Mission Statement for Teaching and Learning at the Faculty of Business and Economics of the University of Göttingen

As an internationally renowned research institution, the University of Göttingen is guided by the ideals and educational concept of the Enlightenment. The Faculty of Business and Economics defines this mission statement for teaching and learning through the orientation of its research and teaching towards the basic idea of responsible innovation. This refers to enlightened, responsible innovation activities of individuals or organisations. In order to optimally prepare our students to become involved in the process of responsible innovation, our teaching is based on the following pillars:





Research Orientation
We consistently focus our teaching on excellent scientific research at our faculty and increasingly actively involve students in research from bachelor programmes to doctoral studies. Research and performance-oriented studies prepare students for the process of lifelong learning as well as for activities in science and practice.

Sustainability
Our teaching is based on the fundamental conviction that our society must focus on sustainable development. Accordingly, we take economic, ecological and social content into account in our courses and thus support students in their development into responsible and critically thinking people.

Digitisation
We take digitisation into account in the three areas of teaching content, teaching methods and teaching organisation. Accordingly, digitisation is an important content of our teaching because it poses serious challenges for our economy. Furthermore, we use digitisation to develop new teaching and learning methods, such as digital learning platforms, and to improve and simplify the organisation of studies.

Internationality
Our programmes are internationally oriented and offer our students an extensive range of courses in English. Thanks to numerous partner universities, our students can spend exchange semesters all over the world. Foreign language courses and special events to impart intercultural skills prepare students for life in an international environment.

Diversity Orientation
An open and appreciative attitude to life is indispensable in modern and diverse societies. We therefore support students in the development of open-minded attitudes and ways of thinking. We perceive different perspectives as enriching elements. We take the diversity of our students into account through targeted teaching and support offerings.

Cooperation & Communication
Our teaching method is characterised by a cooperative and communicative atmosphere among teachers and students. This includes respectful interaction, mutual commitment, constructive feedback and the identification of opportunities for improvement. We support the students in achieving their learning goals through a motivational teaching approach.

Service Orientation
Our students benefit from our comprehensive and reliable Student Advisory Service. Its employees are qualified contact persons for all questions and concerns students may have concerning their studies. In addition, the members of the student council make an important contribution to supporting teaching at the faculty through a variety of activities as well as advisory and information services.


The close proximity of the Faculty of Business and Economics to other faculties on campus and the close cooperation between the University and other scientific organisations in the university town of Göttingen create a special Göttingen spirit that makes studying at the Faculty of Business and Economics a special and formative experience for our students.

Leitbild für das Lehren und Lernen an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät

Als forschungsstarke, international renommierte Universität orientiert sich die Georg-August-Universität Göttingen an den Idealen und dem Bildungsbegriff der Aufklärung. Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät konkretisiert dieses universitäre Leitbild für das Lehren und Lernen durch die einheitliche Ausrichtung ihrer Forschung und Lehre auf die Grundidee der Responsible Innovation. Wir verstehen hierunter eine aufgeklärte, verantwortungsbewusste Innovationstätigkeit von Individuen oder Organisationen. Um unsere Studierenden optimal darauf vorzubereiten, sich in den Prozess der Responsible Innovation einzubringen, basiert unsere Lehre auf den folgenden Grundpfeilern:





Forschungsorientierung
Unsere Lehre richten wir konsequent auf die exzellente wissenschaftliche Forschung an unserer Fakultät aus und ziehen die Studierenden vom Bachelor- bis hin zum Promotionsstudium zunehmend aktiv in die Forschung ein. Durch das forschungs- und zugleich leistungsorientierte Studium werden die Studierenden auf den Prozess des lebenslangen Lernens sowie auf Tätigkeiten in Wissenschaft und Praxis vorbereitet.

Nachhaltigkeitsorientierung
Unsere Lehre orientiert sich an der Grundüberzeugung, dass sich unsere Gesellschaft auf eine nachhaltige Entwicklung ausrichten muss. Dementsprechend berücksichtigen wir ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Inhalte in unseren Lehrveranstaltungen und unterstützen die Studierenden dadurch in ihrer Entwicklung zu verantwortungsbewussten und kritisch denkenden Menschen.

Digitalisierung
Die Digitalisierung berücksichtigen wir in den drei Bereichen Lehrinhalte, Lehrmethoden und Lehrorganisation. Demnach ist die Digitalisierung ein wichtiger Inhalt unserer Lehre, weil mit ihr gravierende Herausforderungen für unsere Wirtschaft verbunden sind. Darüber hinaus nutzen wir die Digitalisierung zur Entwicklung neuer Lehr- und Lernmethoden, wie bspw. digitale Lernplattformen, sowie zur Verbesserung und Vereinfachung der Studienorganisation.

Internationalität
Unsere Studiengänge sind international ausgerichtet und bieten unseren Studierenden ein umfangreiches englischsprachiges Lehr- und Studienangebot. Dank zahlreicher Partneruniversitäten können unsere Studierenden Austauschsemester in der ganzen Welt verbringen. Fremdsprachenkurse und spezielle Veranstaltungen zur Vermittlung interkultureller Kompetenzen bereiten die Studierenden auf das Leben in einem internationalen Umfeld vor.

Diversitätsorientierung
Eine offene und wertschätzende Lebenseinstellung ist in modernen und diversen Gesellschaften unverzichtbar. Wir unterstützen die Studierenden deshalb in der Entwicklung weltoffener Haltungen und Denkweisen. Unterschiedliche Perspektiven nehmen wir als bereichernde Elemente wahr. Durch spezifische Lehr- und Unterstützungsangebote tragen wir der Diversität unserer Studierenden Rechnung.

Kooperation und Kommunikation
Ein kooperativer und kommunikativer Stil zwischen Lehrenden und Studierenden kennzeichnet unsere Lehre. Dazu gehört ein gegenseitiger respektvoller Umgang, beidseitiges Engagement, konstruktives Feedback und das Aufzeigen von Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten. Wir unterstützen die Studierenden durch eine motivierend gestaltete Lehre beim Erreichen ihrer Lernziele.

Serviceorientierung
Unsere Studierenden profitieren von einem umfangreichen und verbindlichen Beratungsangebot unseres Service-Centers. Die Mitarbeiter*innen sind kompetente Ansprechpartner*innen bei allen Fragen und Anliegen der Studierenden rund ums Studium. Darüber hinaus leisten die Mitglieder der studentischen Fachschaft durch vielfältige Aktivitäten sowie Beratungs- und Informationsangebote einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Unterstützung der Lehre an der Fakultät.

Die räumliche Nähe der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät zu anderen Fakultäten auf dem Campus sowie die enge Kooperation zwischen der Universität und anderen wissenschaftlichen Organisationen in der Universitätsstadt Göttingen lässt einen besonderen Göttingen Spirit entstehen, der das Studium an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät zu einem besonderen und prägenden Erlebnis für unsere Studierenden macht.