In publica commoda

North American Studies (B.A.) (2 subjects)

North American Studies with a focus on media studies: Students of the two-subject B.A. can already complete an academically established course of studies in North American Studies at the Bachelor level. The curriculum provides essential knowledge about the literature, culture and media as well as a comprehensive overview of North American culture from its first colonial contacts up until the 21st century. This degree qualifies the student for a consecutive Master's degree programme.

Field of Study: North American Studies (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Standard lenght of study: 6 semesters
Start: winter semester only
Language of the programme: German
Language requirements before beginning studies (certificate required):
good to very good knowledge of English (see right column)

Admission to the summer semester 2018:

  • 1st subject semester: start of studies in the winter semester only
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): start of studies in the winter semester only (application to International Student Office)

Programme description

Language requirements before beginning studies (with certificate)
Please follow the link in the right column to learn about the language requirements. Applicants should provide the certificate of language proficiency already during the enrolment process.
Alternatively, students may take a language test during the first year; each winter semester, the department offers a preparation course for the TOEFL test, which can be taken at the Central Office for Languages and Key Qualifications (ZESS).

Subject Matter/curriculum/objectives
Students of the Bachelor’s Program in North American Studies will acquire independent academic working skills and extensive knowledge in literature, culture, history and the language of North America. They will engage with fundamental subject-specific terms, theories and methods of cultural, literary and media studies and learn to apply them. The program conveys a historical overview of North American literature and culture and the skills to analyze and interpret literary texts, cultural documents and medial representations from different periods of American cultural history. The curriculum of the undergraduate degree also includes extensive coursework in the field of media studies, covering diverse topics such as popular culture, (American) media history and theory, material culture, and visual culture.

Structure of the program
Students need to complete 66 credits in North American Studies. The core curriculum conveys the basic methodologies and the fundamental theoretical tenets of North American studies in the form of modules. The subject matter of these modules comprises analytical and interpretation techniques, history of literature and culture as well as the theory of literature, culture and media. Some of these modules are interdisciplinary. Building on these basic modules, the B.A. program also introduces the fields of film and media studies. Students acquire the fundamentals of scholarly media analysis and apply these methods in the context of topical seminars. A subsequent advanced module provides research-oriented and subject-specific knowledge based on the training and competencies already obtained and prepares students for the Bachelor thesis (with 66 credits). Students can also specialize in North American Studies, allowing them to acquire a total of 84 credits. These students will complete an additional module in the “in-depth” profile of the optional area to further pursue their individual research interests. The other additional modules include courses on the theory of literature and culture and provide advice and tutoring for a research-oriented Bachelor thesis.

Subject combinations
The subjects North American Studies and English Philology can only be combined if no modules or courses pertaining to North American Studies are taken in English Philology.

Possible/recommended profiles
Profiles that can be studied: occupational; subject-specific in-depth knowledge; General Studies

In publica commoda

North American Studies (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Amerikanistisches Studium mit medienwissenschaftlichem Schwerpunkt: Bereits auf Bachelorebene können Studierende des Zwei-Fächer-B.A. eine wissenschaftlich fundierte Ausbildung in den Nordamerikastudien absolvieren. Das Curriculum vermittelt Grundlagenwissen der Literatur-, Kultur- und Medienwissenschaft sowie einen umfangreichen Überblick über die nordamerikanische Kultur von den ersten kolonialen Kontakten bis in das 21. Jahrhundert. Der Abschluss qualifiziert für den weiterführenden Masterstudiengang.


Name des Studienfachs:North American Studies (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: nur Wintersemester
Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn (Nachweis):
gute bis sehr gute Englischkenntnisse

<Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2017/18:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Der Studiengang

Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn (Nachweis)
Die benötigten Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn finden sie unter dem Link in der rechten Spalte. Es ist sinnvoll, den Nachweis bereits bei der Einschreibung zu erbringen. Studierende haben allerdings die Möglichkeit, den Nachweis noch während des ersten Studienjahrs zu erwerben. Das Seminar bietet jeweils im Wintersemester einen Vorbereitungskurs auf den TOEFL-Test an, der zu regelmäßig angebotenen Terminen an der Zentralen Einrichtung für Sprachen und Schlüsselkompetenzen abgelegt werden kann.

Das Studium
Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Bachelor-Fachs North American Studies sollen die Fähigkeit zum selbstständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten erwerben und sich umfangreiche Kenntnisse zur Literatur, Kultur, Geschichte, Gesellschaft und Sprache Nordamerikas erarbeiten. Sie sollen grundlegende fachwissenschaftliche Begriffe, Theorien und Methoden der Kultur-, Literatur- und Medienwissenschaft kennen und anwenden können, Überblickswissen über die Geschichte der nordamerikanischen Literatur und Kultur erhalten und die Fähigkeit zur sachgerechten Erschließung (Analyse und Interpretation) unterschiedlicher literarischer Texte und anderer kultureller Dokumente aus verschiedenen Zeiten erwerben. Die Göttinger Nordamerikastudien zeichnen sich daneben auch durch einen umfangreichen medienwissenschaftlichen Studienanteil aus, der Einblicke bietet in Felder wie Film, Populärkultur, Mediengeschichte und -theorie, Visual Culture, und Material Culture.

Aufbau des Studiums
Das Fachstudium North American Studies umfasst insgesamt 66 Credits. Im Kernbereich werden amerikanistisch-philologische Grundlagen und Überblickswissen in Modulen vermittelt. Inhaltlich geht es in diesen einführenden Modulen um Analyse- und Interpretationstechniken, um Literatur- und Kulturgeschichte sowie um Literatur-, Kultur- und Medientheorie. Einige dieser Module sind interdisziplinär und fachübergreifend angelegt. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt des B.A. North American Studies liegt im Bereich Film- und Medienwissenschaft; im entsprechenden Aufbaumodul werden die Grundlagen der wissenschaftlichen Medienanalyse vermittelt und in themenbezogenen Seminaren eingeübt und vertieft. Im Vertiefungsmodul werden bereits erlernte Lehrinhalte und Kompetenzen gefestigt. Die Studierenden bereiten sich hier auch gegebenenfalls auch auf eine Bachelorarbeit vor (nach 66 Credits). Studierende, die eine fachwissenschaftliche Vertiefung in North American Studies mit insgesamt 84 Credits anstreben, belegen im Optionalbereich ein weiteres Modul zur erneuten fachlichen Schwerpunktbildung, ein literatur- und kulturtheoretisch ausgelegtes Modul sowie ein Abschlussmodul, das der Betreuung einer forschungsorientierten Bachelorarbeit dient.

Fächerkombination
Die Fächer North American Studies und Englische Philologie können nur dann miteinander kombiniert werden, wenn in Englische Philologie keine amerikanistischen Module oder Veranstaltungen belegt werden.

Studierbare Profile
berufsbezogen; fachwissenschaftliche Vertiefung; Studium Generale