In publica commoda

Global Politics: Structures and Frontieres (M.A.)

The Master of Global Politics: Structures and Frontiers is a two-year professional degree program. The curriculum enables students to analyze political issues comprehensively, systematically, and independently. Students will learn to develop their own research perspectives, and how to present and communicate these effectively. The master's program combines compact, research-oriented modules covering advanced topics in all branches of political science with attractive specializations in particular aspects of global politics.


Name of degree program: Global Politics: Structures and Frontiers (M.A.)
Degree: Master of Arts
Standard period of study: four terms (two years), part-time up to seven terms
Start: winter and summer term
Part-time study is possible
Language of the programm>: German

Admission requirements: Bachelor or comparable degree in political science or a closely related field
Application deadline: May 15th (starting winter term); November 15th (starting summer term)
Lottery procedure: October 1 - 5 (winter semester), April 1 - 5 (summer semester)
Application: Application for Master's degree programmes


The program:
The Master of Global Politics: Structures and Frontiers is a two-year professional degree programme. The curriculum enables students to analyze political issues comprehensively, systematically, and independently. Students will learn to develop their own research perspectives, and how to present and communicate these effectively. The master's programme combines compact, research-oriented modules covering advanced topics in all branches of political science with attractive specializations in particular aspects of global politics.

The programme's main goal is for students to acquire advanced scientific knowledge and the ability to independently design, conduct, and write subject-specific research. Students learn to develop their own perspectives on current political science research, generate original research questions, and appropriately communicate and discuss the results of their work. Throughout the programme, the focus lies on the interplay between structuring and globalizing factors affecting politics today. A compact foundation in the distinct political science disciplines of research logic and design, political theory, international relations, comparative politics, and political system of Germany allows students to later specialize in one of the programme's four focus areas: »Perspectives on German Politics«, »Political Ethics in the Process of Globalization«, »Global and Regional Governance«, and »Democracy and Social Conflict«.



Structure of the master's program
Students have the choice between a degree program focusing exclusively on political science with one of the specializations outlined above, or a program combining political science with another appropriate discipline.

The program has a total of 120 credits, which are distributed as follows:

  1. political science studies 78 C:
    either 78 C (including 30 C in a focus area) oder 42 C when combined with an appropriate non-political science module package of 36 C

  2. key competencies 12 C

  3. master's thesis module 30 C

The master's program is available for part-time study. This is also valid for a combination of political science with another appropriate discipline.


Job perspectives
Students with a degree in Global Politics are qualified for a wide variety of jobs. The program aims to convey political science knowledge in a way that is relevant to its use on the job, and hones key methodical and analytical skills. The following fields of employment are of special interest for those graduating from the program:

  • National and international organizations
  • media, public relations, civic education, adult education
  • politics, public institutions, unions and associations
  • non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and cultural exchange
  • consulting, market research, polling
  • science and science management

  • The master's program also prepares students substantively and methodically for entry into a doctoral study program (Ph.D.).

    Admission requirements
    Bachelor or comparable degree in political science or a closely related field. Should the previous degree not yet be completed, at least 150 credits are required at the time of application:

  • at least 50 C in political science
  • applicants whose native language is not German must show proficiency DSH 2

In publica commoda

Globale Politik: Strukturen und Grenzen (M.A.)

Der Masterstudiengang »Globale Politik: Strukturen und Grenzen« befähigt die Studierenden, politisches Handeln und dessen Ergebnisse in einem umfassenden Sinn, systematisch und eigenständig zu analysieren. Sie lernen, eigene Forschungsperspektiven zu entwickeln und diese wirksam zu präsentieren. Der Masterstudiengang kombiniert eine kompakte und forschungsorientierte Vertiefung aller politikwissenschaftlichen Teildisziplinen mit attraktiven Spezialisierungsmöglichkeiten..


Name des Studienangebots: Globale Politik: Strukturen und Grenzen (M.A.)
Abschluss: Master of Arts
Regelstudienzeit: vier Semester, in Teilzeit bis zu sieben Semester
Studienbeginn: Winter- und Sommersemester
Teilzeitstudium möglich
Unterrichtssprache: Deutsch

Zulassungsbedingungen: Bachelor oder gleichwertiger Abschluss in Politikwissenschaft oder einem eng verwandten Fach, s.u.
Bewerbungsfrist: 15. Mai (Wintersemester); 15. November (Sommersemester)
Losverfahren: 1. Oktober - 5.Oktober (Wintersemester), 1. April - 5. April (Sommersemester)
Bewerbung: Masterbewerbung bei der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät


Der Studiengang
Der Masterstudiengang Globale Politik: Strukturen und Grenzen befähigt die Studierenden, politisches Handeln und dessen Ergebnisse in einem umfassenden Sinn, systematisch und eigenständig zu analysieren. Sie lernen, eigene Forschungsperspektiven zu entwickeln und diese wirksam zu präsentieren. Der Masterstudiengang kombiniert eine kompakte und forschungsorientierte Vertiefung aller politikwissenschaftlichen Teildisziplinen mit attraktiven Spezialisierungsmöglichkeiten.

Ziel des Studiums ist der Erwerb vertiefter wissenschaftlicher Kenntnisse sowie der Befähigung zur selbstständigen fachspezifischen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit. Die Studierenden lernen eigenständig Forschungsperspektiven zu entwickeln, forschungsleitende Fragen zu formulieren und die Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit in angemessener Weise zu präsentieren und zu diskutieren. Dabei steht stets das Wechselspiel von Entgrenzung und Strukturierung von Politik im Mittelpunkt. Eine kompakte Vertiefung in den Bereichen Forschungslogik und -design, Politischer Theorien und Internationalen Beziehungen sowie der Vergleichenden Politikwissenschaft und dem Politischen System der BRD legt die Grundlage für die problemorientierte Spezialisierung in einem der drei Studienschwerpunkten »Perspektiven deutscher Politik«, »Politische Ethik im Globalisierungsprozess«, »Globales und regionales Regieren« oder »Demokratie und gesellschaftliche Konflikte«.

Struktur des Masterstudiengangs
Der Masterstudiengang bietet die Wahl zwischen einem reinen politikwissenschaftlichen Fachstudium mit Spezialisierungsmöglichkeiten oder der Kombination von Politikwissenschaft mit einem anderen Fach. Bitte beachten Sie die Zugangsvoraussetzungen für Modulpakete in der Prüfungsordnung des jeweiligen Faches.

Das Studium umfasst 120 Credits, die sich über 4 Semester folgendermaßen verteilen:
a) auf das Fachstudium 78 C:
im Umfang von 78 C (inklusive 30 C Studienschwerpunkt) oder im Umfang von 42 C in Kombination mit einem zulässigen fachexternen Modulpaket im Umfang von 36 C,
b) auf die Schlüsselkompetenzen 12 C,
c) auf das Masterarbeitmodul 30 C.

Der Master-Studiengang ist teilzeitgeeignet. Dies gilt im Falle eines Fachstudiums in Kombination mit einem zulässigen fachexternen Modulpaket.


Berufsperspektiven
Der Studiengang qualifiziert durch berufsfeldrelevante Vermittlung von fachspezifischem Wissen und methodisch-analytischen Fähigkeiten für die Arbeit als Politikwissenschaftlerin oder Politikwissenschaftler in vielen Tätigkeitsfeldern in öffentlichen und privaten Institutionen:

  • Medien, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, politische Bildung und Erwachsenenbildung;
  • Politik, Verwaltung und Verbände;
  • NGOs und interkultureller Transfer;
  • Beratungsagenturen sowie Markt- und Meinungsforschung;
  • Wissenschaft und Wissenschaftsmanagement.


Darüber hinaus vermittelt das Masterstudium über die fachlichen Kenntnisse hinaus Kompetenzen für die Aufnahme eines Promotionsstudiums

Zulassungsbedingungen
Bachelor oder gleichwertiger Abschluss in Politikwissenschaft oder einem eng verwandten Fach, bei noch nicht abgeschlossenem Studium mind. 150 C zum Bewerbungszeitpunkt

  • mind. 50 C im Fachstudium Politik
  • für BerwerberInnen, deren Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist DSH 2