderem Problemlösungskompetenz, Teamfähigkeit, Know-How im Projektmanagement sowie interdisziplinäres Denken und Arbeiten.

Je nach Studienschwerpunkte gestalten sich die Inhalte recht unterschiedlich. Neben den schwerpunktspezifischen Pflichtveranstaltungen können zahlreiche Wahlveranstaltungen im Umfang von 30 Credits aus dem Lehrangebot der Fakultät, von anderen Fakultäten der Universität Göttingen sowie von internationalen Partneruniversitäten gewählt werden.

  • Schwerpunkt: Forstbetrieb und Waldnutzung

    Dieser Schwerpunkt vermittelt die erforderlichen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten für die Umsetzung einer nachhaltigen, multifunktionalen und effizienten Waldnutzung und -pflege im Rahmen eines modernen forstbetrieblichen Managements. Das Studium bietet neben den fachlichen Grundlagen und modernen Methoden des forstbetrieblichen Managements Lehrinhalte zum Ressourcenmanagement, zu Marktlehre und Marketing, Forstpolitik, Waldbau, Holzerntetechniken und Forstschutz. Ziel ist es, die Studierenden dieses Schwerpunktes zu befähigen, Führungsaufgaben im Bereich der Leitung und Verwaltung insbesondere von Forstbetrieben, aber auch in Betrieben und Unternehmen verwandter Branchen wahrzunehmen.

  • Schwerpunkt: Waldnaturschutz

    Der Studienschwerpunkt Waldnaturschutz soll für einen umfassenden Einsatz in allen Tätigkeitsbereichen der Bio-Ökologie und des Naturschutzes qualifizieren und dabei zugleich eine Spezialisierung auf den Lebensraum Wald, seine Ökologie, Funktion und Beanspruchung im landschaftlichen Gesamtgefüge gewährleisten. Gute faunistische und vegetationskundlich-floristische Kenntnisse sind dabei unumgänglich.

  • Schwerpunkt: Holzbiologie und Holztechnologie

    In diesem Schwerpunkt geht es um die technologischen Aspekte bei der Weiterverarbeitung von Holz und nachwachsenden Rohstoffen. Es werden ausführlich Verfahren zur Herstellung und Verarbeitung von Holz zu Schnittholz, Holzwerkstoffen sowie Holzverbundwerkstoffen vorgestellt. Ebenfalls werden Studierende in die Methoden der Holzbiotechnologie sowie in die energetische Nutzung von Holz eingeführt.

    Neben Vorlesungen finden zahlreiche Werksbesichtigungen von namhaften Unternehmen der Holz- und Papierindustrie statt. In Laborpraktika haben Studierende die Möglichkeit praxisbezogen an der Herstellung von Papier, Sperrholz, MDF- sowie Spanplatten zu arbeiten.

    Diese Ausbildung bildet die Grundlage für die Arbeit in Betrieben und Verbänden der Holzwirtschaft und in der holzwissenschaftlichen Forschung.

Je nach Schwerpunkt stehen Absolventen folgende Berufsbilder offen:

  • Private und öffentliche Forstverwaltung und -betriebe
  • Holzindustrie und -handel
  • Beratungs- und Planungsbüros (Forsteinrichtung
  • Naturschutz)
  • Naturschutzbehörden und -organisationen
  • Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen
  • Internationale Organisationen
  • Entwicklungszusammenarbeit
  • Forstdienstleistungen
  • Selbständigkeit

Weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienschwerpunkte

Sie belegen im Studium 120 C, von denen 90 C in Lehrveranstaltungen und 30 C durch die Masterarbeit erbracht werden.

Sie wählen zwischen drei Studienschwerpunkten: Forstbetrieb und Waldnutzung, Waldnaturschutz und Holzbiologie und Holztechnologie.

Studienaufbau

Die folgenden Darstellungen beziehen sich auf einen Studienbeginn im Wintersemester.


Ordnungen & Modulverzeichnis


Bewerbung

Voraussetzungen

  • fachlich einschlägiger Bachelorabschluss oder vergleichbarer Abschluss
  • mind. 150 ECTS zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung
  • Fachliche Einschlägigkeit:
    • Leistungen in den Forst- oder Umweltwissenschaften, Ressourcen- oder Ökosystemmanagement, Lebens- oder Wirtschaftswissenschaften im Umfang von mindestens 60 ECTS-Anrechnungspunkten, darunter:
      • mindestens 24 ECTS-Anrechungspunkte in den Forstwissenschaften

Sprachvoraussetzungen

  • Falls Ihre Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist, müssen Sie ausreichende Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache auf dem Niveau des DSH-2 nachweisen.
Details und weitere Schritte

Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung

Jutta Hohlstamm

Fakultät für Forstwissenschaften und Waldökologie
Büsgenweg 5
37077 Göttingen

Tel.: + 49 (0)551 39 9999
E-Mail: jutta.hohlstamm@forst.uni-goettingen.de