In publica commoda

Business Information Systems (B.Sc.)

Business Information Systems deals with the way in which IT solutions are structured, developed or implemented for business processes and the supply of information. Along with this, the degree programme takes the integration of private individuals and public administration into account. Study foci are the conception of application systems and e-business solutions as well as the management of information processing. In the master's degree programme that follows and builds upon this programme, deeper knowledge can be gained in further specialised subjects.

Programme name: Business Information Systems
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Standard period of study: 6 semesters
Start: Winter and summer semester
Language of the programme: German

Admission to the summer semester 2018:

  • 1st subject semester: limited admission (application to the University)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): limited admission (application to International Student Office)

The programme gives students very good general and subject-specific career skills and lays the scientific foundation for a consecutive career qualifying degree in the form of a master's programme.

The programme is completely modularised, i.e. credits are acquired during studies. The programme is successfully completed when 180 credits have been earned.

For a qualified bachelor's programme in the field of economics, students must especially have sound knowledge in the English language (international students also must have good German language skills), mathematics as well as information and communications systems (ICS).

Students whose knowledge of English/ German, mathematics or ICS is poor are strongly suggested to improve in these areas before beginning with the programme. The Faculty of Economic Sciences also offers a precourse in Mathematics for new students to prepare them for the following modules in Mathematics (every winter and summer semester).

The Bachelor's programme in Business Information Systems is divided into the orientation phase (1st and 2nd semester) and the in-depth and specialisation phase (3rd to 6th semester).

In the orientation phase, students acquire basic knowledge in the business information systems (module "Information and Communication Systems"), informatics (module "Informatics I"), business (module "Finance, Financial Statements as well as Markets") and in economics (modules "Microeconomics" and "Macroeconomics"). In addition, students acquire knowledge in the area of the relevant mathematical and statistical methods (modules "Mathematics" and "Statistics").

In the in-depth and specialisation phase of the programme, Bachelor students will enhance their knowledge in business information systems, informatics and business in specified areas. During in-depth studies, students must also complete the compulsory modules "Management of Information Economics", "Management of Information Systems", "Informatics II" and three of the modules "Corporate Taxes", "Production and Logistics", "Corporate Management" and "Organisation", "Internal Corporate Accounting" as well as "Marketing" (optional compulsory modules).

Thereafter, students select a specialisation in the areas of business information systems and informatics. Within their specialisation, students have to complete a project seminar and a term paper seminar. Furthermore, a programming language has to be completed successfully. The elective section comprises modules of the following areas: economic sciences, informatics, key competencies and law.

Admission to the Bachelor's degree programme in Business Information Systems is restricted in the first subject-related semester, while the higher subject-related semesters are not subject to admission restrictions. Students can apply and be enrolled in both the summer and winter semesters.

What we expect from you:

  • Motivation and a will to achieve
  • Interest in entrepreneurial or macroeconomic issues
  • Analytical thinking faculties as well as an interest in and ability to deal with mathematical methods of presentation
  • Good proficiency in German, a good or at least working knowledge of the English language

As a graduate with a bachelor degree, you will have career opportunities in a multitude of professions. The labour market continues to be characterised by a strong demand for highly qualified information technology (IT) specialists.

Core occupations for graduates of the Bachelor's degree programme in Business Information Systems include jobs as computer specialists and system analysts. Bachelor degree graduates will be tasked with planning, documenting and rolling out hardware and software and gathering data on the impacts on organisational forms. This additionally involves support in solving problems and the modification or new development of concepts. Concrete jobs for graduates with a bachelor degree include jobs as specialists at computing centres and user services, organisation and system analysts, advisors and vendors or software developers as well as work implementing and modifying standard software for business administration applications (for example SAP).

Moreover, bachelor degree holders can work in hybrid occupations as so-called hybrid experts, i.e. individuals who are familiar with business problems and are capable of designing IT solutions. These individuals are often employed in a coordinating function between the operating department and the IT department. Project managers, project coordinators and system analysts are some examples of specific professions. Fields that graduates can work in include either those (1) within the data processing (DP) department (for example, system analysis, user consulting, DP control) or (2) outside the DP department in business-oriented operational departments with distinct DP references, such as organisation.

Additionally, a bachelor degree offers you the possibility for further studies like enrolling in a Master's degree programme in Germany or abroad. In Göttingen, completing a bachelor degree with a good grade can increase your chances of getting admitted to the four-semester degree programme in Business Information Systems, which culminates in a Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Business Information Systems. Moreover, you have the possibility to pursue other Master's degree programmes at the Faculty of Economic Sciences, e.g. the master's degree programme in Applied Statistics (M.Sc.), as long as you fulfil the admission requirements.

In publica commoda

Wirtschaftsinformatik (B.Sc.)

Die Wirtschaftsinformatik befasst sich damit, wie IT-Lösungen für betriebliche Prozesse und die Informationsversorgung zu gestalten, zu entwickeln oder einzuführen sind. Dabei wird auch die Einbindung von Privatpersonen oder von der Öffentlichen Verwaltung berücksichtigt. Schwerpunkte im Studium sind die Gestaltung von Anwendungssystemen und E-Business-Lösungen sowie das Management der Informationsverarbeitung. Im darauf aufbauenden Masterstudiengang können weitere Spezialisierungen vertieft werden.

Name des Studienfachs: Wirtschaftsinformatik
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Winter- und Sommersemester

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2017/18:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Der Bachelorstudiengang in Wirtschaftsinformatik vermittelt Ihnen zum einen das nötige Fachwissen, um nach dem Abschluss in den Beruf einzusteigen. Zum anderen legt er die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen, um ein Masterstudium anzuschließen und einen weiteren berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss zu erwerben.

Der Studiengang ist vollständig modularisiert, das heißt, die Studierenden belegen während ihres Studiums Module (Seminare, Vorlesungen etc.) und schließen diese am Ende des Semesters zum Beispiel mit einer Klausur oder Hausarbeit ab. Dadurch erwerben sie schon während ihres Studiums Anrechnungspunkte (Credits). Das Studium ist erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wenn 180 Credits erreicht worden sind.


Als Voraussetzungen für ein qualifiziertes Bachelorstudium der Wirtschaftsinformatik sollten Sie insbesondere Interesse an Fragestellungen aus der Informatik und Wirtschaftsinformatik, gute oder ausbaufähige Englisch- und Mathematikkenntnisse mitbringen sowie mit modernen Informations- und Kommunikationssystemen (IKS) umgehen können.
Auch eine kaufmännische Ausbildung ist vorteilhaft, aber natürlich keine Bedingung. Bevor die Vorlesungen im Semester beginnen, bietet die Fakultät einen Mathematik-Vorkurs zur Auffrischung der eigenen Kenntnisse an (jedes Sommer- und Wintersemester).


Der Bachelorstudiengang in Wirtschaftsinformatik gliedert sich in die Orientierungsphase (1. und 2. Semester) sowie die Vertiefungs- und Spezialisierungsphase (3. bis 6. Semester):
In der Orientierungsphase erwerben Sie neben grundlegenden Kenntnissen in Wirtschaftsinformatik (Modul Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme), Informatik (Modul Informatik I), in Betriebswirtschaftslehre (BWL) (Module Einführung in die Finanzwirtschaft, Jahresabschluss sowie Unternehmen und Märkte) und in Volkswirtschaftslehre (VWL) (Module Mikroökonomik I und Makroökonomik I) zudem Kenntnisse im Bereich der relevanten mathematischen und statistischen Methoden (Module Mathematik und Statistik).

Im Vertiefungs- und Spezialisierungsstudium vertiefen Sie zunächst Ihre Kenntnisse in Wirtschaftsinformatik, Informatik und Betriebswirtschaftslehre in vorgegebenen Bereichen. Im Rahmen dieser Vertiefung belegen Sie die Pflichtmodule Management der Informationswirtschaft, Management der Informationssysteme, Informatik II sowie drei der Module Unternehmenssteuern, Produktion und Logistik, Unternehmensführung und Organisation, Interne Unternehmensrechnung sowie Marketing (Wahlpflichtmodule).
Anschließend spezialisieren Sie sich in den Bereichen Wirtschaftsinformatik und Informatik. Hier sollen Sie jeweils ein Projektseminar und ein Hausarbeitenseminar erfolgreich abschließen. Darüber hinaus ist eine Programmiersprache erfolgreich zu erlernen. Der freie Wahlbereich ist in die Bereiche Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Informatik, Schlüsselqualifikationen und Recht gegliedert. Sie vertiefen Ihre Kenntnisse in BWL, VWL und/ oder Informatik und erwerben Schlüsselqualifikationen. Im Bereich Recht können Sie relevante Veranstaltungen der juristischen Fakultät belegen.


Der Bachelorstudiengang in Wirtschaftsinformatik ist zulassungsbeschränkt im ersten Fachsemester und zulassungsfrei in höheren Fachsemestern. Bewerbung und Immatrikulation sind zu jedem Sommer- und Wintersemester möglich.

Unsere Erwartungen an Sie:

  • Motivation und Leistungswille
  • Interesse an unternehmerischen oder gesamtwirtschaftlichen Sachverhalten
  • Analytisches Denkvermögen sowie Interesse und Fähigkeit, auch mit mathematischen Darstellungsweisen umzugehen
  • Gute Deutschkenntnisse, gute oder zumindest ausbaufähige Englischkenntnisse



Die beruflichen Einsatzmöglichkeiten für Sie als Bachelor-Absolventinnen und -Absolventen sind vielfältig. Der Arbeitsmarkt ist weiterhin durch eine große Nachfrage nach hoch qualifizierten IT-Kräften (IT = Informationstechnologie) gekennzeichnet.

Die Kernberufe von Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Bachelorstudiengangs umfassen Tätigkeiten, die von Computerspezialisten und Systemanalytikern durchgeführt werden. Sie haben dabei die Aufgabe, Hard- und Software zu planen, zu dokumentieren und einzuführen sowie die Auswirkungen auf die Organisationsform zu erfassen. Konkret können Bachelor-Absolventinnen und -Absolventen als Rechenzentrums- und Benutzerservice-Fachleute, Organisations- und Systemanalytiker, Berater und Verkäufer oder Softwareentwickler arbeiten sowie bei der Einführung und Anpassung betriebswirtschaftlicher Standardsoftware (zum Beispiel SAP) eingesetzt werden.

Zudem können Sie in Mischberufen arbeiten. Diese können von so genannten Hybrid-Fachleuten ausgeübt werden, die sich ausgezeichnet mit dem betriebswirtschaftlichen Problem auskennen und in der Lage sind, hierfür IT-Lösungen zu entwickeln. Konkrete Berufe sind zum Beispiel Projektleiter, Projektkoordinator sowie Systemanalytiker. Einsatzgebiete für die Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind dabei entweder (1) innerhalb der IV-Abteilung (IV = Informationsverarbeitung, zum Beispiel Systemanalyse, Benutzerberatung, IV-Controlling) oder (2) außerhalb der IV-Abteilung in betriebswirtschaftlich orientierten Fachabteilungen mit ausgeprägtem IV-Bezug, zum Beispiel Organisation.


Zusätzlich bietet Ihnen der Bachelorabschluss die Möglichkeit, im In- oder Ausland ein weiterführendes Masterstudium anzuschließen. In Göttingen kann mit einem guten Bachelorabschluss die Zulassung zu dem weiterführenden, viersemestrigen Masterstudiengang in Wirtschaftsinformatik mit dem Abschluss Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Wirtschaftsinformatik erworben werden.

Darüber hinaus besteht die Möglichkeit auch andere Masterstudiengänge der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät wie z.B. den Masterstudiengang Angewandte Statistik (M.Sc.) zu studieren, wenn Sie die notwendigen Zugangsvoraussetzungen besitzen.