In publica commoda

Ombudsman matters and good scientific practice

"The conduct of science rests on basic principles valid in all countries and in all scientific disciplines. The first among these is honesty towards oneself and towards others. Honesty is both an ethical principle and the basis for the rules, the details of which differ by discipline, of professional conduct in science, i.e. of good scientific practice" (Memorandum of the German Research Foundation, DFG, 2013:13)

The preservation and safeguarding of the highest of scientific quality standards in research are deemed by the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen to be of paramount importance, whilst fostering an atmosphere of openness, creativity and dedication to achievement. In the realisation of these objectives, compliance with the principles of good scientific practice plays a pivotal role.

In educating and training junior scientists and scholars, we are committed to ensuring the prevention of scientific misconduct, to offering advice and help in investigating cases of suspected violation of rules. Above and beyond this, we endeavour to arbitrate cases of unclear authorship or other disputes arising in connection with good scientific practice.

For adjudicating ombudsman matters the University has put in place "Regulations for Ensuring Good Scientific Practice". We hereby express our concurrence with the mutual initiative of the German Research Foundation and the German Rectors' Conference to implement the binding recommendations of the German Research Foundation's commission on "Professional Self-regulation in Science". All members of the University working in the science community shall be bound thereby.

The central partners to contact on these matters are Dr. Veronika Fuest, Director of the Office of the Ombudsman and Good Scientific Practice, and three professors belonging to various faculties who have been appointed by the senate as ombudspersons.

Presumed victims or whistle blowers can report suspected cases of scientific misconduct to the Office of the Ombudsman and Good Scientific Practice, where more detailed information about internal University Ombudsman procedures can be obtained. As required the ombudspersons have consultative roles and explore the circumstances of a case. In principle every case is treated confidentially.

In the event that a suspicion of scientific misconduct is justified, upon approval by the persons concerned the case can be included in formal ombudsman proceedings. Such hearings extend up to two levels: the ombudsman committee, constituted of three ombudspersons, and an investigative committee if needed.

The Medical Faculty has its own ombudsman committee that can be contacted in matters concerning the University Medical Center Göttingen.

Should, after further investigation into the facts in one of the ombudsman committees, the suspicion be confirmed, the case will be turned over to and examined by the investigative committee shared by the University and the University Medical Center. These proceedings are confidential as well. The University's management is involved until a final decision is taken by the commission (cf. Statute).

The University's ombudsman committee and the investigative committee are given administrative support by the Office of the Ombudsman and Good Scientific Practice.

If you are involved in a current conflict, you can confidentially address your inquiry to the Office of the Ombudsman and Good Scientific Practice. Here, you have the opportunity to receive personalized advice and coaching.

Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Suche | English
platzhalter7px

Kontakt:
Dr. Veronika Fuest
Wilhelmsplatz 1
37073 Göttingen
Tel. 0551 39-20540
Fax 0551 39-1820540
Veronika.Fuest@zvw.uni-goettingen.de

Bürozeiten:

Montag bis Donnerstag
8.30 - 13.00 Uhr

Mittwoch
14.00 - 16.00 Uhr

Persönliche Beratungstermine nach Vereinbarung.





Weitere Informationen

Gute wissenschaftliche Praxis und Ombudsangelegenheiten


"Wissenschaftliche Arbeit beruht auf Grundprinzipien, die in allen Ländern und in allen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen gleich sind. Allen voran steht die Ehrlichkeit gegenüber sich selbst und anderen. Sie ist zugleich ethische Norm und Grundlage der von Disziplin zu Disziplin verschiedenen Regeln wissenschaftlicher Professionalität, das heißt guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis" (Denkschrift der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, 2013:13)

Für die Georg-August-Universität Göttingen ist es von besonderer Bedeutung, hohe wissenschaftliche Qualitätsstandards in der Forschung zu bewahren und sicher zu stellen und dazu eine Atmosphäre der Offenheit, Kreativität und Leistungsbereitschaft zu pflegen. Bei der Verwirklichung dieser Ziele spielt die Einhaltung der Regeln guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis eine zentrale Rolle.
Wir engagieren uns in der Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses im Sinne der Prävention wissenschaftlichen Fehlverhaltens und bieten Beratung und Klärung in Verdachtsfällen des Regelverstoßes. Darüber hinaus bemühen wir uns um Schlichtung in Fällen unklarer Autorenschaft oder anderen Streitpunkten im Bereich der guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis.

Die Universität hat sich zur Regelung der Ombudsangelegenheiten eine "Ordnung zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis" gegeben. Damit schließen wir uns der gemeinsamen Initiative der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft und der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz zur verbindlichen Umsetzung der Empfehlungen der Kommission "Selbstkontrolle in der Wissenschaft" der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft an. Sie ist für alle Mitglieder der Universität, die in der Wissenschaft arbeiten, verbindlich.

Als Ansprechpartner/innen stehen zentral die Leiterin der Geschäftsstelle Gute wissenschaftliche Praxis und Ombudsangelegenheiten, Dr. Veronika Fuest, und drei Professor/innen als vom Senat eingesetzte Ombudspersonen zur Verfügung, die verschiedenen Fakultäten angehören.

In der Geschäftsstelle werden Meldungen eines Verdachts auf wissenschaftliches Fehlverhalten durch Betroffene bzw. Hinweisgeber/innen angenommen und nähere Informationen über universitätsinterne Ombudsverfahren angeboten.

Bei einem durch eine Sachverhaltsaufklärung begründeten Verdacht des wissenschaftlichen Fehlverhaltens können Fälle in einen formalen Ombudsprozess eingeschlossen werden, der bis zu zwei Instanzen umfasst: ein Ombudsgremium, das sich aus den drei Ombudspersonen zusammensetzt, und gegebenenfalls eine Untersuchungskommission.

In der Medizinischen Fakultät ist ein eigenes Ombudsgremium zuständig, das in Angelegenheiten der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen angerufen werden kann.

Sollte sich ein Verdacht nach weiterer Sachverhaltsaufklärung in einem der Ombudsgremien erhärten, wird der Fall an die Untersuchungskommission, die der Universität und der Universitätsmedizin gemeinsam ist, abgegeben und dort geprüft. Auch dieses Verfahren ist vertraulich. Erst bei einer abschließenden Entscheidung der Kommission wird die Universitätsleitung eingeschaltet (vgl. Ordnung).

Das Ombudsgremium der Universität und die Untersuchungskommission werden von der Geschäftsstelle administrativ unterstützt.

Wenn Sie sich in einem aktuellen Konfliktfall befinden, können Sie sich vertraulich an die Geschäftsstelle wenden. Sie haben hier die Möglichkeit einer individuellen Beratung sowie bei Bedarf eines Coachings.