Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS)

Prof. Dr. Patrick Eisenlohr


Patrick Eisenlohr heads the research group "Society and Culture in Modern India" at the Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS) in Göttingen. He completed his PhD in anthropology at the University of Chicago in 2001. From 2001 to 2007 he was assistant professor of anthropology at Washington University in St. Louis, he held an appointment as visiting professor at New York University in 2004, and from 2008 to 2014 he was professor of cultural anthropology at Utrecht University.

Patrick Eisenlohr has worked on a range of issues in the anthropology of media, linguistic anthropology and sound studies, especially on the sonic dimensions of religion, media and religion, language, religion, and citizenship, as well as language and diaspora.

Together with other members of the research group "Society and Culture in Modern India" he addresses questions of religious and ethnic diversity in contemporary India and in Indian diasporas, with a particular emphasis on urban contexts and its transnational ramifications. The key themes for the research group are:


  • Media and religion
  • Transregional religious networks
  • Sonic dimensions of religion
  • Religion in the city
  • Language and religion
  • Civic Islam and the public sphere
  • Religion and questions of citizenship in India and Indian diasporas

Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS)

Prof. Dr. Patrick Eisenlohr


Patrick Eisenlohr leitet die Forschungsgruppe "Gesellschaft und Kultur des modernen Indien" des Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS) in Göttingen. Im Jahr 2001 promovierte er im Fach Ethnologie an der University of Chicago. Von 2001 bis 2007 war er assistant professor an der Washington University in St. Louis, im Jahr 2004 war er Gastprofessor an der New York University und von 2008 bis 2014 Professor für Kulturanthropologie an der Universität Utrecht.

Patrick Eisenlohrs Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich der Medienethnologie und linguistischen Ethnologie, sowie im Feld der Sound Studies. Insbesondere die klanglichen Dimensionen von Religion, Religion und Medien, Sprache, Religion und Staatsbürgerschaft, sowie Sprache und Diaspora sind Hauptthemen seiner Arbeit.

Zusammen mit den weiteren Mitgliedern der Forschungsgruppe "Gesellschaft und Kultur des modernen Indien" befasst er sich mit Fragen der religiösen und ethnischen Vielfalt im zeitgenössischen Indien und in der indischen Diaspora. Der Schwerpunkt liegt hier auf urbanen Zusammenhängen und ihren länderübergreifenden Auswirkungen.

Die Schlüsselthemen der Forschungsgruppe sind:


  • Medien und Religion
  • Regionenübergreifende religiöse Netzwerke
  • Klangliche Dimensionen von Religion
  • Religion in der Stadt
  • Sprache und Religion
  • Islam in der Zivilgesellschaft und das Thema der Öffentlichkeit
  • Religion und Fragen von Staatsbürgerschaft in Indien und der indischen Diaspora