Faculty of Business and Economics

Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Global Business

table-layout
The globally focused bilingual master's programme in global business will prepare you for the international working environment in the global economy. You will learn the fundamentals in international business administration and can also choose a speciality area. Due to the required semester abroad component at one of our many international partner universities of the Faculty or University, you an also acquire additional and relevant language skills and international skills. The programme also offers the possibility of completing a double degree with the renowned University of Nanjing, China.

General information

  • The master's degree programme in gobal business is accredited by the Central Evaluation and Accreditation Agency (ZEvA Hannover).
  • The standard period of study is four semesters.
  • Programme languages: German and English (relevant language skills will need to be demonstrated as part of the application process)
  • Students are admitted every winter semester (the programme begins in October)

Aplication deadine

  • Applications are accepted during the call for applications (April 1 - May 15). Please use the online application form which will be available during the call for application period. Prospective applicants from abroad must use the online application form as well. If you have not completed a bachelor's degree at the time of application, you must have obtained at least 150 credit points in a relevant course of study.
  • The online application form as well information on the admissions procedure can be found in the right-hand column by clicking "Application and Admission".


Programme objectives

The internationalization of companies, and increasingly global integration and intensified competitiveness are fundamental developments that determine commerce in the 21st century. Against this background, complex matters facing businesses must be resolved in an increasingly global environment. As a result, special demands are placed on companies and their employees.

The globally oriented bilingual master's programme in global business will prepare you for these new developments and the subsequent international work environments. You will learn the fundamentals in international business administration. Based on the many elective course offerings, you can also select your own topics and develop your own specialty area.

Through the obligatory semester abroad at one of the many international partner universities of the Faculty or the University, you can gain further relevant language and intercultural skills. The programme also offers the possibility of participating in a double degree programme with the renowned University of Nanjing Business School, China. Additional double degree programme options are also underway.

Programme structure

The four-semester-long master's programme in global business requires the completion of 120 credits through the following coursework:

  • Basismodule (mandatory courses): 24 credits
  • Spezialisierungsbereich (specialization): 24 credits
  • Seminar (seminar): 6-12 credits
  • Quantitative Methoden (quantitative methods): 6 credits
  • Volkswirtschaftslehre (economics): 6 credits
  • Wahlbereich (electives): 18-24 credits
  • Masterarbeit (master’s thesis): 30 credits

The English-language mandatory courses should advance and deepen your existing knowledge of information systems; finance, accounting, and taxes; management; and marketing. Moreover, you will develop the fundamentals needed for electives in the specialization component. In this area, students can develop their own focus area (major) in the areas of information systems; finance, accounting, and taxes; management; or marketing to further develop their own academic profile.

The seminar component will cover a specific topic in international business administration. The component quantitative methods prepares students with the skills needed to apply academic research methods in business and economics. In the economics component, students deepen their knowledge of economic issues. For electives, students can take language courses or other courses related to a personal area of specialization in other areas of business and economics, as well as other related fields.

The mandatory and specialization courses as well as the seminars can be found within the content areas of business administration focus areas of finance, accounting and taxes; management; marketing; or information systems. Master's degree students can also request that their concentration area is stated on their master's degree certificate, as long as they completed at least 30 credits in a specific topic.

The programme also requires an obligatory semester abroad at a foreign university (please click here for an overview of our partner universities). While studying abroad, students should complete a total of 30 credits. A minimum of 18 credits must be proven and transferred back to the University of Göttingen. In case of any questions please contact the Study Abroad Advisory Services of the Faculty's Service Centre for Students.

The following illustration provides a schematic overview of the structure of the master's programme in global business:
Schaubild Studienverlauf Master Global Business 800px

The degree programme is structured as follows:
1. Mandatory Courses (24 C)

2. Specialization (24 C)
3. Seminar (6 - 12 C)
4. Quantitative Methods (6 C)
5. Economics (6 C)
6. Electives (18 -24 C)
7. Master's thesis (30 C)

Career perspectives
Graduates of the master's programme in global business are particularly well prepared for a career in multinational corporations, international medium-sized companies, and at international organizations.

Depending on your concentration area, you will be equipped to work in the respective areas in companies and organizations and assume management tasks. Furthermore, you will be prepared for an international academic career.

Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät

‘Master of Science’ (M.Sc.) in Global Business

table-layout
Mit dem international ausgerichteten, zweisprachigen Master-Studiengang Global Business werden Sie optimal auf internationale Arbeitsumfelder der globalen Wirtschaft vorbereitet. Sie erhalten eine fundierte Ausbildung in internationaler Betriebswirtschaftslehre und können darüber hinaus individuelle Schwerpunkte in Ihrem Studium wählen. Durch das obligatorische Auslandssemester an einer der zahlreichen ausländischen Partneruniversitäten der Fakultät oder der Universität erwerben Sie zusätzlich relevante Sprachkenntnisse und interkulturelle Kompetenzen. Der Studiengang bietet zudem die Möglichkeit eines Doppelabschlusses mit der renommierten Universität Nanjing in China.

Allgemeine Informationen

  • Der Master-Studiengang Global Business ist akkreditiert (ZEvA Hannover).
  • Die Regelstudienzeit dieses Studiengangs beträgt vier Semester.
  • Unterrichtssprachen: Deutsch und Englisch
  • Eine Immatrikulation ist zu jedem Wintersemester möglich.
  • Eine Bewerbung für das Wintersemester ist jeweils vom 1. April bis 15. Mai eines Jahres möglich (Studienbeginn: im Oktober desselben Jahres). Bitte benutzen Sie für eine Bewerbung das Online-Bewerbungsformular, das während des Bewerbungszeitraums auf dieser Internetseite freigeschaltet ist. Auch Bewerbungen aus dem Ausland müssen über das Online-Formular erfolgen. Eine Bewerbung zum Master-Studium ist bereits möglich, wenn das Studium zum Bewerbungszeitpunkt noch nicht abgeschlossen ist, aber mindestens 150 Anrechnungspunkte in einem einschlägigen Bachelor-Studiengang erworben worden sind.
    Das Online-Bewerbungsformular und detaillierte Informationen zum Bewerbungs- und Zulassungsverfahren finden Sie unter "Bewerbungs- und Zulassungsverfahren" (siehe rechts).


Zielsetzung des Studiengangs

Die Internationalisierung von Unternehmen, eine zunehmende globale Integration und verstärkte Wettbewerbsintensität sind grundlegende Entwicklungen, die unternehmerisches Handeln im 21. Jahrhundert bestimmen. Vor diesem Hintergrund müssen komplexe betriebswirtschaftliche Fragestellungen zunehmend auch im globalen Kontext gelöst werden. In der Konsequenz werden besondere Anforderungen an Unternehmen und an die bei ihnen Beschäftigten gestellt.

Mit dem international ausgerichteten, zweisprachigen Master-Studiengang Global Business werden Sie optimal auf diese neuen Entwicklungen und daraus resultierenden internationalen Arbeitsumfelder vorbereitet. Sie erhalten eine fundierte Ausbildung in internationaler Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Aufgrund vieler Wahlmöglichkeiten können Sie darüber hinaus eigene Schwerpunkte in Ihrem Studium setzen und ein individuelles Kompetenzprofil entwickeln.

Durch das obligatorische Auslandssemester an einer der zahlreichen ausländischen Partneruniversitäten der Fakultät oder der Universität erwerben Sie zusätzlich relevante Sprachkenntnisse und interkulturelle Kompetenzen. Der Studiengang bietet zudem die Möglichkeit eines Doppelabschlusses mit der renommierten Universität Nanjing in China. Weitere Doppelabschlussprogramme sind geplant.

Struktur des Studiengangs

Die im Masterstudium Global Business in einer Regelstudienzeit von vier Semestern zu erbringenden 120 Credits setzen sich wie folgt zusammen:

  • Basismodule (Mandatory Courses): 24 Credits
  • Spezialisierungsbereich (Specialization): 24 Credits
  • Seminar (Seminar): 6-12 Credits
  • Quantitative Methoden (Quantitative Methods): 6 Credits
  • Volkswirtschaftslehre (Economics): 6 Credits
  • Wahlbereich (Electives): 18-24 Credits
  • Masterarbeit (Master’s Thesis): 30 Credits

Die englischsprachigen Basismodule sollen fortgeschrittene Kenntnisse in den Bereichen "Information Systems", "Finance, Accounting and Taxes", "Management" sowie "Marketing" vermitteln und die bereits in einem ersten Studiengang erworbenen Kenntnisse vertiefen. Sie bilden außerdem die Grundlage für die Wahlpflichtmodule im Spezialisierungsbereich. In diesem Bereich können die Studierenden eigene Schwerpunkte im Studium (Major) in den Bereichen "Information Systems", "Finance, Accounting and Taxes", "Management" oder "Marketing" setzen und dadurch ein eigenes Studienprofil entwickeln.

Im Seminar wird ein spezifisches Themengebiet der internationalen Betriebswirtschaftslehre behandelt. Der Bereich Quantitative Methoden vermittelt Kompetenzen zur Anwendung wissenschaftlicher Methoden der Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Im Bereich Volkswirtschaftslehre vertiefen die Studierenden ihre Kenntnisse im Bereich volkswirtschaftlicher Wirkungszusammenhänge. Im Wahlbereich können Studierende schließlich etwa Module zur studienbegleitenden Fremdsprachenausbildung oder weitere Module zur persönlichen Schwerpunkt- und Profilbildung aus anderen Bereichen der Wirtschaftswissenschaften sowie verwandter Gebiete belegen.

Die Basismodule, der Spezialisierungsbereich sowie das Seminar lassen sich inhaltlich den betriebswirtschaftlichen Schwerpunkten "Finance, Accounting and Taxes"; "Management"; "Marketing" oder "Information Systems" zuordnen. Studierende des Master-Studiengangs können sich daher auf Antrag in ihrem Master-Zeugnis einen Studienschwerpunkt ausweisen lassen, sofern sie 30 Credits aus einem der genannten Schwerpunkte erworben haben.

Der Studiengang sieht ein obligatorisches Auslandssemester an einer ausländischen Universität vor, in dem Leistungen im Umfang von 30 Credits absolviert werden (mind. 18 Credits müssen nachgewiesen und eingebracht werden). Der Auslandsaufenthalt kann an einer der vielen Partneruniversitäten der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät oder der Universität Göttingen verbracht werden. Bei Fragen und zur Antragstellung wenden Sie sich bitte an die Auslandsstudienberatung im Service-Center für Studierende.

Über die Anerkennung der Leistungen, die an der ausländischen Universität erbracht werden, entscheidet der Prüfungsausschuss. Dies muss bereits vor dem Auslandsaufenthalt durch Abschluss eines Lernvertrages ("learning agreement") verbindlich festgeschrieben werden. Nicht bestandene Prüfungsleistungen im Rahmen des Auslandssemesters können an der Universität Göttingen nachgeholt werden.

Die folgende Grafik gibt einen schematischen Überblick über den Aufbau des Masterstudiums:
Schaubild Studienverlauf Master Global Business 800px

Das Master-Studium in Global Business gliedert sich im Einzelnen wie folgt:
1. Basismodule (24 C)

2. Spezialisierungsbereich (24 C)
3. Seminar (6 - 12 C)
4. Quantitative Methoden (6 C)
5. Volkswirtschaftslehre (6 C)
6. Wahlbereich (18 -24 C)
7. Masterarbeit (30 C)

Berufsperspektiven
Als Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Master-Studiengangs Global Business sind Sie insbesondere auf eine Karriere in multinational agierenden Konzernen, international tätigen Mittelständlern und internationalen Organisationen vorbereitet.

Entsprechend Ihrer persönlichen Schwerpunktsetzung im Studium können Sie in den jeweiligen Bereichen von Unternehmen und Organisationen eingesetzt werden und Führungsfunktionen übernehmen. Ferner steht Ihnen natürlich auch eine internationale akademische Karriere offen.