In publica commoda

Spanish (B.A.) (2 subjects/teaching profession profile)

« El que lee mucho y anda mucho, ve mucho y sabe mucho. »Miguel de Cervantes

Spanish is a world language with currently about 400 million speakers and continuously increasing significance. If you are interested in the Spanish language, literature and culture, from medieval heroic epics to the digital media, study with us! Become a specialist in the cultures of Spanish-speaking countries and regions and their distinctive linguistic characteristics. Discover, for example, what led to the invention of Don Quijote in the Siglo de Oro, or learn more about the fascinating interaction of cultural influences in Latin America.

Name of subject: Spanish and Hispanic studies/Spanish
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects/teaching profession profile)
Standard course length: 6 semesters
Start of programme: Winter semester
Language requirements prior to start of programme (evidence required): Knowledge of the Spanish language

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): open admission (application to International Student Services)

Subject description

Language requirements prior to start of programme (evidence required)

To start the degree programme, Spanish language proficiency is required at the B1 level of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (GER). This level of proficiency can be proved either by relevant documentary evidence or by passing our aptitude and orientation test. More detailed information can be found under the link “Language requirements” in the right-hand column.

Subject/content/goals

In the course of your Spanish studies, you will acquire competencies in numerous different areas:

  • linguistic competence (level C1 GER)
  • intercultural competence
  • ability to conduct scientific work
  • historical perspectives on linguistic, literary and cultural developments
  • regional and country-specific knowledge
  • analytical skills
  • key competencies in communication, investigation methods and information processing
  • knowledge about teaching Spanish as a foreign language

Research areas and research focus

The sections of the Bachelor’s degree in Spanish are language practice, literary studies, linguistics, regional and cultural studies and specialised didactics.

In the area of language practice, you will practice and expand the four skills of listening, reading, speaking and writing on the basis of the European Framework of Reference (from level B1 to C1), to develop the student’s receptive and productive competence in oral and written communication. You will analyse and compare various aspects of German and Spanish grammar. All courses in language practice include some aspects of regional and cultural studies (such as history, culture, politics, etc.) of both Spain and Hispano-America.

The purpose of linguistics is to examine the structure and usage of contemporary Spanish and its historical development (e.g. the description of phonetic structure, vocabulary and grammar). The basic principles, core areas and methods of Spanish linguistics are taught in the relevant courses. We make a point of offering a wide range of courses from traditional Romance language areas, such as historical linguistics, generative syntax and dialectology, as well as covering modern questions of discourse linguistics and cognitive semantics. The goal here is to enable students to carry out independent work using modern linguistic methods (e.g. computational linguistics).

Literary studies deal with the Spanish-language literatures and cultures, and their history from the medieval beginnings to the 21st century. You will be familiarized with various methods of text interpretation and literary theories, whose diversity opens up a great variety of approaches to text analysis and other forms of media processing (e.g. film). In the literary studies courses, some specific eras and works are dealt with in more detail. Some research areas in Ibero-Romance literary studies are the Spanish literature of the Middle Ages and early modern era, as well as the contemporary Spanish and Hispano-American literature, the Hispano-American novel of the 19th century, intermediality (literature and music) and Hispanic gender studies.

In regional and cultural studies, you will acquire basic knowledge about the history, economics, politics, society and culture of Spain and Hispano-America, using theories from the social and cultural sciences. The acquisition of regional and cultural knowledge includes the development of intercultural competence to enable students to reflect on both their own and the foreign culture, and to comprehend the two cultures as dynamic, living and multifaceted systems. In the advanced courses, this basic knowledge is expanded using specific examples.

Specialised didactics deals with teaching and learning Spanish as a foreign language. You will acquire basic knowledge about Spanish language didactics, which will be expanded in the subsequent Master of Education degree programme. The introductory courses cover historical aspects of foreign language teaching, theories of foreign language learning, aspects of European language policies and questions of teaching and learning foreign languages in schools and extracurricular contexts (e.g. adult education, bilingual education or technical terminology).

Structure of the degree programme

The degree programme in Spanish consists of several basic and advanced modules in the sections of language practice, linguistics, literary studies and regional and cultural studies, as well as one module of specialised didactics. The modules are composed of individual courses, for each of which a fixed number of credits can be obtained. These credits reflect the amount of work required to complete the individual courses and are granted separately from the grades.

Studying Spanish in Göttingen

There are so many advantages to studying Spanisch in Göttingen:

  • You learn about Spanish and Hispanic American language and culture in the heart of Germany.
  • You will get personal support in learning groups with small numbers of participants.
  • We have an international teaching staff.
  • A major part of the curriculum is taught in the target language.
  • Your studies are research-oriented thanks to our interdisciplinary cooperation projects.
  • We have a special subject library with more than 100,000 volumes.
  • You can also get into contact with other Romance languages and cultures, if you like.

Combination of subjects

Spanish can be combined with all other teaching subjects.

Occupational fields

The main target labour market for graduates in Spanish lies in secondary schools. This market is expected to remain stable in the foreseeable future, with the normal dual demographic fluctuations (in the numbers of teachers and pupils).

In publica commoda

Spanisch (B.A.) (2-Fächer/Profil Lehramt)

Die Weltsprache Spanisch wird von ca. 400 Millionen Menschen gesprochen und gewinnt im europäischen wie globalen Zusammenhang immer weiter an Bedeutung. Das Bachelor-Studienfach Spanisch/Hispanistik bietet eine umfassende Sprachausbildung sowie das Studium der Kulturen, der Literaturen und der Sprache der hispanophonen Welt: interdisziplinär und international vernetzt und mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten je nach eigenem Interesse. Die fachlichen Inhalte sind so zugeschnitten, dass sie sowohl im Lehramt als auch auf dem nicht-schulischen Arbeitsmarkt eingesetzt werden können.


Name des Studienfachs: Spanisch
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer/Profil Lehramt)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn (Nachweis): Kenntnisse der spanischen Sprache

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2017/18:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei International Student Office)



Darstellung des Studienfachs
Gegenstand/Inhalte/Zielsetzungen
Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Bachelor-Studiengangs Spanisch sollen die Fähigkeit zum selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten erwerben. Sie sollen die sprachlichen Ausdrucksmittel des Spanischen im mündlichen wie im schriftlichen Bereich differenziert und korrekt anwenden können. Sie erlangen umfangreiche und fundierte Kenntnisse über die spanische Sprache, die Literatur sowie über die wirtschaftlichen, politischen, gesellschaftlichen, kulturellen und historischen Gegebenheiten der spanischsprachigen Länder und können diese mit Hilfe wissenschaftlicher Methoden beschreiben und anwenden. Ferner sollen sie grundlegendes Wissen über den Fremdsprachenerwerb und den Fremdsprachenunterricht des Spanischen erwerben.

In allen Studiengängen legt das Seminar für Romanische Philologie Wert darauf, dass sich unsere Studierenden Schlüsselqualifikationen und -kompetenzen in der Kommunikation, Recherche und Informationsbearbeitung sowie im interkulturellen Management aneignen.

Fachgebiete und Forschungsschwerpunkte in Göttingen
Spanisch ist seit Jahren das Schulfach mit den höchsten Zuwachsraten an niedersächsischen Schulen.

Im deutschsprachigen Raum ist Göttingen eine der wenigen Universitäten, an denen die romanistischen Fächer lehramtsbezogen wie nicht-lehramtsbezogen und in voller Breite studiert werden können.

Fachgebiete und Forschungsschwerpunkte
Die Fachgebiete des Bachelor Spanisch sind Sprachpraxis, Iberoromanische Literaturwissenschaft, Iberoromanische Sprachwissenschaft und Iberoromanische Landeswissenschaft sowie Spanische Fachdidaktik.

Sprachpraxis
Im Bereich der Sprachpraxis werden in verschiedenen Modulen die vier Fertigkeiten (Hören, Lesen, Sprechen und Schreiben) zur Entwicklung der mündlichen und schriftlichen Rezeptions- und Produktionskompetenzen auf der Grundlage des Europäischen Referenzrahmens eingeübt und vertieft (von Niveau B1 bis C1 in insgesamt drei Modulen). Im Aufbaumodul II wird außerdem die Technik des Übersetzens vermittelt und verschiedene Aspekte der deutschen und spanischen Grammatik vergleichend analysiert. Alle Lehrveranstaltungen in der Sprachpraxis berücksichtigen landeswissenschaftliche Aspekte (Geschichte, Kultur, Politik, usw.) sowohl Spaniens als auch Lateinamerikas.

Sprachwissenschaft
Die Lernziele der Sprachwissenschaft liegen sowohl im wissenschaftlichen als auch im nahe liegenden angewandten Bereich. In den Veranstaltungen werden Kenntnisse der sprachwissenschaftlichen Forschung zum Spanischen im strukturell-grammatikalischen sowie im kontextabhängigen und historischen Bereich vermittelt. Ziel ist dabei auch, die Studierenden zum eigenständigen Arbeiten mit modernen linguistischen Methoden zu befähigen. Die Befähigung zum eigenständigen Analysieren sprachlicher Strukturen und Funktionen wird mit Blick auf spätere Berufsfelder vermittelt. Neben der grundlegenden Verbindung zu didaktischen Fragen spielt der Kommunikationssektor (Internet, Textoptimierung, interkulturelle Kommunikation) eine große Rolle.

Literaturwissenschaft
In der Literaturwissenschaft werden die Studierenden mit den Literaturen und Kulturen Lateinamerikas und Spaniens seit dem Mittelalter vertraut gemacht. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf dem 19.-21. Jahrhundert. Literatur in einer weiten Definition umfasst dabei auch den Film. In den Lehrveranstaltungen werden bestimmte Epochen und Werke vertieft erschlossen. Zudem lernen die Studierenden Methoden der Textanalyse und verschiedene literaturwissenschaftliche Theorien kennen. Forschungsgebiete der iberoromanischen Literaturwissenschaften sind die spanische Literatur des Mittelalters und der frühen Neuzeit, der Roman des Cono Sur (Argentinien, Chile) im 19.-21. Jhdt., Intermedialität (Literatur und Musik), Interkulturalität und Kulturtransfer sowie die hispanistische Geschlechterforschung.

Landeswissenschaft
In der Landeswissenschaft liegt ein Schwerpunkt auf der Geschichte Spaniens und/oder Spanischamerikas. Grundlegende Kenntnisse der Geschichte werden anhand eines konkreten Beispiels vertieft. Gleichzeitig lernen die Studierenden, historische Forschung kritisch zu beurteilen und beschäftigen sich mit einem grundlegenden Thema der Historiographie zu Spanien und/oder Spanischamerika. Schließlich erwerben die Studierenden grundlegende Kenntnisse über Wirtschaft, Politik, Gesellschaft und Kultur des heutigen Spaniens (wahlweise Spanischamerika). Zwischen dem Seminar für Romanische Philologie und dem Seminar für Mittlere und Neuere Geschichte gibt es eine enge Kooperation.

Aufbau des Studiums
Im Fach Spanisch besteht das Studium aus Basis- und Aufbaumodulen in den Teilbereichen Sprachpraxis, Sprach-, Literatur- und Landeswissenschaft sowie aus einem Modul im Bereich der Fachdidaktik. Die Module setzen sich aus einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen zusammen, für die jeweils eine bestimmte Anzahl an Credits vorgesehen ist. Diese Credits bilden den Arbeitsaufwand für die einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen ab und werden unabhängig von der Note vergeben

Fächerkombination
Spanisch kann mit allen Lehramts-Fächern kombiniert werden.
Empfehlungen hängen stark von den konjunkturell schwankenden Einstellungsbedingungen jedes Bundeslandes ab.

Berufsfelder
Der Hauptzielarbeitsmarkt der Spanisch-Absolventinnen und –Absolventen ist die Schule. Dieser Markt wird mit den üblichen doppelten demographischen Schwankungen (Lehrer, Schüler) auf absehbare Zeit stabil bleiben.

Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung
Philosophische Fakultät

Eva Wolff, Thale Hapke
Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49-551 39 10664
Fax: +49-551 39 4010

E-Mail
Homepage


Spezifische Fachberatung
Seminar für Romanische Philologie
Humboldtallee 19
37073 Göttingen

romanistik@uni-goettingen.de


Professionalisierungsbereich und Lehrerberuf
Zentrale Einrichtung für Lehrerbildung
Waldweg 26
37073 Göttingen

Homepage