Focus "Urban regimes of (post-)migration"

The research projects within this focal point of our laboratory grasp the ambivalences of belonging and differential inclusion, the negotiations in institutions and networks of urban politics as well as the struggles of migration under these circumstances. We analyze techniques and strategies of urban governance and day-to-day practices in different (urban) political fields from the perspective of (post-)migration. This does not only mean, that we focus on the ambivalences of integration discourses and of migration related politics within cities. We also discuss the current fights of urban politics in general (for example the "right to the city"-movement) from the point of racism theory, in terms of social theory and from the perspective of migration. We understand urban politics and the practices of its different areas and fields to be a result of negotiations between different perspectives, practices and institutions of governance and of autonomous movements of migration. The notion of a regime conceptually summarizes these negotiations that consist of discourses, practices, norms and materialities in time and space and allows for all their disruptions, coincidences and synergies.

The access to rights, resources and spaces is not only negotiated at borders but also within territorial borders – in parliaments and at courts, in schools and job centers, in the media and in public debates, in the housing and the labour market. Huge parts of these social regulation systems unfold their effects in cities. For example where (post-)migrants belong is significantly negotiated on the level of towns and communes. It was there that in the post-war Germany of the 1960s the first fights of migration for work and inclusion took place, it was there that the end of the political mantra of Germany as a "non-immigration country" was slowly but successfully established, it was there that the end of exclusions and the rise of the integration paradigm could be observed since the 1990s. The latter comes along with new national-economic impositions and is recently transformed by the model of a "city of diversity". The urban space thus has become a central element of the integration discourse by being a problem indicator as well as a central part of solution strategies. According to a slogan often quoted "integration takes place locally" – a phrase that often indicates, that in problematic urban areas the problems of migrants especially unfold. The strategy of "demanding and encouraging" ("fordern und fördern"), which is coining the newest boost of the integration paradigm, for example is combining the formation of migrant (or "ethnic") economies with spatial control techniques as well as community-oriented responsibilization in urban districts with "specific development needs". They thus often enough lead to the precarity of the so called migrant economies. Other programmes prep students, parents and other so constructed "deficient" subjects in urban districts for their precarious future in the workfare-state.

Within these confusing processes, supposedly clear-cut, national categories of belonging (and exclusion) are more and more differentiated. That is, they are pluralized, localized and fragmented and these new, multi-layered categories can overlap – which brings along new forms of belonging, new and old forms of exclusion or something inbetween, that is able to keep the pressure to adapt or integrate up. The base of these politics and practices is often enough an economistic understanding of urban society and politics. As an effect differences are (in opposition to earlier epoques of the German migration regime) less often essentialized and problematized. But this is only true as long as they can be used positively for the city and urban development. Furthermore within these new developments, (racist) exclusions can be justified for the cause of new urban risk containment. According to that logic, for example, the supposedly infectious language deficiencies of children from migrant area, the supposedly radicalization of muslims in parallel societies or the risk to public order due to so called "poverty migration" of new EU-citizens have to be contained. Exclusions like these remobilize logics of non-belonging to categorize a racialized or culturalized population. Or they function as a credible threat of force and thus mobilize and responsibilize in an environment in which economization (of self, family or community) is the only possibility to integrate.

Research projects within this focus:

Jun Chu
Urban Citizenship in Transformation: Neoliberal Governmentalities and Contested Spaces of Migrant Workers in Hangzhou (China)
In her dissertation Jun Chu investigates how new social spaces of urban citizenship are emerging during the process of rural-urban-migration in contemporary China. Based on her case study of a migrant organisation in Hangzhou, she examines how neoliberal technologies of governing are exercised during the processes in which migrant workers are integrated into the new urban citizen differentially. Furthermore, she explores in what way this framework of inclusion and exclusion is constituted and negotiated through intertwined practices of neoliberal self-governing and evolved "socialist governing at distance" (Ong and Zhang 2008). She also analyzes how a "politics of scale" is exercised, while social spaces of urban citizenship are constantly being redefined by contesting and negotiating the scales of resources, repositioning the actors in the network of urban governance and transnational knowledge reproduction.

Isabel Dean
Good ʻeducation for everyoneʼ? Multiple discrimination in the transition to primary schools in Berlin
Isabel Dean analyses in her PhD-project negotiation processes and dynamics of discrimination in the transition to primary schools in Berlin. Kindergarten and primary schools are – in opposition to polynominal secondary schools – generally said to be educational stages, where all children learn together, that is to say independently of their diverse social and national, ethnical or cultural backgrounds. Nevertheless, there also occur racist and multiple discrimatory routines. Isabel Dean works in her analysis with the concept of the biopolitical assemblage (vgl. Pieper/Panagiotidis/Tsianos 2011). This approach allows her to capture and outline the linked forms of discrimation on different levels. She examines institutional and juridical arrangements and specifications, discursive demands for assimilation, market mechanisms in schooling in the sense of New Public Management, as well as gendered and racialized logics of help and dynamic processes of subjectivation between hegemonial adressing and the desire for different conditions.

Publications:

  • Dean, Isabel (i. Ersch.): Effekte der (Nicht-)Thematisierung von Diskriminierung in nach ,Herkunft‘ getrennten Klassen. In: Susanne Bücken/Rayma P. Cadeau/Paul Mecheril/Bettina Schmidt/Noelia P. Streicher/Astride Velho: Migrationsgesellschaftliche Diskriminierungsverhältnisse als Gegenstand und strukturierende Größe in Bildungssettings.
  • Dean, Isabel (2018): Herstellung von Differenz und Diskriminierung in schulischen Zuordnungspraktiken zur Kategorie nichtdeutsche Herkunftssprache. In: Hanna H. Mai, Thorsten Merl, Maryam Mohseni (Hrsg.): Differenzverhältnisse in der Pädagogik: Machtkritische Perspektiven erziehungswissenschaftlicher Forschung und pädagogischer Praxis. Springer VS, S. 37–53.
  • Dean, Isabel (2017): Zugehörigkeitsdimensionen im racial neoliberalism. ,Gruppenanmeldungen‘ an innerstädtischen Grundschulen in Berlin. In: Johanna Rolshoven/Ingo Schneider (Hrsg.): Dimensionen des Politischen. Ansprüche und Herausforderungen der Empirischen Kulturwissenschaft. Neofelis-Verlag, S. 331–348.
  • Krüger, Jens Oliver/Roch, Anna/Dean, Isabel (2016): Mehrsprachigkeit als Argument? Die Verhandlung von Sprachbezügen im elterlichen Diskurs zur Grundschulwahl in Berlin. In: Zeitschrift für Erziehungswissenschaft, Bd. 19, H. 4, S. 689–704, DOI: 10.1007/s11618-016-0713-3.
  • Roch, Anna/Breidenstein, Georg/Dean, Isabel (2016): Between ‘Enrichment’ and ‘Endangerment’: ‘Cultural Diversity’ and the Politics of Belonging in the Berlin School Choice Discourse, Ethnography and Education, DOI: 10.1080/17457823.2017.1283246.

    • Jana Pasch
      Jana Pasch researches in a comparative study of two inner city red light quarters - namely the Frankfurter Bahnhofsviertel and the Hamburger Reeperbahn - how these get revaluated and gentrified through the touristic element of image on the one hand and how on the other hand aspects of safety and cleanliness take influence on municipal responsibilities and public space. Especially Hamburg with the new Business Improvement District Reeperbahn has created a new type of economic access on public space. To do so, she connects materialistic theories of critical geography with ethnographic methods of fieldwork and analyses new forms of government and neoliberal utilisation strategies as well as discourses about "deviant, dangerous spaces". The conflicts, the resistances but also the disputed practices which come out of it, should take a central position.

Schwerpunkt "Urbane Regime der (Post-)Migration"

Die Forschungsprojekte in diesem Schwerpunkt des Labors untersuchen die Ambivalenzen der Zugehörigkeit und differentiellen Inklusion, die Auseinandersetzungen in den Institutionen und Netzwerken der Stadtpolitik wie auch die Kämpfe der Migration unter diesen Bedingungen. Wir untersuchen Techniken und Strategien urbanen Regierens und alltägliche Praktiken in unterschiedlichen politischen Feldern aus der Perspektive der (Post-)Migration. Das heißt für uns nicht nur, die Ambivalenzen des Integrationsdiskurses und migrationsbezogener Politiken in der Stadt zu fokussieren. Vielmehr gilt es nach wie vor, die Konjunkturen, aber auch die aktuellen Kämpfe der Stadtpolitik im Allgemeinen (bspw. die „Recht auf Stadt“-Bewegung) rassismustheoretisch zu hinterfragen und aus der Perspektive der Migration gesellschaftstheoretisch zu konzeptionalisieren. Wir verstehen städtische Politik und die Praktiken der verschiedenen Felder als Ergebnisse von Aushandlungsprozessen zwischen verschiedenen Perspektiven, Praktiken und Institutionen des Regierens als auch gegenüber autonomem Praktiken der Migration. Das Konzept „Regime” fasst diese Aushandlungsprozesse, welche aus Diskursen, Praktiken, Normen, Materialitäten in Zeit und Raum – mitsamt ihrer Fehler, Zufälle und Synergien – bestehen.

Der Zugang zu Rechten, Ressourcen und Räumen wird nicht nur an, sondern auch innerhalb territorialer Grenzen und über sie hinweg verhandelt – in Parlamenten und Gerichten, in Schulen und Jobcentern, Medien und öffentlichen Debatten, auf Wohnungs- und Arbeitsmärkten. Große Teile dieser gesellschaftlichen Regulationssysteme entfalten ihre Wirkung in Städten. So wird die Praxis der Zugehörigkeit von (Post-)Migrant_innen maßgeblich auf Ebene der Kommunen verhandelt. Hier äußerten sich im Nachkriegs-Deutschland seit den 1960er Jahren die ersten Kämpfe der Migration um Arbeit und Inklusion, hier wurde in den 1970er Jahren das Anfang vom Ende des politischen Mantras des „Nicht-Einwanderungslandes“ eingeläutet, hier ließ sich ab den 1990er Jahren die Transformation der Forderungen nach einem Ende der Ausschlüsse in den Integrationsdiskurs beobachten. Letzterer artikuliert sich mit neuen national-ökonomischen Zumutungen und transformierte sich jüngst unter dem Begriff der gesellschaftlichen „Vielfalt“. Dabei ist der städtische Raum als Problemindikator und gleichzeitig als fester Bestandteil von Lösungsstrategien zum zentralen Element des Integrationsdiskurses geworden. „Integration findet vor Ort statt“, lautet ein viel zitierter Slogan, und häufig wird damit unterstellt, dass sich in den Problemvierteln der Städte besonders die Probleme „der“ (Post-)Migrant_innen entfalteten. Das Programm des „Forderns und Förderns“, das auch die mit dem Zuwanderungsgesetz von 2005 eingeleitete, neueste Konjunktur des Integrationsparadigmas prägt, verknüpft so bspw. Programme zur Existenzgründung, die in die Prekarität sogenannter lokaler, „ethnischer Ökonomien“ führen, mit raumwirksamen Kontrolltechniken und community-orientierten Responsibilisierungstechniken in „Stadtteilen mit besonderem Entwicklungsbedarf“. So bereiten diese „kultur-sensibel“ die Schüler_innen, ihre Eltern und alle anderen als defizitär konstruierten Subjekte in diesen Vierteln auf die prekäre Zukunft im Workfare-Staat vor.

In diesen unübersichtlichen Prozessen werden vermeintlich eindeutige, nationale Kategorien der Zugehörigkeit (und des Ausschlusses) zunehmend ausdifferenziert. Das bedeutet, sie werden pluralisiert, lokalisiert und fragmentiert und diese neuen, vielschichtigen Kategorien können sich überlagern – zu neuen Formen der Zugehörigkeit, zu alten und neuen Ausschlüssen, oder zu etwas dazwischen, was den Anpassungsdruck aufrecht zu erhalten vermag. Denn zugrunde liegt diesen Politiken und Praktiken häufig ein ökonomistisches Verständnis von Stadtgesellschaft und -politik. In dessen Folge werden zwar (im Gegensatz zu früheren Epochen des deutschen Migrationsregimes) Differenzen seltener essentalisiert und problematisiert, aber eben nur so weit, wie sie sich positiv für den Standort oder die Stadtentwicklung in Stellung bringen lassen. (Rassistische) Ausschlüsse lassen sich dann zur Eindämmung neuer urbaner Risiken rechtfertigen, bspw. durch die vermeintlich ansteckenden „Sprachdefizite“ von Kindern aus migrantischen „Problemvierteln“, durch die vermeintliche Radikalisierung von Muslim_innen in den dort wuchernden „Parallelgesellschaften“ oder durch die vermeintlichen Gefahren für die öffentliche Ordnung aufgrund von „Armutsmigration“ neuer „hilfebedürftiger Unionsbürger_innen“. Solche Ausschlüsse reintegrieren dann wahlweise Logiken der (Nicht-)Zugehörigkeit zu einer rassifizierten bzw. kulturalisierten Bevölkerung oder fungieren als Drohkulisse für Techniken der Responsibilisierung, wenn die Ökonomisierung (des Selbst, der Familie oder der Community) als Voraussetzung der „Integration“ gesehen wird.

Forschungsprojekte in diesem Schwerpunkt:

Jun Chu
Urban Citizenship in Transformation: Neoliberale Governmentalitäten und umkämpfte Räume der Migrant Workers in Hangzhou (China)
Mit ihrem Dissertationsthema untersucht Jun Chu, wie neue soziale Räume von Urban Citizenship im Prozess der Land-Stadt-Migration in gegenwärtigem China entstehen. Anhand eines Fallbeispiels einer migrantischen Organisation in Hangzhou, stellt sie die Fragen, inwiefern die neoliberalen Technologien des Regierens im Prozess differenzieller Inklusion der Migrant Workers in die „New Urban Citizen“ funktionieren, und wie dieser Rahmen von Inklusion und Exklusion durch die verflochtenen Praktiken des neoliberalen „Selbst-Regierens“ und des evolvierten „socialist governing at a distance“ (Ong and Zhang 2008) konstituiert und ausgehandelt wird. Weiterhin analysiert sie, wie ein „politics of scale“ ausgeübt wird, während soziale Räume der Urban Citizenship durch Kämpfe und Verhandlungen um die Skalen der Ressourcen, Re-Positionierung der Akteure im Netzwerk der Urban Governance und transnationale Wissensreproduktion ständig redefiniert werden.

Isabel Dean
Gute ,Bildung für alle‘? Mehrfachdiskriminierung im Übergang zu Berliner Grundschulen
In ihrem Promotionsprojekt untersucht Isabel Dean Aushandlungszonen und Diskriminierungsdynamiken im Übergang zur Grundschule in Berlin. Auch wenn Kita und Grundschulkontext – im Unterschied zum mehrgliedrigen Sekundarschulbereich – gemeinhin als Bildungsabschnitte gelten, in denen alle Kinder gemeinsam, also unabhängig von Herkunft und diverser sozialer und natio-ethno-kulturell codierter Hintergründe zusammen lernen, ereignen sich auch hier an verschiedenen neuralgischen Punkten rassistische und (mehrfach-)diskriminierende Routinen. Isabel Dean greift für die Analyse dieser Verhältnisse auf den Ansatz der biopolitischen Assemblage als einem Kräfte- und Aushandlungsraum (vgl. Pieper/Panagiotidis/Tsianos 2011) zurück. Dieser ermöglicht es, miteinander verknüpfte Diskriminierungsformen auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen zu erfassen und darzustellen. Dabei nimmt sie institutionelle und juridische Anordnungen und Vorgaben ebenso wie diskursive Integrationsforderungen, schulische ,Durchmarktung‘ im Sinne eines New Public Management, vergeschlechtlichte und rassifizierte Logiken des Helfens und dynamische Prozesse der Subjektivierung zwischen hegemonialer Anrufung und dem Begehren nach anderen Verhältnissen in den Blick.

Publikationen

  • Dean, Isabel (i. Ersch.): Effekte der (Nicht-)Thematisierung von Diskriminierung in nach ,Herkunft‘ getrennten Klassen. In: Susanne Bücken/Rayma P. Cadeau/Paul Mecheril/Bettina Schmidt/Noelia P. Streicher/Astride Velho: Migrationsgesellschaftliche Diskriminierungsverhältnisse als Gegenstand und strukturierende Größe in Bildungssettings.
  • Dean, Isabel (2018): Herstellung von Differenz und Diskriminierung in schulischen Zuordnungspraktiken zur Kategorie nichtdeutsche Herkunftssprache. In: Hanna H. Mai, Thorsten Merl, Maryam Mohseni (Hrsg.): Differenzverhältnisse in der Pädagogik: Machtkritische Perspektiven erziehungswissenschaftlicher Forschung und pädagogischer Praxis. Springer VS, S. 37–53.
  • Dean, Isabel (2017): Zugehörigkeitsdimensionen im racial neoliberalism. ,Gruppenanmeldungen‘ an innerstädtischen Grundschulen in Berlin. In: Johanna Rolshoven/Ingo Schneider (Hrsg.): Dimensionen des Politischen. Ansprüche und Herausforderungen der Empirischen Kulturwissenschaft. Neofelis-Verlag, S. 331–348.
  • Krüger, Jens Oliver/Roch, Anna/Dean, Isabel (2016): Mehrsprachigkeit als Argument? Die Verhandlung von Sprachbezügen im elterlichen Diskurs zur Grundschulwahl in Berlin. In: Zeitschrift für Erziehungswissenschaft, Bd. 19, H. 4, S. 689–704, DOI: 10.1007/s11618-016-0713-3.
  • Roch, Anna/Breidenstein, Georg/Dean, Isabel (2016): Between ‘Enrichment’ and ‘Endangerment’: ‘Cultural Diversity’ and the Politics of Belonging in the Berlin School Choice Discourse, Ethnography and Education, DOI: 10.1080/17457823.2017.1283246.

    • Jana Pasch
      Verordnetes Erlebnis - Aufwertungskonflikte am Beispiel der Rotlichtviertel des Frankfurter Bahnhofsviertels und der Hamburger Reeperbahn
      Jana Pasch untersucht in einer vergleichenden ethnografischen Studie anhand zweier innenstädtischen „Vergnügungsviertel“ - dem Frankfurter Bahnhofsviertels und der Hamburger Reeperbahn - wie Stadtteile über das touristische Element des Images aufgewertet und wie über die Aspekte Sicherheit und Sauberkeit Einfluss auch auf ehemals städtische Aufgaben und öffentliche Räume genommen wird. Vor allem Hamburg hat dabei mit dem neu eingerichteten Business Improvement District (BID) Reeperbahn eine neue Form des wirtschaftlichen Zugriffs auf öffentliche Räume geschaffen. Mit einer Verbindung von materialistischen Theorien der kritischen Geografie und ethnografischen Methoden der Feldforschung analysiert sie neue Regierungsformen und neoliberale Nutzbarmachungsstrategien sowie Diskurse um „deviante, gefährliche Räume“. Die daraus resultierenden Widerstände, Konflikte aber auch widersprüchlichen Praktiken sollen dabei eine zentrale Stellung erhalten.