Certificate Digital Humanities (24C module package) for all BA and MA programs

What does the Digital Humanities Certificate convey?

Would you like to benefit from the advantages of digitisation and are you interested in the humanities working with computational methods? We provide you with an overview of the topics, research questions, methods and tools of Digital Humanities. In doing so, you will practice getting quickly acquainted with foreign software structures and how to apply these tools in your own small research project.

What additional benefits does the Digital Humanities Certificate offer?

Our courses offer basic digital skills that are increasingly in demand in all occupational fields within and outside science. The certificate documents the acquired digital skills for future employers and can thus be a trailblazer for your career entry.
In addition, the solution orientation of the tasks should increase your creativity, flexibility and versatility.

In the event of a change of subject, the credits acquired in the certificate can be credited to the BA and MA Digital Humanities study program.

How is the certificate program Digital Humanities structured?

The certificate consists of an introductory module (6C), two to three elective modules (12C) and a project module (6C), which can be taken in several semesters. Start with a key competency module, as a taster course. It will be credited to the certificate.
Therefore, you can complete the certificate within the framework of the key competence/optional area or as a voluntary additional benefit.

Click here for the current teaching program.

Who is addressed?

The certificate study in the area of ​​key competences, which is aimed at students of the Philosophical, Theological and Social Sciences faculty and at all people interested in humanities issues studying at the Georg-August-Universität. The certificate can be completed both at Bachelor's and Master's level.

The acquisition of a certificate is a good idea if you want to engage more intensively with the Digital Humanities, i.e. if you are looking for a practical "education" in digital language, literature and cultural assets, in order to gain in-depth knowledge of the use of computers in the humanities and to be able to apply your digital skills as a matter of course.

How can you sign in?

Please register to every module or course using FlexNow.

How do I get the certificate?

If you can prove at least 24C "Digital Humanities", we will issue you the certificate "Digital Humanities" in paper form. It will be presented to you at the end of the semester. The prerequisite is that you have successfully completed the introductory module and a practical module.


- Examination Regulations (available soon)

- Module Handbook (coming soon)

Zertifikat Digital Humanities (24C Modulpaket) für alle BA- und MA-Studiengänge

Was vermittelt das Zertifikat Digital Humanities?


Sie möchten die Vorteile der Digitalisierung nutzen und haben Interesse an den Digitalen Geisteswissenschaften? Bei uns erhalten Sie einen Überblick über die Themen, Forschungsfragen, Methoden und Tools der Digital Humanities. Dabei üben Sie, sich schnell in fremde Softwarestrukturen einzuarbeiten und in einem eigenen kleinen Forschungsprojekt anzuwenden.

Welche zusätzlichen Vorteile bietet das Zertifikat Digital Humanities?

Unsere Studienangebote vermitteln grundlegende digitale Kompetenzen, die zunehmend in allen Berufsfeldern innerhalb und außerhalb der Wissenschaft nachgefragt werden. Das Zertifikat dokumentiert die erworbenen digitalen Kompetenzen auch für zukünftige Arbeitgeberinnen und Arbeitgeber und kann so Wegbereiter für den Berufseinstieg sein.
Die Lösungsorientierung der gestellten Aufgaben soll überdies Ihre Kreativität, Flexibilität und Vielseitigkeit erhöhen.

Bei einem Studienfachwechsel lassen sich die im Zertifikat erworbenen Credits auf den BA- und MA-Studiengang Digital Humanities anrechnen.

Wie ist das Zertifikatsprogramm Digital Humanities aufgebaut?

Das Zertifikat besteht aus einem Pflichtmodul (6C), zwei bis drei Wahlpflichtmodulen (12C) und einem Projektmodul (6C), die in mehreren Semestern belegt werden können. Beginnen Sie doch einfach erst einmal mit einem Schlüsselkompetenzmodul, gewissermaßen als Schnupperkurs. Es wird Ihnen aufs Zertifikat angerechnet werden.
Denn das Zertifikat können Sie im Rahmen des Schlüssel­kompetenz­bereichs/Optional­bereichs oder als freiwillige Zusatzleistung absolvieren.

Hier geht es zum aktuellen Lehrprogramm.

Wer ist angesprochen?

Das auf mindestens zwei Semester ausgerichtete Zertifikatsstudium im Bereich der Schlüsselkompetenzen richtet sich an Studierende der Philosophischen, Theologischen und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät und an alle Studierenden der Georg-August-Universität, die an geisteswissenschaftlichen Fragen interessiert sind. Es kann sowohl auf Bachelor- als auch auf Masterniveau absolviert werden.
Der Erwerb eines Zertifikats bietet sich an, wenn Sie sich intensiver mit den Digital Humanities beschäftigen möchten, also gewissermaßen eine praktische „Ausbildung“ in digitaler Sprache, Literatur und Kulturgut anstreben, um am Ende über fundierte Kenntnisse zum Computereinsatz in den Geisteswissenschaften zu verfügen und um ihre digitalen Kompetenzen ganz selbstverständlich anwenden zu können.

Wie kann man sich anmelden?

Der Beginn der Ausbildung zum Erwerb des Zertifikats "Digital Humanities" ist zu jedem Semester möglich. Die An- bzw. Abmeldung zu bzw. von einem Modul bzw. einer Lehrveranstaltung erfolgt auf elektronischem Wege in FlexNow.

Wie erhalte ich das Zertifkat?

Wenn Sie mindestens 24C "Digital Humanities" nachweisen können, stellen wir Ihnen das Zertifikat "Digital Humanities" in Papierform aus. Es wird Ihnen am Ende des Semesters in feierlicher Form überreicht. Voraussetzung ist, dass Sie das Einführungsmodul und ein Praxismodul erfolgreich absolviert haben.


- Prüfungsordnung (in Kürze verfügbar)

- Modulhandbuch (in Kürze verfügbar)