In publica commoda

History (M.A.)

Programme: History (M.A.)
Degree: Master of Arts
Standard period of study: Four semesters
Start: Summer and winter semester
Degree programme options: Single Honours MA in History (78 C); Joint Honours MA in History (42 C); module packages: History as MA minor subject (36 C)
Admission requirements for Single and Joint Honours MA: Overview
Language requirements: Good English language skills are strongly recommended.
Entrance requirements for module packages: Overview
Note for international applicants: For the enrolment at the Faculty of Humanities certified proficiency in German language is required!
Application: application procedure (application to the faculty of humanities)

Language of the programme: German

Programme description
The Master's programme gives students a scientific in-depth education in the subject of history with an emphases on German, European, Non-European history and culture. It conveys knowledge of historical happenings and correlations, methodical competencies to prepare and critically interpret historical material (picture, film, interview) as well as to conceive and present research results in history projects such as exhibitions, documentations, publications, reports etc.

Broad methodical and thematic spectrum
The subject History in Göttingen is embedded in a broad research landscape. There is close contact to the neighbouring disciplines of Cultural Anthropology, Political Science and Gender Research as well as Economic and Social History, Regional Science and the History of Science. The historians in Göttingen are also members of other scientific institutions and centres. This gives the historical sciences in Göttingen an especially broad methodical and thematic spectrum.

Research foci in the area of Early Medieval history is the history of Christian hagiography, women's and gender history as well as issues regarding communication and media. Social history's main interest in the High and Late Middle Ages in a comparative perspective is the examination of the intercultural transfer processes and historical systems of relations.

As regards the Modern Ages, research concentrates on the areas of environmental, social, legal, adminstrative, scientific and criminal history as well as the history of religion and historical anthropology. For the 20th century and current history the research foci are in the areas of political culture of the interwar years, the genesis and moulding of totalitarian systems as well as the history of the Federal Republic of Germany. Represented are also the History of Science after National Socialism, Generational History and Gender Studies. A special feature in Göttingen is the reflection of its own subject and its methods substantiated with its own Chair.

Programme structure
History may either be studied in a scope worth 78 credits or 42 credits that are acquired through Master's, subject area or theory modules. The Master's thesis is written at the end of a Master's conclusion module. By selecting epochs, an emphasis can be placed on the pre-modern or modern period, if desired.

Verifiable language knowledge
Language knowledge: If the conclusion module is in the pre-modern period (Ancient History or Middle Ages), then a verification of the “Kleines Latinum” must be shown by the admission to the master's thesis; if the conclusion module is in the modern period (Early Modern or Moder Period), then a verification of knowledge of an additional modern foreign language (but not English) on the level B1 / basic level 3 must be shown by the admission to the master's thesis. Language knowledge can therefore also be acquired during the Master's course of study.

Occupational fields
The Master's degree qualifies graduates for work in scientific, historical-cultural, cultural-didactic, journalistic and political areas as well as in scientific management and public relations.

In publica commoda

Geschichte (M.A.)

Name des Studienangebots: Geschichte
Abschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Studienbeginn: Sommer- und Wintersemester
Studienmöglichkeiten: Ein-Fach-Masterstudiengang MA in Geschichte (78 C); Kombinierter Masterstudiengang MA in Geschichte (42 C); Nebenfach/Modulpaket Geschichte (36 C)
Zulassungsbedingungen für Masterstudiengang: Übersicht
Sprachempfehlung: Gute Englischkenntnisse werden dringend empfohlen.
Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete: Übersicht (pdf)
Hinweis für internationale Studienbewerber/innen: Für die Immatrikulation an der Philosophischen Fakultät ist der Nachweis von Deutsch-Kenntnissen unbedingte Voraussetzung!
Bewerbung: Bewerbungsverfahren (Bewerbung bei der Philosophischen Fakultät)



Darstellung des Studiengangs
Der Masterstudiengang ermöglicht eine wissenschaftlich vertiefte Ausbildung im Fach Geschichte mit Schwerpunkten in der deutschen, europäischen und außereuropäischen Geschichte und Kultur. Er vermittelt Kenntnisse historischer Ereignisse und Zusammenhänge, methodische Kompetenz bei der Aufbereitung und kritischen Interpretation von historischem Material (Bild, Film, Interviews) sowie bei der Konzeption und Präsentation von Forschungsergebnissen in Geschichtsprojekten wie Ausstellungen, Dokumentationen, Publikationen, Reportagen und so weiter.

Breites methodisches und thematisches Spektrum
Das Fach Geschichte ist in Göttingen in eine weite Forschungslandschaft eingebettet. Enge Kontakte bestehen zu den Nachbardisziplinen Kulturanthropologie, Politikwissenschaft und Geschlechterforschung sowie Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte, Landes- und Wissenschaftsgeschichte. Göttinger Historiker_innen sind zugleich Mitglieder anderer wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen und Zentren. Damit verfügt die Göttinger Geschichtswissenschaft über ein besonders breites methodisches und thematisches Spektrum.

Zu den Göttinger Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören im Bereich der frühmittelalterlichen Geschichte die Geschichte der christlichen Hagiographie, die Geschlechtergeschichte sowie die Fragen von Kommunikation und Medien. Für das Hoch- und Spätmittelalter gilt das Hauptinteresse der Sozialgeschichte europäischer Gesellschaften in komparatistischer Perspektive, der Erforschung interkultureller Transferprozesse und historischer Beziehungssysteme.

Im Bereich der (Frühen) Neuzeit ist die Forschung in den Bereichen der Militär-, Rechts-, Verwaltungs-, Universitäts-, Wissenschafts- und Kriminalitätsgeschichte sowie Religionsgeschichte und Historischer Anthropologie angesiedelt. Für das 20. Jahrhundert und die Zeitgeschichte liegen die Forschungsschwerpunkte auf den Gebieten der politischen Kultur der Zwischenkriegszeit, der Genese und Ausformung totalitärer Systeme sowie der bundesrepublikanischen Geschichte. Ebenso vertreten sind Wissenschaftsgeschichte nach dem Nationalsozialismus, Geschichte des Terrorismus und Geschlechterforschung. Eine Göttinger Besonderheit besteht in der mit einem eigenen Lehrstuhl fundierten Reflexion des eigenen Faches und seiner Methoden.

Aufbau des Studiums
Geschichte kann entweder im Umfang 78 C oder 42 C studiert werden, die über den Besuch von Master,- Fachgebiets-, und Theoriemodulen zu erbringen sind. Das Verfassen der Master-Arbeit wird durch den Besuch eines Master-Abschlussmoduls unterstützt. Durch die Wahl der Epochen ist eine Schwerpunktsetzung auf die Vormoderne oder Moderne möglich, aber nicht notwendig. Auch kann ein Studienschwerpunkt im Bereich der Transkontinentalen Geschichte Europas in der Moderne gewählt werden.

Nachweispflichtige Sprachkenntnisse
Sprachkenntnisse: Liegt das Abschlussmodul in der Vormoderne (Alte Geschichte oder Mittelalter), sind bis zur Meldung zur Masterarbeit Kenntnisse des Kleinen Latinums nachzuweisen; liegt das Abschlussmodul in der Moderne (Frühe Neuzeit oder Neuzeit), sind bis zur Meldung zur Masterarbeit Kenntnisse einer weiteren (außer Englisch) modernen Fremdsprache auf dem Niveau B1 / Grundstufe 3 nachzuweisen. Sprachkenntnisse können damit auch während des Masterstudiums erworben werden.

Berufsfelder
Der Masterabschluss qualifiziert für eine Tätigkeit in wissenschaftlichen, historisch-kulturellen, kulturdidaktischen, publizistischen und politischen Bereichen sowie im Wissenschaftsmanagement und der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.