In publica commoda

Archaeology of the Greco-Roman and Byzantine World (B.A.) (two subjects)

Features

In the Bachelor's subject "Archaeology of the Greco-Roman and Byzantine World", students acquire broad knowledge of the art and cultural history of the Greek, Roman and Byzantine world. Their contacts with neighbouring cultures are also examined. In doing so, the students acquire the ability to work independently in a scientific manner.

The subject provides in particular an overview of:

  • the most important epochs & geographical units of the Greco-Roman and Byzantine world,
  • their central monumental genres (sculpture, ceramics, architecture, mosaic, mural painting),
  • their functional contexts (city, country, environment, house, sanctuary, tomb),
  • Representational content and iconography (mythology, gods, figures of the Christian religion, historical persons and events).

Classical archaeology, Christian archaeology and Byzantine art history are cultural and visual sciences. At the end of the degree programme, graduates should understand and be able to apply the basic subject-specific methods and theoretical approaches. They should also have a command of the specialised terminology.

The subject teaches analytical skills in dealing with archaeological finds and pictorial works. Students learn visual skills and gain an awareness of the medial properties of historical sources. However, students also acquire practical skills and competences that can be used in a variety of ways: e.g. researching information, presenting arguments and results, self-organisation and experience abroad.

Programme:
Archaeology of the Greco-Roman and Byzantine World
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
open
(enrolment without previous application)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered

Get to know us

Programme specific #followme promos
Cross-programme Schnupperstudium
from end

Trial study programme

Visit lectures and courses


Details

They are introduced to Greek, Roman and Byzantine culture and ancient history through introductory lectures and tutorials. The degree programme takes into account the current academic trend towards cultural anthropological questions and interdisciplinary field research. This is achieved by means of integrative cultural-comparative courses in cooperation with neighbouring disciplines as well as high practical components. You can take internal and external practical courses, for example in excavation technology, surveying technology, drawing and photographic object documentation, digital image processing, ceramic analysis and restoration, moulding techniques, museology, monument preservation, archaeological science journalism with the corresponding career-qualifying perspectives.

Examination results are usually achieved by giving presentations and writing assignments. In this way, you will thoroughly learn how to work scientifically and acquire numerous additional competences:

  • Targeted research of information,
  • Evaluation of the information and argumentation based on it,
  • Presentation of the results achieved, i.e. the ability to express oneself verbally, visually and in writing.

The Archaeological Institute's networks at home and abroad allow you mobility (e.g. Erasmus) already in the Bachelor's programme.

In addition, the students are thus well prepared for writing their final thesis and actively shape their courses through the presentations.

Basically, two subjects are combined in one degree programme! "Classical Archaeology" deals with earlier antiquity, "Christian Archaeology/Byzantine Art History" with later antiquity. They therefore build on each other. The Bachelor's degree programme makes use of the common methodological foundations as well as overlaps in content. In addition, students gain an insight into the various research foci of the lecturers (e.g. political and religious iconography, stylistic analysis, cultural contacts, gender, architecture, landscape, liturgy).

The Archaeological Institute in Göttingen offers you excellent libraries and, above all, 250-year-old collections of ancient originals, casts of ancient sculptures and coins. They are continuously used in the courses. Already in early semesters, students come into direct contact with archaeological material. The institute's restoration workshop offers students important practice. There are cooperations with the museums in Kassel, Hanover and Frankfurt. Internships can be completed there during the practical part of the programme. Numerous field research projects in Italy, Greece and Spain also offer favourable conditions for quickly gaining practical archaeological experience.

The multifaceted study of archaeology in Göttingen creates the best opportunities for training and research, especially in the fields of ancient sculpture and iconography, architecture, historical regional studies, numismatics and the reception of antiquity.

No Latinum or Graecum is required for the Bachelor's programme. However, the multilingual nature of the subject-specific academic literature requires students to have reading skills in more than one European language, of course: English. Knowledge of French, Italian, Spanish or Modern Greek may also be required. But these are not formally tested!

For students who, after successful completion of the BA, intend to pursue a Master's degree in "Classical Archaeology" or "Archaeology and Art History of the Late Antique and Byzantine World", it is worthwhile to acquire basic knowledge of the ancient languages (Latin and Greek) and the above-mentioned modern languages through courses offered by the University. These achievements can be credited in the professionalization and key competencies area. At the same time, the language skills can promote the international orientation and intercultural competences of the students.

The choice of a second subject can generally be freely made. Students whose occupational goals lie in the narrower area of the Science of Antiquity and are striving for admission to a Master's programme are suggested to select the subjects and modules in the area of professionalisation from The Science of Antiquity, Art History or other Cultural Sciences (such as Ethnology, Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology).

The acquisition of knowledge in Latin and Greek in the area of professionalisation (9 credits each) is considered to be an in-depth scientific profile as part of archaeological advanced studies.

The programme conveys knowledge as well as methodical and practical skills, enabling graduates to qualify for occupations in the fields of youth and adult education, culture management, tourism, publishing houses, the press, new media, diplomatic institutions, international organisations, etc. Graduates also have the possibility to continue their studies in a Master's programme to prepare themselves for a scientific career path in fields related to museums, the conservation of ancient monuments, universities as well as non-university research institutions.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

The Bachelor's program "Archaeology of the Classical and Byzantine World" (66 credits) is a joint study program carried out by the subjects Classical Archaeology and Christian Archaeology and Byzantine Art History. Modules 201 and 203 of the introductory phase provide basic knowledge of the two disciplines and offer orientation for the coming semesters. Beginning in the second semester, you will choose your concentration in one of the two subjects and complete the concentration modules (202-1 and 204a-207a for Classical Archaeology, 202-2 and 204-207b for Christian Archaeology and Byzantine Art History). Included there are practical exercises and field trips. In addition, there are supplementary offerings for the key competency and professionalization area, where credit can also be earned for participation in our research projects and internships. In the sixth semester, you then complete your studies with the bachelor's thesis.

    Overview of the type and scope of the compulsory and elective compulsory modules to be taken:
  • Module 201 (compulsory module): Introduction to the archaeology of the Greek, Roman and Byzantine world (12C / 8 SWS)
  • Module 203 (compulsory module): (6/4)
  • Module 202-1 or 202-2 (compulsory elective): Working methods of Classical Archaeology (12/8) or Working methods of Late Antiquity and Byzantine Archaeology and Art History (12/8)
  • Module 204a/b (Focus Module): Contexts (9/6)
  • Module 205a/b (Focus Module): Genres, epochs, regions - classification (9/6)
  • Module 206a/b (Focus Module): Genres, Epochs, Regions - Interpretation (9/6)
  • Module 207a/b (Focus Module): Analysis and Interpretation (9/6)

Regulations and module directory


Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Our Campus


Your Studies


Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Academic Advising

Prof. Dr. Johannes Bergemann

Archaeological Institute and collection of plaster casts

Nikolausberger Weg 15
Room
D-37073 Göttingen

Phone: (0551) 39-27502

E-Mail: jbergem@uni-goettingen.de

Classical Archaeology

Dr. Daniel Graepler
Phone: +49-551 39 7497

dgraepl@gwdg.de

Homepage

Christian Archaeology

Prof. A. Arbeiter
Phone: +49-551 39 7470

aarbeit@gwdg.de

Homepage

In publica commoda

Archäologie der Griechischen, Römischen und Byzantinischen Welt (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Steckbrief

Im Bachelor-Fach „Archäologie der griechischen, römischen und byzantinischen Welt“ erarbeiten sich die Studierenden breite Kenntnisse der Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte der griechischen, römischen und byzantinischen Welt. Auch deren Kontakte mit den Nachbarkulturen werden untersucht. Die Studierenden erwerben dabei die Fähigkeit zum selbstständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten.

Das Studium verschafft insbesondere einen Überblick über:

  • die wichtigsten Epochen & geographischen Einheiten der griechischen, römischen & byzantinischen Welt,
  • deren zentrale Denkmälergattungen (Skultpur, Keramik, Architektur, Mosaik, Wandmalerei),
  • ihre funktionalen Kontexte (Stadt, Land, Umwelt, Haus, Heiligtum, Grab),
  • Darstellungsinhalte und Ikonographie (Mythologie, Götter, Figuren der christlichen Religion, historische Personen und Ereignisse).

Die Klassische Archäologie, die Christliche Archäologie und die Byzantinische Kunstgeschichte sind Kultur- und Bildwissenschaften. Am Ende des Studiums sollen die Absolvent*innen die grundlegenden fachspezifischen Methoden und theoretischen Ansätze verstehen und anwenden können. Außerdem sollen sie die Fachterminologie beherrschen.

Der Studiengang vermittelt analytische Fähigkeiten im Umgang mit archäologischen Bodenfunden und Bildwerken. Man erlernt visuelle Kompetenzen und bekommt ein Bewusstsein für die medialen Eigenschaften historischer Quellen. Die Studierenden erwerben aber auch vielfältig einsetzbare praktische Fertigkeiten und Kompetenzen: z. B. Informationsrecherche, Präsentation von Argumentationen und Ergebnissen, Selbstorganisation und Auslandserfahrungen.

Name des Studienfachs:
Archäologie der Griechischen, Römischen und Byzantinischen Welt
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Es werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fachspezifisch #followme promos
Fächerübergreifend Campusführungen

Campusführungen

Mit Studierenden unterwegs


Inhalte

Sie werden durch Einführungsvorlesungen und Tutorien mit der griechischen, römischen und byzantinischen Kultur und der antiken Geschichte bekannt gemacht. Der Studiengang trägt dem aktuellen fachwissenschaftlichen Trend zu kulturanthropologischen Fragestellungen und zur interdisziplinären Feldforschung Rechnung. Das geschieht durch kulturvergleichende integrative Veranstaltungen in Zusammenarbeit mit benachbarten Disziplinen sowie durch hohe Praxisanteile. Sie können interne und externe Praktika belegen, wahlweise z.B. im Bereich Grabungstechnik, Vermessungstechnik, zeichnerischer und photographischer Objekt-Dokumentation, digitale Bildbearbeitung, Keramikanalyse und -restaurierung, Abformtechniken, Museologie, Denkmalpflege, archäologischem Wissenschaftsjournalismus mit den entsprechenden berufsbefähigenden Perspektiven.

Prüfungsleistungen werden in der Regel durch das Halten von Referaten und das Verfassen von Hausarbeiten erbracht. So erlernen Sie gründlich das wissenschaftliche Arbeiten und erwerben zahlreiche zusätzliche Kompetenzen:

  • Zielgerichtete Recherche von Informationen,
  • Bewertung der Informationen und auf ihnen aufbauender Argumentation,
  • Präsentation der erzielten Ergebnisse, das heißt die Ausdrucksfähigkeit in Wort, Bild und Schrift.

Die Netzwerke des Archäologischen Instituts im In- und Ausland ermöglichen Ihnen schon im Bachelorstudium Mobilität (z.B. Erasmus).

Außerdem werden die Studierenden so gut auf das Verfassen ihrer Abschlussarbeit vorbereitet und gestalten durch die Referate ihre Lehrveranstaltungen aktiv mit.

Im Grunde werden zwei Fächer in einem Studiengang kombiniert! Die „Klassische Archäologie“ behandelt die frühere, die „Christliche Archäologie/Byzantinische Kunstgeschichte“ die spätere Antike. Sie bauen also aufeinander auf. Der Bachelorstudiengang nutzt die gemeinsamen methodischen Grundlagen sowie inhaltliche Überschneidungen. Außerdem gewinnen die Studierenden einen Einblick in die verschiedenen Forschungsschwerpunkte der Dozierenden (z. B. politische und religiöse Ikonographie, Stilanalyse, Kulturkontakte, Gender, Architektur, Landschaft, Liturgie).

Das Archäologische Institut in Göttingen bietet Ihnen hervorragende Bibliotheken und vor allem 250 Jahre alte Sammlungen von antiken Originalen, Abgüssen antiker Skulpturen und Münzen. Sie werden kontinuierlich in den Lehrveranstaltungen verwendet. Bereits in frühen Semestern kommen die Studierenden in direkten Kontakt mit dem archäologischen Material. Die Restaurierungswerkstatt des Institutes bietet den Studierenden wichtige Praxis. Es bestehen Kooperationen mit den Museen in Kassel, Hannover und Frankfurt. Dort können im Praxisanteil des Studiums Praktika absolviert werden. Zahlreiche Feldforschungsprojekte in Italien, Griechenland und Spanien bieten ebenso günstige Voraussetzungen, rasch archäologische Praxiserfahrungen zu sammeln.

Das vielfältige Studium der Archäologie in Göttingen schafft beste Möglichkeiten für Ausbildung und Forschung insbesondere auf den Gebieten der antiken Skulptur und Ikonographie, der Architektur, der historischen Landeskunde, der Numismatik und der Antikenrezeption.

Für das Bachelorstudium wird kein Latinum und kein Graecum benötigt. Die Vielsprachigkeit der fächerspezifischen wissenschaftlichen Literatur erfordert von den Studierenden aber Lesefähigkeiten möglichst in mehr als einer europäischen Sprache, natürlich: Englisch. Dazu können Kenntnisse in Französisch, Italienisch, Spanisch oder Neugriechisch kommen. Aber diese werden nicht formal geprüft!

Für Studierende, die nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des BA einen Masterstudiengang „Klassische Archäologie" oder „Archäologie und Kunstgeschichte der Spätantiken und Byzantinischen Welt" anstreben, lohnt es sich, Grundkenntnisse der alten Sprachen (Latein und Griechisch) und der oben genannten modernen Sprachen durch Kurse aus dem Angebot der Universität zu erwerben. Diese Leistungen sind im Professionalisierungs- und Schlüsselkompetenzbereich anrechenbar. Die Sprachkenntnisse können zugleich die internationale Ausrichtung und interkulturellen Kompetenzen der Studierenden fördern.

Grundsätzlich steht die Wahl des zweiten Faches frei. Studierenden, deren Berufsziel im engeren Bereich der Altertumswissenschaften liegt und die eine nachfolgende Aufnahme eines Master-Studienganges anstreben, wird empfohlen, das zweite Fach bzw. Module im Professionalisierungsbereich aus dem Gebiet der Altertumswissenschaften, der Kunstgeschichte oder anderer Kulturwissenschaften (z.B. Ethnologie, Kulturanthropologie/Europäische Ethnologie) zu wählen.

Der Erwerb von Kenntnissen in Latein und Griechisch im Professionalisierungsbereich (jeweils 9 credits) ist im Hinblick auf ein archäologisches Aufbaustudium als fachwissenschaftlich-vertieftes Profil anzusehen.

Der Studiengang vermittelt Kenntnisse sowie methodische und praktische Fähigkeiten, die den Absolventen erlauben, sich für Berufsfelder im Bereich von Jugend- und Erwachsenenbildung, Kulturmanagement, Tourismus, Verlagen, Presse, Neuen Medien, diplomatischen Einrichtungen, internationalen Organisationen, usw. weiter zu qualifizieren sowie sich durch die Studienfortsetzung im Masterstudiengang auf eine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn im Bereich von Museen, Denkmalschutz, Universität sowie außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen vorzubereiten.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Der Bachelorstudiengang „Archäologie der Klassischen und Byzantinischen Welt" (66 credits) ist ein Verbundstudiengang, der von den Fächern Klassische Archäologie sowie Christliche Archäologie und Byzantinische Kunstgeschichte durchgeführt wird. Die Module 201 und 203 der Einführungsphase vermitteln Grundkenntnisse der beiden Fachgebiete und bieten Orientierung für die kommenden Semester. Ab dem zweiten Semester wählen Sie Ihren Schwerpunkt in einem der beiden Fächer und absolvieren die Schwerpunktmodule (202-1 und 204a–207a für die Klassische Archäologie, 202-2 und 204–207b für die Christliche Archäologie und Byzantinische Kunstgeschichte). Inbegriffen sind dort auch praktische Übungen und Exkursionen. Dazu kommen ergänzende Angebote für den Schlüsselkompetenz- und Professionalisierungsbereich, wo darüber hinaus auch die Teilnahme an unseren Forschungsprojekten und Praktika angerechnet werden können. Im sechsten Semester schließen Sie Ihr Studium dann mit der Bachelorarbeit ab.

    Übersicht über Art und Umfang der zu belegenden Pflicht- und Wahlpflichtmodule:
  • Modul 201 (Pflichtmodul): Einführung in die Archäologie der griechischen, römischen und byzantinischen Welt (12C / 8 SWS)
  • Modul 203 (Pflichtmodul): Einführung in die griechische, römische und spätantike Geschichte (6/4)
  • Modul 202-1 oder 202-2 (Wahlpflichtmodul): Arbeitsweisen und Methoden der Klassischen Archäologie (12/8) oder Arbeitsweisen und Methoden der Spätantiken und Byzantinischen Archäologie und Kunstgeschichte (12/8)
  • Modul 204a/b (Schwerpunktmodul): Kontexte (9/6)
  • Modul 205a/b (Schwerpunktmodul): Gattungen, Epochen, Regionen – Klassifikation (9/6)
  • Modul 206a/b (Schwerpunktmodul): Gattungen, Epochen, Regionen – Deutung (9/6)
  • Modul 207a/b (Schwerpunktmodul): Analyse und Interpretation (9/6)

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Lisa Katharina Müller und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Prof. Dr. Johannes Bergemann

Archäologisches Institut und Sammlung der Gipsabgüsse

Nikolausberger Weg 15
Room
D-37073 Göttingen

Tel.: (0551) 39-27502

E-Mail: jbergem@uni-goettingen.de

Klassische Archäologie

Dr. Daniel Graepler
Tel.: +49-551 39 7497

dgraepl@gwdg.de

Homepage

Christliche Archäologie

Prof. A. Arbeiter
Tel.: +49-551 39 7470

aarbeit@gwdg.de

Homepage