Doctoral Studies in Physics

The Faculty of Physics is a member of the Georg-August-University School of Science (GAUSS) in which all doctoral studies in the natural sciences are organized. Within GAUSS, there are many ways of obtaining a doctorate in physics:

  • Doctoral Studies in Physics is the normal path and offers a wide range of physical sub-fields - astrophysics, biophysics, geophysics, material physics, non-linear dynamics, particle physics, semi-conductor physics, theoretical physics, and x-ray physics;
  • PTCN, Theoretical and Computational Neuroscience;
  • GGNB, the Graduate School of Neurosciences and Molecular Biosciences;
  • IMPRS, the International Max-Planck-Research School for Solar System Science;

Please note that the admission to the doctoral programme is independent of how you finance your studies.
There are many possibilities for the latter, including a position within an institute, scholarships, or some other external means.