In publica commoda

Digital Humanities (B.A.) (two subjects)

Features

Programme:
Digital Humanities
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language requirements:
German and Englisch
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
open
(enrolment without previous application)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered

Description of the Degree Programme

The aim of the programme is to provide students with an in-depth understanding of the research and working methods of Digital Humanities (German: "Digitale Geisteswissenschaften"). After successfully graduating, students are familiar with the most important Digital Humanities methods for collecting, analysing and presenting data in the humanities and can apply them in their final thesis as well as later in their careers. In addition, they will be able to evaluate and further develop various procedures and research on the basis of digital data processing in the corresponding areas of Digital Humanities. The course is thus aimed at all professions in the field of social and cultural-historical topics and digital technologies.

Occupational fields

The versatile knowledge in the digital modelling of general historical and social questions conveyed in the course of studies is in demand in almost all areas of professional life and is increasingly being used as a recruitment criterion for companies. Accordingly, career paths are less well defined than for other degrees.

Typical focal points of the subsequent career choice are in the following occupational fields, which are characterised by a wide range of different activities and are now preferably carried out using digital methods: Advertising, PR and market research, private industry, public services (social organisations, authorities, political parties, associations, churches, trade unions), the cultural sector in general (education, media, press, publishing, journalism, tourism) as well as science and research.

Consecutive/Graduate programmes

Consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

In the two-subject Bachelor's programme, two subjects are studied on equal terms.

A total of 180 credits are earned for the Bachelor's degree Bachelor of Arts (B.A.).

The two subjects each account for 66 credits. The area of professionalisation accounts for 36 credits.

The following credits must be earned for the subject Digital Humanities:

  1. Compulsory modules

    Five compulsory modules "Introduction to Digital Text and Language Analysis", "Introduction to Digital Image and Object Science", "Fundamentals of Programming", "Fundamentals of Computer Science and Statistics" and "Tools of Digital Humanities", totalling 30 credits, must be successfully completed.

  2. Compulsory elective modules

    Compulsory elective modules totalling at least 36 credits must be successfully completed including at least "Practice Module Text and Language" or "Practice Module Image and Object" in the amount of 9 credits.

Regulations and module directory


Language requirements

Applicants whose mother tongue is not English must prove proficiency at level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) in the English language. Applicants prove proficiency in the English language by earning the minimum required grades on an internationally recognized test.

Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Your Studies


Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Questions on the programme

Marta Kipke, M.A.

Nikolausberger Weg 23, Raum 0.105
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26794

studienberatung.dh@uni-goettingen.de

Online consultation: Monday, 09:00-11:00 (Zoom Meeting-ID 985 6113 1657). Please register per email beforehand.

Homepage

In publica commoda

Digital Humanities (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Steckbrief

Name des Studienfachs:
Digital Humanities
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Sprachanforderungen:
Deutsch und Englisch
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Zum Studienbeginn werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Darstellung des Studienangebots

Ziel des Studiengangs ist es, den Studierenden die Forschungsansätze und Arbeitsweisen der Digital Humanities (deutsch: „Digitale Geisteswissenschaften“) zu vermitteln. Nach erfolgreich absolviertem Studium kennen die Studierenden die wichtigsten Methoden der Digital Humanities zur Erfassung, Analyse und Präsentation geisteswissenschaftlicher Daten und können diese in ihren Abschlussarbeiten wie auch im späteren Berufsleben selbstverständlich anwenden. Außerdem werden sie in die Lage versetzt, verschiedene Vorgehensweisen und Forschungsergebnisse auf Grundlage digitaler Datenverarbeitung in den entsprechenden Bereichen der Digitalen Humanities zu evaluieren und weiterzuentwickeln. Der Studiengang richtet sich damit an alle Berufe im Spannungsfeld gesellschaftlich und kulturhistorisch relevanter Themen und digitaler Technologien.

Berufsfelder

Die im Studiengang vermittelten vielseitigen Kenntnisse in der digitalen Modellierung allgemeiner historischer und gesellschaftlicher Fragen sind in nahezu allen Bereichen des Berufslebens gefragt und immer häufiger Einstellungskriterium für Unternehmen. Entsprechend sind die Berufswege weniger vorgezeichnet als bei anderen Abschlüssen.

Typische Schwerpunkte der anschließenden Berufswahl liegen auf folgenden Berufsfeldern, die durch eine große Bandbreite unterschiedlicher Tätigkeiten charakterisiert sind und mittlerweile bevorzugt mit digitalen Methoden ausgeübt werden: Werbung, PR und Marktforschung, Privatwirtschaft, Öffentlicher Dienst (gesellschaftliche Organisationen, Behörden, Parteien, Verbände, Kirchen, Gewerkschaften), der Kultursektor allgemein (Bildung, Medien, Presse, Verlagswesen, Publizistik, Tourismus) wie auch Wissenschaft und Forschung.

Weiterführende Studiengänge

Weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Im Studiengang Zwei-Fächer-Bachelor werden zwei Fächer gleichberechtigt studiert.

Für den Bachelorabschluss Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) werden insgesamt 180 Credits (Leistungspunkte) erbracht.

Dabei entfallen jeweils 66 Credits auf die beiden Fächer. Auf den Professionalisierungsbereich entfallen 36 Credits.

Für das Studienfach Digital Humanities müssen folgende Leistungen erbracht werden:

  1. Pflichtmodule

    Es müssen fünf Pflichtmodule "Einführung in die digitale Text -und Sprachanalyse", "Einführung in die Digitale Bild- und Objektwissenschaft", "Grundlagen Programmierung", "Grundlagen Informatik und Statistik" und "Werkzeuge der Digital Humanities" im Umfang von insgesamt 30 Credits erfolgreich absolviert werden.

  2. Wahlpflichtmodule

    Es müssen Wahlpflichtmodule im Umfang von insgesamt wenigstens 36 Credits erfolgreich absolviert werden, darunter entweder "Praxismodul Text und Sprache" oder "Praxismodul Bild und Objekt" im Umfang von 9 Credits.

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Sprachanforderung

Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, deren Muttersprache nicht Englisch ist, müssen über ausreichende Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache verfügen. Ausreichende Englischkenntnisse sind mit standardisierten bzw. akkreditierten Zertifikaten wenigstens auf dem Niveau B2 nach dem Gemeinsamen europäischen Referenzrahmen für Sprachen (GeR) nachzuweisen.

Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Was sind die Digital Humanities?


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. des. Elisabeth Günther

Heinrich-Düker-Weg 12, Raum 1.213
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26796

elisabeth.guenther@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage