In publica commoda

Biology (B.Sc.)

Features

From A for Anthropology to Z for Zoology:

Studying biology in Göttingen offers insights into the many facets of this subject. You will learn to identify plants, animals and microorganisms, deal with molecular and genetic issues and get to know the chemical building blocks and their biochemical interaction. Already in the first semester you will start with small experiments and finish the study with your own research project. The bachelor's degree qualifies students for national and international master's degree programs with an ecological, biochemical, molecular biological or neurobiological orientation.

Name:
Biologie
Degree:
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Teaching language:
German
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start of studies:
Winter semester
Admission:
restricted admission (application to the University)
Pre-course:
A pre-course is offered
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered

Details

From the physical and chemical processes in the individual cell to complex ecosystems: Biology is the science of living things. It studies its diversity, development, functioning, and the relationship between individual organisms and their environment. The fields of research within biology are thus very diverse.

The German-language course of study is structured in modules. In the first year, an overview of the many biological sub-disciplines is given, as well as the scientific basics in chemistry, mathematics and statistics.

Beginning in the third semester, students become more familiar with six self-selected biological subject areas from a wide range of choices, and these are supplemented with two additional non-biological natural science subjects. This provides a broad range of biological science fundamentals, but allows students to incorporate their own preferences.

In one of these biological subjects an in-depth study is planned in the fifth or sixth semester, in which finally the first small research paper is written with the bachelor thesis.

The bachelor's degree program in Göttingen is characterized by a broad range of biological subject areas and enables students to set individual focal points of interest through many elective options. The subject areas of Bioinformatics, Molecular Biosciences as well as Neurobiology and Behavioral Biology are particularly prominent.

By integrating the compulsory module Scientific English, the program optimally prepares students for a further scientific career and facilitates entry into international Master's programs.

In addition to the university, many scientific centers and research institutions are located in Göttingen and are closely linked to the faculty. Examples are the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, the Max Planck Institute for Experimental Medicine and the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization, as well as the German Primate Center. This offers additional teaching opportunities and a variety of possibilities to conduct optional internships or final theses outside the university.

The main prerequisite is an interest in biology, scientific issues and the enjoyment of practical experiments. In addition, however, general scientific fundamentals, especially in chemistry as well as mathematics and statistics are required. An understanding of biological processes and interrelationships, whether at the macro-, micro- or even molecular-biological level, is hardly possible without a solid knowledge of the other natural sciences. To facilitate the entry into the bachelor's program, preliminary courses in chemistry and mathematics are offered. There, the school material is repeated and there is a first opportunity to get to know future fellow students.

In addition, a good knowledge of English is advantageous at the beginning of the study program, because for the compulsory module Scientific English I an intermediate level II (B2) knowledge of English is required. If these are not yet (completely) available, the missing knowledge can also be made up during the studies.

The curse and blessing of biology is the multitude of possible fields of work, which depend not least on the chosen specialist focus. Many biologists not only work in "classic" research positions at universities and in industry, but also in many other areas for which biological knowledge is necessary. The Association of Biology mentions here, for example, production, quality control, marketing and sales, patenting, management and in-house environmental protection as well as consulting, public relations and information management. Our website offers a collection of links to possible occupational fields under "Occupational profiles in biology".

Even though the three-year "Bachelor" is formally the first academic degree qualifying for a profession, a subsequent two-year Master's degree is often indispensable in the biological sciences. In this context, the bachelor's degree in biology as an undergraduate program is more about a broad education than about early specialization - this usually takes place only through the choice of a specialized master's program. Furthermore, for a path into science, the doctorate is the third step of academic education.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Programme structure

Module directory

Regulations


Admission

Start:
Winter and summer semester
1st subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Citizen from an EU country (including Germany and EEA) or holding a German university entrance qualification

Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Impressions

Virtual study orientation

We want to help you decide whether studying a biological program at the University of Göttingen meets your expectations and wishes.

We have introduced the Virtual Study Orientation to give you a targeted insight into the study programs of the Faculty of Biology and Psychology. This will give you a picture of the prerequisites and focal points of the different courses of study and enable you to find your corresponding desired course of study.

more...

"By studying biology, my curiosity is finally satisfied."

Clemens studied biology in Göttingen in the bachelor's program from the winter semester 2018 to the summer semester 2021. After graduation, he stayed in Göttingen and is now studying the master's program Developmental, Neural and Behavioral Biology (DNB).

more...

"Organismics and Ecology blew me away."

Lara studied biology in the Bachelor's program from the winter semester 2018 to the summer semester 2022. She will study the master's program Biodiversity, Ecology and Evolution (BEE) in Göttingen from October 2022.

more...

"After studying biology, I can make a difference in areas that are important to me."

Kathi studied the bachelor's program in biology from October 2018 to September 2021. After that, she stayed in Göttingen and started the Master's program Microbiology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology (MBB) in the winter semester 2021.

more...

"The degree program is really super variable."

Vera started her biology bachelor's degree in October 2018 and graduated in the summer semester of 2022. After that, she will stay in and study the new master's program Computational Biology and Bioinformatics (CBB) there from the winter semester 2022.

more...

Contact

Academic Advising

Dipl.-Biol. Anna Zipp

Wilhelm-Weber-Str. 2
DE-37073 Göttingen

studienberatung@biologie.uni-goettingen.de

Office hours

Programme homepage

In publica commoda

Biologie (B.Sc.)

Steckbrief

Von A wie Anthropologie bis Z wie Zellbiologie:

Das Biologiestudium in Göttingen bietet Einblicke in die vielfältigen Facetten dieses Faches. Sie lernen Pflanzen, Tiere und Mikroorganismen bestimmen, beschäftigen sich mit molekularen und genetischen Fragestellungen und lernen die chemischen Bausteine und ihr biochemisches Zusammenwirken kennen. Schon im ersten Semester beginnen Sie mit kleinen Experimenten und schließen das Studium mit einem eigenen Forschungsprojekt ab. Der Bachelor qualifiziert für nationale und internationale Masterstudiengänge mit ökologischer, biochemischer, molekularbiologischer oder neurobiologischer Ausrichtung.

Name:
Biologie
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Zulassung:
Zulassungsbeschränkt
(Bewerbung bei der Universität)
Vorkurs:
Es wird ein Vorkurs angeboten
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Es werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Lernen Sie uns kennen


Inhalte

Von den physikalischen und chemischen Vorgängen in der einzelnen Zelle bis hin zu komplexen Ökosystemen: Die Biologie ist die Wissenschaft des Lebendigen. Dabei wird dessen Vielfalt, Entwicklung, Funktionsweise sowie die Beziehung zwischen einzelnen Organismen untereinander und ihrer Umwelt untersucht. Die Forschungsfelder innerhalb der Biologie sind somit sehr vielfältig.

Der deutschsprachige Studiengang ist modular strukturiert. Im ersten Jahr wird ein Überblick über die vielen biologischen Teildisziplinen gegeben, sowie die naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen in Chemie, Mathematik und Statistik vermittelt.

Ab dem dritten Semester werden aus einem breiten Angebot sechs selbst gewählte biologische Fachbereiche näher kennen gelernt und mit zwei weiteren nichtbiologischen naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern ergänzt. Dadurch wird eine breite Palette an biowissenschaftlichen Grundlagen erhalten, es können jedoch auch eigene Vorlieben mit einfließen.

In einem dieser biologischen Fächer ist im fünften oder sechsten Semester eine Vertiefung vorgesehen, in dem schließlich auch mit der Bachelorarbeit die erste kleine Forschungsarbeit geschrieben wird.

Der Göttinger Bachelorstudiengang ist durch ein breites Angebot biologischer Fachbereiche gekennzeichnet und ermöglicht es, durch viele Wahlmöglichkeiten individuelle Interessensschwerpunkte zu setzen. Dabei sind die Fachbereiche Bioinformatik, Molekulare Biowissenschaften sowie Neuro- und Verhaltensbiologie besonders ausgeprägt.

Durch die Integration des Pflichtmoduls Scientific English bereitet der Studiengang optimal auf eine weitere wissenschaftliche Laufbahn vor und erleichtert den Einstieg in internationale Masterprogramme.

Neben der Universität sind in Göttingen viele wissenschaftliche Zentren und Forschungseinrichtungen angesiedelt und eng mit der Fakultät verbunden. Beispiele sind das Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, das Max-Planck-Institut für experimentelle Medizin und das Max-Planck-Institut für Dynamik und Selbstorganisation, sowie das Deutsche Primatenzentrum. Dadurch bieten sich zusätzliche Angebote in der Lehre und vielfältige Möglichkeiten, fakultative Praktika oder Abschlussarbeiten auch außerhalb der Universität durchzuführen.

Die Hauptvoraussetzung ist das Interesse an Biologie, naturwissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen und die Freude an praktischen Experimenten. Daneben werden allerdings auch allgemeine naturwissenschaftliche Grundlagen, insbesondere in Chemie sowie Mathematik und Statistik benötigt. Ein Verständnis der biologischen Prozesse und Zusammenhänge, sei es auf makro-, mikro- oder auch molekularbiologischer Ebene ist ohne solide Kenntnisse der anderen Naturwissenschaften kaum möglich. Um den Einstieg in das Bachelorstudium zu erleichtern, werden Vorkurse in Chemie und Mathematik angeboten. Dort wird der Schulstoff wiederholt und es gibt eine erste Möglichkeit, zukünftige Mitstudierende kennenzulernen.

Zudem sind gute Englischkenntnisse zu Studienbeginn von Vorteil, denn für das Pflichtmodul Scientific English I werden Englischkenntnisse der Mittelstufe II (B2) benötigt. Sollten diese noch nicht (ganz) vorhanden sein, können die fehlenden Kenntnisse auch während des Studiums nachgeholt werden.

Fluch und Segen der Biologie ist die Vielzahl möglicher Arbeitsgebiete, die nicht zuletzt vom gewählten fachlichen Schwerpunkt abhängen. Dabei arbeiten viele Biologinnen und Biologen nicht nur „klassisch“ in Forschungspositionen an Hochschulen und der Industrie, sondern auch in vielen anderen Bereichen, für die biologische Kenntnisse notwendig sind. Der Verband der Biologie nennt hier beispielsweise Produktion, Qualitätskontrolle, Marketing und Vertrieb, Patentwesen, Management und innerbetrieblicher Umweltschutz ebenso wie Beratung, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Informationsmanagement. Eine Linksammlung zu möglichen Berufsfeldern bietet unsere Webseite unter „Berufsbilder in der Biologie“.

Auch wenn der dreijährige „Bachelor“ formal den ersten akademischen berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss darstellt, ist in den Biowissenschaften ein anschließendes zweijähriges Masterstudium vielfach unverzichtbar. Dabei geht es im Bachelor Biologie als grundständigem Studiengang eher um eine breite Ausbildung als um eine frühe Spezialisierung – diese erfolgt meist erst durch die Wahl eines spezialisierten Masterprogramms. Darüber hinaus ist für einen Weg in die Wissenschaft die Promotion der dritte Schritt der akademischen Ausbildung.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Modulbeschreibungen

Ordnungen


Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Einblicke

Virtuelle Studienorientierung

Wir wollen Ihnen eine Hilfestellung bei der Entscheidung geben, ob das Studium eines biologischen Studiengangs an der Universität Göttingen Ihren Vorstellungen und Wünschen entspricht.

Wir haben die Virtuelle Studienorientierung eingeführt, um Ihnen einen gezielten Einblick in die Studiengänge der Fakultät für Biologie und Psychologie zu vermitteln. So erhalten Sie ein Bild über die Voraussetzungen und Schwerpunkte der unterschiedlichen Studiengänge und können Ihren entsprechenden Wunschstudiengang finden.

mehr...

"Durch das Biologie-Studium wird meine Neugier endlich gestillt."

Clemens hat vom Wintersemester 2018 bis zum Sommersemester 2021 Biologie im Bachelor studiert. Nach seinem Abschluss ist er in Göttingen geblieben und studiert nun den Master-Studiengang Developmental, Neural and Behavioral Biology (DNB).

mehr...

"Organismik und Ökologie haben mich vom Hocker gehauen."

Lara hat vom Wintersemester 2018 bis zum Sommersemester 2022 Biologie im Bachelor studiert. Sie studiert seit Oktober 2022 den Master-Studiengang Biodiversity, Ecology and Evolution (BEE) in Göttingen.

mehr...

"Nach einem Biostudium kann ich in Bereichen etwas verändern, die mir wichtig sind."

Kathi hat den Bachelorstudiengang Biologie von Oktober 2018 bis September 2021 studiert. Danach ist sie in Göttingen geblieben und hat zum Wintersemester 2021 den Masterstudiengang Microbiology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology (MBB) aufgenommen.

mehr...

"Der Studiengang ist wirklich super variabel."

Vera hat im Oktober 2018 ihren Biologie-Bachelor begonnen und im Sommersemester 2022 abgeschlossen. Danach bleibt sie in Götttingen und studiert dort seit dem Wintersemester 2022 den neuen Masterstudiengang Computational Biology and Bioinformatics (CBB).

mehr...

Kontakt

Fachberatung

Dipl.-Biol. Anna Zipp

Wilhelm-Weber-Str. 2
37073 Göttingen

studienberatung@biologie.uni-goettingen.de

Sprechzeiten

Homepage des Studiengangs