In publica commoda

Scandinavian Studies (B.A) (2 subjects)

Features

Interdisciplinary and intermedial North European research: Scandinavian Studies at Göttingen cover languages, literature, cultures and the history of the north from the migration period up to the present day. Study programme: the languages Old Norse, Norwegian, Swedish, Danish, Icelandic and Faroese and literature created in these languages – from the Songs of the Skald up to Stieg Larsson's thrillers; the mysterious runes; the innovative Scandinavian music, theatre and art scene; documentaries and films. Close contacts in the area of studies facilitate field trips as well as semesters and internships abroad.

Programme:
Scandinavian Studies
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
open (enrolment without previous application)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered

Get to know us

Cross-programme

Campus tours

...with student guides


Details

The core curriculum of the subject “Scandinavian Studies” has been designed for students to acquire comprehensive knowledge in the two sub-subjects of Ancient and Modern Scandinavian Studies in addition to proficiency in Scandinavian languages.

The students choose one of the three Continental Scandinavian languages Danish, Swedish or Norwegian as their main language. Language acquisition constitutes about 38% of the workload calculated for the core curriculum.

Two basic modules introduce students to the two sub-subjects, i.e. Ancient and Modern Scandinavian Studies, their specific themes and methods, simultaneously helping them to understand the unity of the subject by means of an integrative tutorial on Scandinavian cultural history from the Middle Ages to the present.

Elective studies serve to broaden the knowledge about Scandinavian literatures and cultures through studying canonised texts and selected research work, as a supplement to the main topics selected in the other modules.

The basic form of teaching in Scandinavian Studies consists of moderated, prepared, seminar discussions supplemented by various other methods (presentations, group work, project work). Lectures serve primarily to communicate a general overview, tutorials concentrate on language training and practical studies of texts and other cultural artefacts.

The profile of “subject-related in-depth studies” addresses primarily students who intend to continue their Scandinavian Studies with a Master’s degree programme and write a research-oriented Bachelor’s thesis in Scandinavian Studies.

For the professional qualification profile of students engaging in Scandinavian Studies, the acquisition of additional foreign language skills is recommended, or of competencies which can be acquired in other subjects, depending on the targeted occupational field. The curriculum of the subject itself provides language acquisition modules and modules of basic Scandinavian Studies for students of other subjects under this aspect.

Students have the possibility to acquire part of their examination prerequisites abroad, either by studying abroad for one semester or by taking a (summer school) language course in Scandinavia. The language and literature courses and cultural studies are conducted in the target language, scientific teaching generally in German due to its high degree of complexity.

The research profile of the Scandinavian Studies Department of Georg August University Göttingen lies, on the one hand, in the area of modern Scandinavian literatures with the main emphasis on drama, translation, thematic and motif research, "Internationality of National Literatures" (Chair: Prof. Fritz Paul), the 17th/18th centuries, biography research and the intermediality of literature and music, on the other hand in the area of ancient Norse literature and Nordic culture, with the main focus on the medieval literature of Iceland and its reception, and runology. Another main focus of research lies in the history of science and reception. For the Chair and the other research groups, comparative studies of Scandinavian literatures and cultures from an outsider’s perspective can be considered fundamental. The doctoral theses and professorial dissertations written here have played a vital part in shaping the Department’s research profile.

The comparative perspective was initiated, among other things, by a twelve-year participation of the Department in the special research area of "Literary Translation" with several successful, internationally recognised sub-projects, in which numerous Scandinavian contributions to translation research were also made.

The Göttingen Scandinavian Studies Department also contributed several projects special research in the field 529 “Internationality of National Literatures” in the period from 1997 to 2001.

Students are required to select one of the three Continental Scandinavian languages Danish, Swedish or Norwegian as their main language and to acquire profound skills in speaking and writing the language with the aim of fluency as well as correct and suitable language application in various situations. Passive knowledge of the other two languages is also expected.

Graduates holding a Bachelor’s degree in Scandinavian Studies should have extensive knowledge of the languages, literatures and cultures, history and society of Scandinavia, be familiar with basic terminology, theories and methods of literary and cultural studies and be able to apply them correctly. They should be fluent in one modern Scandinavian language and have passive knowledge of two other languages. They should also be able to research, structure and evaluate information about Scandinavia, and to communicate it adequately. In this way, they become qualified for a wide range of occupations in the area of communicating language, literature and culture and, depending on their combination of subjects, for working in museums and libraries as well as business enterprises or political and social institutions, primarily in those connected with Scandinavia.

With this degree programme, the graduates qualify themselves for a wide range of occupations in the communication of language, literature and culture and, depending on their combination of subjects, for working in museums and libraries as well as business enterprises or political and social institutions, primarily in those connected with Scandinavia.


Structure

In the two-subject Bachelor's programme, two subjects are studied on equal terms.

A total of 180 credits are earned for the Bachelor's degree Bachelor of Arts (B.A.).

The two subjects each account for 66 credits. The area of professionalisation accounts for 36 credits.

The following credits must be earned for the subject Scandinavian Studies:

  1. Compulsory modules

    Five compulsory modules, totalling 30 credits, must be successfully completed.

    • Introduction to Ancient Scandinavian Studies
    • Introduction to Old Norse
    • Ancient Scandinavian Studies I
    • Introduction to Modern Scandinavian Studies
    • Modern Scandinavian Studies I
  2. Compulsory elective modules

    Compulsory elective modules totalling at least 36 credits must be successfully completed.

Regulations and module directory


Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Our Campus


Your Studies


Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. Irene Kupferschmied
Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 551 39 25493

ikupfer@gwdg.de

roland.scheel@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage
Fachliche Links

In publica commoda

Skandinavistik (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Steckbrief

Interdisziplinäre und intermediale Nordeuropa-Forschung: Die Göttinger Skandinavistik umfasst Sprachen, Literaturen, Kulturen und Geschichte des Nordens von der Völkerwanderungszeit bis in die Gegenwart. Studienprogramm: die Sprachen Altnordisch, Norwegisch, Schwedisch, Dänisch, Isländisch und Färöisch und die in ihnen verfassten Literaturen – von den Liedern der Skalden bis zu Stieg-Larsson-Thrillern; die geheimnisvollen Runen; die innovative skandinavische Musik-, Theater- und Kunstszene; Dokumentar- und Spielfilme. Enge Kontakte ins ͵Studiengebietʹ fördern Exkursionen, Auslandssemester und -praktika.

Name des Studienfachs:
Skandinavistik
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Es werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fächerübergreifend Schnupperstudium
ab 21.
JULI

Campusführungen

Mit Studierenden unterwegs


Inhalte

Das Fach Skandinavistik umfasst die Sprachen, Literaturen und Kulturen der skandinavischen Länder vom frühen Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart.

Das Kerncurriculum des Studienfaches "Skandinavistik" ist so ausgerichtet, dass die Studierenden neben der Kompetenz in skandinavischen Sprachen umfassende Kenntnisse in den beiden Teilfächern Ältere und Neuere Skandinavistik erwerben.

Die Studierenden wählen eine der drei kontinentalskandinavischen Sprachen Dänisch, Schwedisch oder Norwegisch als Hauptsprache. Auf den Spracherwerb entfallen im Kerncurriculum 38 % des errechneten "workloads".

Zwei Basismodule führen in die beiden Teilfächer Ältere und Neuere Skandinavistik, ihre spezifischen Gegenstände und Methoden ein und vermitteln zugleich mit einer integrativen Übung zur skandinavischen Kulturgeschichte vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart das Verständnis von der Einheit des Faches.

Freie Studien dienen dazu, das Wissen über die skandinavischen Literaturen und Kulturen durch das Studium kanonisierter Texte und ausgewählter Forschungsarbeiten zu vertiefen, in Ergänzung zu den in den übrigen Modulen gewählten Schwerpunkten.

Zentrale Lehrform des Skandinavistik-Studiums ist die moderierte, vorbereitete und um vielfältige Methoden (Referate, Gruppenarbeit, Projektarbeit) ergänzte Seminardiskussion. Vorlesungen dienen vor allem der Vermittlung von Überblickswissen, Übungen dem Sprachtraining und der praktisch-konkreten Arbeit mit Texten und anderen kulturellen Artefakten.

Als Fächerkombination bieten sich die anderen Philologien, wie zum Beispiel Finnougristik, Germanistik oder Anglistik an. Möglich ist auch eine Kombination mit historischen Fächern wie Ur- und Frühgeschichte oder Mittlere Geschichte sowie mit Kulturwissenschaften wie Kunstgeschichte, Musikwissenschaft oder Kulturanthropologie/Europäische Ethnologie. Grundsätzlich gibt es keine Vorschriften für die Kombination der Skandinavistik mit anderen Fächern.

Das Profil "Fachwissenschaftliche Vertiefung" richtet sich vor allem an Studierende, die beabsichtigen, das Studium der Skandinavistik im Master-Studiengang fortzusetzen und eine forschungsorientierte Bachelorarbeit in der Skandinavistik zu schreiben.

Für das berufsfeldqualifizierende Profil der Skandinavistik-Studierenden wird der Erwerb von zusätzlichen Fremdsprachenkenntnisse oder von Kompetenzen, die in anderen Fächern erworben werden können, empfohlen, je nach dem angestrebten Berufsfeld. Das Fach selbst stellt für Studierende anderer Fächer in diesem Profil Module zum Spracherwerb und zu Grundzügen der Skandinavistik zur Verfügung.

Die Studierenden haben die Möglichkeit, einen Teil der Studienleistungen im Ausland zu absolvieren, sei es im Rahmen eines Auslandssemesters oder eines Sprachkurses (Sommerschule) in Skandinavien. Die Sprachlehrveranstaltungen, Literatur- und Landeskundekurse finden in der Zielsprache statt, die fachwissenschaftlichen Veranstaltungen aufgrund des hohen Komplexitätsniveaus in der Regel auf Deutsch.

Das Forschungsprofil des Skandinavischen Seminars der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen liegt einerseits im Bereich der neueren skandinavischen Literaturen mit den Schwerpunkten Dramen-, Übersetzungs-, Themen- und Motivforschung, "Internationalität nationaler Literaturen" (Lehrstuhl Prof. Fritz Paul) und 17./18. Jahrhundert, Biographieforschung sowie Intermedialität von Literatur und Musik, andererseits im Gebiet der altnordischen Literatur und Kultur mit dem Schwerpunkt auf der mittelalterlichen Literatur Islands und deren Rezeption sowie Runologie. Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Wissenschafts- und Rezeptionsgeschichte. Für den Lehrstuhl und die anderen Arbeitsgruppen kann die komparatistische Betrachtung der skandinavischen Literaturen und Kulturen aus der Außenperspektive als grundlegend gelten. Einen wesentlichen Anteil am Forschungsprofil des Seminars haben die hier entstandenen Dissertationen und Habilitationsschriften.

Angeregt wurde die komparatistische Perspektive u.a. durch die zwölfjährige Beteiligung des Seminars am Sonderforschungsbereich "Die Literarische Übersetzung" mit mehreren erfolgreichen, international beachteten Teilprojekten, in denen auch zahlreiche Skandinavistische Beiträge zur Übersetzungsforschung entstanden sind.

Auch am Sonderforschungsbereich 529 "Internationalität nationaler Literaturen" war die Göttinger Skandinavistik während seiner Laufzeit von 1997-2001 mit mehreren Projekten beteiligt.

Die Studierenden wählen eine der drei kontinentalskandinavischen Sprachen Dänisch, Schwedisch oder Norwegisch als Hauptsprache und eignen sich im Laufe ihres Studiums vertiefte mündliche und schriftliche Kompetenz mit dem Ziel der fließenden, korrekten und situationsadäquaten Sprachverwendung an. Zudem werden passive Kenntnisse in den weiteren zwei Sprachen erwartet.

Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Bachelor-Faches „Skandinavistik“ sollen über umfangreiche Kenntnisse zu den Sprachen, Literaturen und Kulturen, zu Geschichte und Gesellschaft Skandinaviens verfügen und grundlegende literatur- und kulturwissenschaftliche Begriffe, Theorien und Methoden kennen und anwenden können. Sie sollen eine neuskandinavische Sprache aktiv beherrschen und passive Kenntnisse in zwei weiteren Sprachen besitzen. Außerdem sollen sie in der Lage sein, Informationen über Skandinavien zu recherchieren, zu strukturieren, zu bewerten und adäquat zu vermitteln. Damit qualifizieren sie sich für ein breites Spektrum von Tätigkeiten im Bereich der Vermittlung von Sprache, Literatur und Kultur sowie, je nach gewählter Fächerkombination, für Arbeiten in Museen und Sammlungen sowie für Wirtschaftsunternehmen und politische und soziale Einrichtungen, vor allem auch solchen mit Bezug zu Skandinavien.

Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen qualifizieren sich mit diesem Studiengang für ein breites Spektrum von Tätigkeiten im Bereich der Vermittlung von Sprache, Literatur und Kultur sowie, je nach gewählter Fächerkombination, für Arbeiten in Museen und Sammlungen sowie für Wirtschaftsunternehmen und politische und soziale Einrichtungen, vor allem auch solchen mit Bezug zu Skandinavien.


Studienaufbau

Im Studiengang Zwei-Fächer-Bachelor werden zwei Fächer gleichberechtigt studiert.

Für den Bachelorabschluss Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) werden insgesamt 180 Credits (Leistungspunkte) erbracht.

Dabei entfallen jeweils 66 Credits auf die beiden Fächer. Auf den Professionalisierungsbereich entfallen 36 Credits.

Für das Studienfach Skandinavistik müssen folgende Leistungen erbracht werden:

  1. Pflichtmodule

    Es müssen fünf Module im Umfang von insgesamt 30 C erfolgreich absolviert werden.

    • Einführung in die ältere Skandinavistik
    • Einführung in das Altnordische
    • Ältere Skandinavistik I
    • Einführung in die neuere Skandinavistik
    • Neuere Skandinavistik I
  2. Wahlpflichtmodule

    Es müssen Wahlpflichtmodule im Umfang von insgesamt wenigstens 36 C erfolgreich absolviert werden.

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. Irene Kupferschmied
Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
37073 Göttingen

Tel. +49 551 39 25493

ikupfer@gwdg.de

Homepage
Fachliche Links