In publica commoda

North American Studies (B.A.) (two subjects)

Features

North American Studies with a focus on media studies: Students of the two-subject B.A. can already complete an academically established course of studies in North American Studies at the Bachelor level. The curriculum provides essential knowledge about the literature, culture and media as well as a comprehensive overview of North American culture from its first colonial contacts up until the 21st century. This degree qualifies the student for a consecutive Master's degree programme.

Programme:
North American Studies
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (two subjects)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
open (enrolment without previous application)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered

Get to know us

Cross-programme InformationDays
09/10
MAR

Information days

for prospective students


Details

Students of the Bachelor’s Program in North American Studies will acquire independent academic working skills and extensive knowledge in literature, culture, history and the language of North America. They will engage with fundamental subject-specific terms, theories and methods of cultural, literary and media studies and learn to apply them. The program conveys a historical overview of North American literature and culture and the skills to analyze and interpret literary texts, cultural documents and medial representations from different periods of American cultural history. The curriculum of the undergraduate degree also includes extensive coursework in the field of media studies, covering diverse topics such as popular culture, (American) media history and theory, material culture, and visual culture.

The subjects North American Studies and English Philology can only be combined if no modules or courses pertaining to North American Studies are taken in English Philology.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

In the two-subject Bachelor's programme, two subjects are studied on equal terms.

A total of 180 credits are earned for the Bachelor's degree Bachelor of Arts (B.A.).

The two subjects each account for 66 credits. The area of professionalisation accounts for 36 credits.

The following credits must be earned for the subject General Linguistics:

The core curriculum in North American Studies conveys the basic methodologies and the fundamental theoretical tenets of North American studies in the form of modules. The subject matter of these modules comprises analytical and interpretation techniques, history of literature and culture as well as the theory of literature, culture and media. Some of these modules are interdisciplinary. Building on these basic modules, the B.A. program also introduces the fields of film and media studies. Students acquire the fundamentals of scholarly media analysis and apply these methods in the context of topical seminars. A subsequent advanced module provides research-oriented and subject-specific knowledge based on the training and competencies already obtained and prepares students for the Bachelor thesis (with 66 credits). Students can also specialize in North American Studies, allowing them to acquire a total of 84 credits. These students will complete an additional module in the “in-depth” profile of the professionalisation area to further pursue their individual research interests. The other additional modules include courses on the theory of literature and culture and provide advice and tutoring for a research-oriented Bachelor thesis.

Regulations and module directory


Language requirements

For your studies, you must have English language skills at level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). It is best to show an adequate level of English before starting your degree programme, viz. with the application, or when matriculating. You can prove your English language skills later, though, if you cannot do so before October; the latest that you have to show proof of English language skills to the English Department is July 15 of the year following your matriculation in this degree programme.

Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Our Campus


Your Studies


Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Tina Seufer

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone +49 (0)551 39 21888
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

E-Mail

Homepage

Academic Advising

Dr. phil. Vanessa Künnemann
Department of English Philology
American Studies Section

Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
Room 1.307
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49-551 39 7565
Fax: +49-551 39 9004

vanessa.kuennemann@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage
Programme Homepage

In publica commoda

North American Studies (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

Steckbrief

Amerikanistisches Studium mit medienwissenschaftlichem Schwerpunkt: Bereits auf Bachelorebene können Studierende des Zwei-Fächer-B.A. eine wissenschaftlich fundierte Ausbildung in den Nordamerikastudien absolvieren. Das Curriculum vermittelt Grundlagenwissen der Literatur-, Kultur- und Medienwissenschaft sowie einen umfangreichen Überblick über die nordamerikanische Kultur von den ersten kolonialen Kontakten bis in das 21. Jahrhundert. Der Abschluss qualifiziert für den weiterführenden Masterstudiengang.

Name des Studienfachs:
North American Studies
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Es werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fächerübergreifend Schnupperstudium
ab 15.
APR

Schnupper­studium

Be­suchen Sie Vor­lesun­gen


Inhalte

Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Bachelor-Fachs North American Studies sollen die Fähigkeit zum selbstständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten erwerben und sich umfangreiche Kenntnisse zur Literatur, Kultur, Geschichte, Gesellschaft und Sprache Nordamerikas erarbeiten. Sie sollen grundlegende fachwissenschaftliche Begriffe, Theorien und Methoden der Kultur-, Literatur- und Medienwissenschaft kennen und anwenden können, Überblickswissen über die Geschichte der nordamerikanischen Literatur und Kultur erhalten und die Fähigkeit zur sachgerechten Erschließung (Analyse und Interpretation) unterschiedlicher literarischer Texte und anderer kultureller Dokumente aus verschiedenen Zeiten erwerben. Die Göttinger Nordamerikastudien zeichnen sich daneben auch durch einen umfangreichen medienwissenschaftlichen Studienanteil aus, der Einblicke bietet in Felder wie Film, Populärkultur, Mediengeschichte und -theorie, Visual Culture, und Material Culture.

Die Fächer North American Studies und Englische Philologie können nur dann miteinander kombiniert werden, wenn in Englische Philologie keine amerikanistischen Module oder Veranstaltungen belegt werden.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Im Studiengang Zwei-Fächer-Bachelor werden zwei Fächer gleichberechtigt studiert.

Für den Bachelorabschluss Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) werden insgesamt 180 Credits (Leistungspunkte) erbracht.

Dabei entfallen jeweils 66 Credits auf die beiden Fächer. Auf den Professionalisierungsbereich entfallen 36 Credits.

Im Kernbereich des Fachstudiums North American Studies werden amerikanistisch-philologische Grundlagen und Überblickswissen in Modulen vermittelt. Inhaltlich geht es in diesen einführenden Modulen um Analyse- und Interpretationstechniken, um Literatur- und Kulturgeschichte sowie um Literatur-, Kultur- und Medientheorie. Einige dieser Module sind interdisziplinär und fachübergreifend angelegt. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt des B.A. North American Studies liegt im Bereich Film- und Medienwissenschaft; im entsprechenden Aufbaumodul werden die Grundlagen der wissenschaftlichen Medienanalyse vermittelt und in themenbezogenen Seminaren eingeübt und vertieft. Im Vertiefungsmodul werden bereits erlernte Lehrinhalte und Kompetenzen gefestigt. Die Studierenden bereiten sich hier auch gegebenenfalls auch auf eine Bachelorarbeit vor (nach 66 Credits). Studierende, die eine fachwissenschaftliche Vertiefung in North American Studies mit insgesamt 84 Credits anstreben, belegen im Rahmen des Professionalisierungsbereich ein weiteres Modul zur erneuten fachlichen Schwerpunktbildung, ein literatur- und kulturtheoretisch ausgelegtes Modul sowie ein Abschlussmodul, das der Betreuung einer forschungsorientierten Bachelorarbeit dient.

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Sprachanforderung

Für das Studium werden Englisch-Sprachkenntnisse im Umfang von Niveau B2 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GER) vorausgesetzt. Sie sollten noch vor Studienbeginn zeigen, dass Sie über ausreichende Englischkenntnisse verfügen, d.h. bei der Bewerbung oder bei der Immatrikulation. Geht dies nicht, haben Sie bis zum 15. Juli des Folgejahrs Zeit, um einen Nachweis zu erbringen.

Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Einschreibung ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Tina Seufer und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Seufer)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. phil. Vanessa Künnemann
Seminar für Englische Philologie
Abt. Nordamerikastudien

Käte-Hamburger-Weg 3
Raum 1.307
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49-551 39 7565
Fax: +49-551 39 9004

vanessa.kuennemann@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage
Homepage des Studiengangs