In publica commoda

Mathematical Data Science (B.Sc.)

Mathematical Data Science (B.Sc.) – expeted winterterm 2018/2019

Fit for the digital era: In the degree programme “Mathematical Data Science”, students learn modern mathematical and statistical methods of data analysis and recognition of structures, and acquire tools from computer science to transform these methods into algorithms. Graduates will be able to deal scientifically with large quantities of data and thus gain access to attractive career opportunities.

Subject: Mathematics
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Standard duration of study: 6 semesters
Start: Winter semester
Language: German
Extramural studies possible

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: limited admission (application to the University)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: limited admission (application to the University)
  • International applicants (non-EU): limited admission (application to International Student Services)



The degree programme
In the Mathematical Data Science degree programme, students learn mathematics, statistics and computer science. They acquire a thorough understanding of mathematics and its methods of analysing data and recognising their underlying structures.

Structure of degree programme
During the first year of the programme, students will acquire sound mathematical knowledge in the areas of analysis, linear algebra and computer science. In the second year, the basic principles of mathematical data science will be covered; statistical and numerical methods are to be dealt with in particular. In the third year, the students will be familiarized with current research topics in a study focus area of their own choice. They will write their Bachelor’s thesis in this research focus area. Possible study focus areas are:

  • Optimization and Imaging
  • Mathematical Statistics
  • Machine Learning
  • Applied Statistics and Econometrics


What all of these areas have in common is their requirement for competent scientific work with algorithms in areas such as data analysis, pattern recognition and visualisation.

Career opportunities
Graduates of the Mathematical Data Science Bachelor’s degree programme are well prepared to meet either the requirements of a subsequent Master’s degree programme, or the challenges of an entry-level position in core areas of the digital era, due to their abilities for abstraction and identification of patterns, as well as their capacity for conceptional, analytical and logical thinking.

What should their interests be?
Prospective students of this programme should be interested in and have a liking for mathematics and computer science, as well as for finding answers to complex, abstract questions.

In publica commoda

Mathematical Data Science (B.Sc.)

Fit für das digitale Zeitalter: Im Studiengang „Mathematical Data Science“ erlernen Studierende moderne mathematische und statistische Methoden zur Datenanalyse und Strukturerkennung sowie Handwerkszeug aus der Informatik für ihre Umsetzung in Algorithmen. Absolventinnen und Absolventen können wissenschaftlich mit großen Datenmengen umgehen und sich somit attraktive Berufsmöglichkeiten erschließen.

Name des Studienfachs: Mathematical Data Science (B.Sc.)
Abschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache: Deutsch
Teilzeitstudium möglich

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2018/19:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei Studium International)



Der Studiengang
Im Studiengang Mathematical Data Science lernen die Studierenden Mathematik, Statistik und Informatik. Sie erlangen tiefes Verständnis von Mathematik und deren Methoden zur Analyse und Strukturerkennung in Daten.

Aufbau
Im ersten Jahr des Programms erwerben die Studierenden fundierte mathematische Kenntnisse in den Bereichen „Analysis“ und „Lineare Algebra“ sowie „Informatik“. Im zweiten Jahr werden die Grundlagen im Bereich „Mathematical Data Science” abgedeckt und insbesondere statistische und numerische Methoden behandelt. Im dritten Jahr werden die Studierenden in einem Studienschwerpunkt ihrer Wahl an aktuelle Forschungsthemen herangeführt. In diesem Forschungsschwerpunkt schreiben sie ihre Bachelorarbeit. Mögliche Studienschwerpunkte sind:

  • Optimierung und Bildverarbeitung
  • Mathematische Statistik
  • "Maschinelles Lernen"
  • "Angewandte Statistik und Ökonometrie"


Gemeinsam ist allen diesen Bereichen der souveräne, wissenschaftliche Umgang mit Algorithmen in den Gebieten wie Datenanalyse, Mustererkennung und Visualisierung.

Berufsaussichten
Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Bachelorstudiengangs Mathematical Data Science sind wegen ihrer Fähigkeiten zur Abstraktion, zur Identifizierung von Mustern sowie wegen ihres konzeptionellen, analytischen und logischen Denkvermögens sowohl auf die Anforderungen eines anschließenden Masterstudiums als auch auf die Herausforderungen eines Berufseinstiegs in Kernbereichen des digitalen Zeitalters gut vorbereitet.

Welche Interessen sollten vorhanden sein?
Studieninteressierte sollten Spaß und Interesse an Mathematik und Informatik und daran, kniffligen, abstrakten Fragestellungen auf den Grund zu gehen, mitbringen.