Institute for Astrophysics
Schrift vergrößern Schrift verkleinernBarrierefreie Version
Search | Deutsch
Logo mit Bild

Institut für Astrophysik
Friedrich-Hund-Platz 1
37077 Göttingen

Fon: +49 (0)551 39-5042
Fax: +49 (0)551 39-5043
Email



News



Job offers



Guided tours



Fundraising

Institute for Astrophysics Göttingen




The Institute for Astrophysics in Göttingen is the only university institute in the state of Lower Saxiona where teaching and research in astronomy and astrophysics is performed. The scientific research areas cover the fields solar physics, stellar astrophysics, galactic and extragalactic astrophysics, and cosmology.



Solar and stellar astrophysics

Omega Centauri

Physics of the interior of the sun and sun-like stars, solar activity, space weather, stellar atmospheres, stellar structure, stability and evolution, pulsating stars, extra-solar planets, activity and magnetic fields in stars, brown dwarfs and planets, theoretical and numerical astrophysics, astrophysical fluid mechanics, physics of accretions discs, late stages of stellar evolution more...



Extragalactic astrophysics and cosmology

Hubble Deep Field Aufnahme

Phenomenology, kinematics and variability of AGN, X-Ray-, radio, IR-, and optical properties of AGN, the first stars and galaxies, formation of supermassive black holes, dwarf galaxies, magnetic fields in the early universe, physics of the early universe, inflation in string theory, primordial fluctuations, cosmological structure formation, computational cosmology more...

Institut für Astrophysik und Geophysik

Das Institut für Astrophysik und Geophysik verbindet in Forschung und Lehre die wissenschaftlichen Themenbereiche der Astrophysik und der Geophysik. Die wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgebiete decken die Bereiche geophysikalische Fluiddynamik, Sonnenphysik, stellare und planetare Astrophysik, sowie galaktische und extragalaktische Astrophysik und Kosmologie ab.


Sonnenphysik, stellare und planetare Astrophysik

Omega Centauri

Physik des Inneren der Sonne und sonnenähnlicher Sterne, Sonnenaktivität und Weltraumwetter, Sternatmosphären, stellare Strukturen, Stabilität und Entwicklung, pulsierende Sterne, extrasolare Planeten, Aktivität und Magnetfelder in Sternen, Braunen Zwergen und Planeten, Theoretische und Numerische Astrophysik, Astrophysikalische Strömungsmechanik, Physik von Akkretionsscheiben, späte Stadien der Sternentwicklung
mehr...



Extragalaktische Astrophysik und Kosmologie

Hubble Deep Field Aufnahme

Phänomenologie, Kinematik und Variabilität von AGN, Röntgen, Radio-, IR- und optische Eigenschaften von AGN, die ersten Sterne und Galaxien, Entstehung supermassereicher Schwarzer Löcher, Zwerggalaxien, Magnetfelder im frühen Universum, Physik des frühen Universums, Inflation in der Stringtheorie, primor-
diale Fluktuationen, kosmologische Strukturentstehung, rechnergestützte Kosmologie
mehr...