How to Study Abroad


Studying in a different country for one or two semester, among different cultures, and in an international environment. Acquire credits for your degree while improving your language skills and your intercultural competence. Meet other students from all over the world and build your personal network, leave your comfort zone behind and develop both, academically as well as personally. Experience an unforgettable time and meanwhile, gain “that certain something” for your CV that most recruiters are looking for – all of this can be accomplished with an exchange semester!

Please note: Some of the information material is available in German only. If you need more advice or have any questions, please contact the Study Abroad Advisory team! We are happy to supprt you in English in our office hour!




1. Preparation:

  • Visit one of our information events at the beginning of every semester: The events are mainly offered in German.
  • Choose one or more of our partner universities which are interesting for you and your course of study – you can choose individually based on your interests!
  • Pay attention towards the required language certificate for your chosen partner university. Language courses or tests can be taken at the ZESS in Göttingen.
  • Participate in our Exchange@WIWI events and the Study Buddy Programme and get in contact with former outgoing students as well as international exchange students to prepare for your semester abroad.


2. Application:

  • You can apply for three different programs which you can find below. In each programme, it is possible to select a number of universities. Also, you can apply for more than one program at the same time. Please note the different application deadlines for all three programs:

    • Erasmus+: January 31, 2022 for the winter semester 2022/23 and the summer semester 2023
    • Worldwide Program of the Faculty: January 15, 2022 until 3pm for the winter semester 2022/23, June 15, 2022 until 3pm for the summer semester 2023 - application form now online!
    • Global Exchange Programme: December 1, 2021 for the winter semester 2022/23, June 1, 2022 for the summer semester 2023

    You can find more information on our partner universities as well as the required documents for your application when clicking on the three different programs below. The application forms are available in the MoveON portal.

Dein Weg ins Ausland


Ein Semester in einem fremden Land studieren, neue Kulturen und ein internationales Umfeld kennenlernen. Dabei Credits für dein Studium absolvieren, deine Sprachkenntnisse und interkulturelle Kompetenzen direkt mitverbessern und Freundschaften mit Studierenden aus aller Welt schließen. Aus deiner eigenen Komfortzone heraustreten, eine unvergessliche Zeit erleben und gleichzeitig das „gewisse Etwas“ für deinen Lebenslauf mitnehmen, nach dem Personaler suchen – all das bietet ein Auslandssemester während des Studiums!

WiWi Studierende können sich über drei verschiedene Programme für ein Auslandssemester bewerben. Je nach Partneruniversität oder Region, für die du dich interessierst, kannst du dir eins der Programme auswählen oder dich über alle drei Programme bewerben. Wie der Bewerbungsprozess funktioniert, erklären wir dir gerne im Folgenden.



++ Aktuelles: ++ Wir suchen studentische Unterstützung in unserem Erasmus+ Team ab dem WiSe 2022/23!

1. Informieren:

  • Besuche unsere Infoveranstaltung im Wintersemester 2022/23: Der Termin wird Anfang Oktober bekanntgegeben, die Folien aus dem Sommersemester 2023 sind in der rechten Menüspalte verlinkt.
  • Such dir eine oder mehrere passende Partneruniversitäten in unseren Programmen aus und erkundige dich frühzeitig über das geforderte Sprachniveau für deine Wunschuniversität. Sprachtests und -kurse findest du zum Beispiel bei der ZESS!
  • Nimm an unseren Exchange@WIWI Veranstaltungen und dem Study Buddy Programm teil, um dich im Voraus mit ehemaligen Outgoings und internationalen Austauschstudierenden auszutauschen!


2. Bewerben:

  • Du kannst dich über unsere drei unten verlinkten Programme für mehrere Universitäten bewerben. Beachte dabei unbedingt die unterschiedlichen Bewerbungsfristen:

    • Erasmus+: 31. Januar 2022 für das WiSe 2022/23 und das SoSe 2023
    • Weltweites Fakultätsprogramm: 15. Januar 2022 für das Wintersemester 2022/23, 15. Juni 2022 für das Sommersemester 2023, jeweils bis 15 Uhr
    • Global Exchange Programme von Göttingen International: 1. Dezember 2021 für das Wintersemester 2022/23, 1. Juni 2022 für das Sommersemester 2023

  • Die Bewerbung erfolgt über das MoveON Bewerbungsportal. Weitere Informationen zu den Partneruniversitäten sowie zu den benötigten Bewerbungsunterlagen findet ihr detailliert unter dem jeweiligen Programm.