Start Guides –
Career Start of International Students and Graduates

Start Guides work at the interface between the graduation phase and the start of a career: they provide advice and support to both prospective graduates and companies.

They support companies willing to give greater consideration to international immigrants in personnel recruitment, contribute to the successful and sustainable integration of international employees in the company and also provide information on accompanying counselling and support formats. In the case of existing vacancies, Start Guides support the identification of suitable candidates and prepare them specifically for entry into the company.

For international students and prospective graduates, Start Guides offer assistance in developing and realising individual career perspectives in Germany. They develop individual competence and qualification profiles, identify further qualification options, support their implementation, arrange the appropriate entry into the desired industry (internship, trainee programme, adaptation qualification or employment) and provide assistance during the application and career entry phase.

The wishes and needs of companies and international students and graduates come together on the basis of an individual integration plan, the implementation of which sustainably improves intercultural competence and sensitivity on both sides. Start Guides accompany its implementation personally and individually throughout the entire career entry phase.

Start Guides work closely with business development institutions and institutions for the integration of migrants, with educational and qualification institutions, with employment agencies, job centres, Foreigners’ Registration Offices and companies in the region of Southern Lower Saxony.

Hiring a worker is a matter of trust. When it comes to international forces, many also need courage. Not only the shortage of skilled workers, but also the internationalisation of markets and a growing awareness of the potential of a more diverse workforce are nevertheless increasing even small and medium-sized companies’ interest in internationals.

International students in particular represent an outstanding pool of skilled workers that Lower Saxony would like to keep in the state. They have already been living in Göttingen for years and are well acquainted with the German living environment, usually speak German, English and the languages of their countries of origin very well, and also have a high-quality German education to show for it. An internship during their studies is an ideal opportunity to raise awareness of career options in the region, build trust and retain potential employees at an early stage. A trainee programme can help to smoothen the transition into the regional workforce. The recognition of vocational training from abroad may require an adaptation qualification that presupposes a place in a company. Different formats and entry routes enable companies and skilled workers to get to know each other before employment becomes an option.

Our services for companies:

  • We identify your needs and assess the profiles of vacant positions.
  • We introduce you to suitable applicants.
  • We clarify legal issues regarding qualification and employment of immigrants.
  • We inform you about formats such as internships, adaptation training and trainee programmes.
  • We provide support during the integration phase and accompany immigrants beyond the hiring phase.
  • We arrange language courses and language tandems.
  • We advise on the promotion of intercultural competence in the company and on inhouse language courses.
  • We promote sponsorship and mentoring programmes for new employees.

In the industrialised country of Germany, rural areas also offer outstanding opportunities for starting a career. Companies in the state of Lower Saxony, in the region and in the city of Göttingen value your international background as much as your professional expertise. Start Guides support you in getting to know companies in the region around your university, in developing entry perspectives and in successfully mastering the first months in your new profession.

Prospects arise when you are well qualified - professionally and interdisciplinarily. Start Guides support you in assessing the fit of your qualification profile for the German labour market and in developing it in line with your needs.

Internships during your studies will familiarise you with the daily work in your desired industry; trainee programmes can enable a smooth transition from study to work. The company also wants to get to know you; mutual familiarity, contacts and relationships can open up new opportunities for you. Start Guides support you with initial contacts with the companies and establish entry options and networking opportunities.

Especially in the career entry phase, your international background can bring challenges for both sides. We support you in overcoming these and in using your background as a resource in your everyday work.

Our services for international students and graduates:

  • We review your CV and certificates.
  • We orient you to possible career fields.
  • We support you in identifying your desired industry and suitable job descriptions.
  • Together we explore where support and post-qualification measures can increase your chances on the labour market.
  • We plan a personal integration path with you and accompany you along the way.
  • We arrange suitable counselling and qualification offers.
  • We help you to realise a work placement during your studies.
  • We help you to build up private and professional networks.
  • We orient you to career fairs and information events on the job market.
  • We teach you intercultural skills specific to your field of work.
  • We bring you together with companies in Southern Lower Saxony.

Requirements:

  • Residence permit for qualification or gainful employment
  • German language skills at least on level B1

Start Guides works closely with the Career Service of the University of Göttingen. The specific offers for international students and graduates can be found at Working in Germany.


Would you like support in entering the labour market? Then we look forward to hearing from you by e-mail, telephone or, if you prefer, via this enquiry form.



Contact:

The International Office
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

Annabel Konermann
Start Guide – Labor Market Integration of Internationals
Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

Email: annabel.konermann@zvw.uni-goettingen.de
Phone: 0551 39-21277

Contact


Map


Find us on Facebook

Start Guides -
Berufseinstieg internationaler Studierender und Absolvent*innen

Start Guides wirken an der Schnittstelle von Studienausgangsphase und Berufseintritt: Beratend stehend sie sowohl angehenden Absolvent*innen als auch Unternehmen zur Seite.

Sie unterstützen Unternehmen, die internationale Zugewanderte stärker in der Personalrekrutierung berücksichtigen wollen, tragen zu einer erfolgreichen und nachhaltigen Integration internationaler Mitarbeitender im Betrieb bei und informieren auch zu begleitenden Beratungs- und Förderformaten. Bei bestehenden Vakanzen unterstützen Start Guides bei der Identifikation passender Kandidat*innen und bereiten diese gezielt auf den Eintritt in den Betrieb vor.

Für internationale Studierende und angehende Absolvent*innen bieten Start Guides Hilfen bei der Entwicklung und Realisierung individueller Karriereperspektiven in Deutschland. Sie erarbeiten individuelle Kompetenz- und Qualifikationsprofile, identifizieren überfachliche Nach- und Weiterqualifizierungsoptionen, unterstützen bei deren Umsetzung, vermitteln den passenden Einstieg in die Wunschbranche (Praktikum, Trainee-Programm, Anpassungsqualifizierung oder Anstellung) und begleiten in der Bewerbungs- und Berufseintrittsphase.

Die Wünsche und Bedürfnisse von Unternehmen und internationaler Studierender und Absolvent*innen kommen dabei auf Basis eines individuellen Integrationsplanes zusammen, dessen Umsetzung nachhaltig die interkulturelle Kompetenz und Sensibilität auf beiden Seiten verbessert. Start Guides begleiten dessen Umsetzung persönlich nah und individuell über die gesamte Berufseinstiegsphase hinweg.

Start Guides arbeiten eng vernetzt mit Institutionen der Wirtschaftsförderung und zur Integration von Migrant*innen, mit Bildungs- und Qualifizierungseinrichtungen, mit Arbeitsagenturen, Jobcentern, Ausländerbehörden und den Unternehmen in der Region Südniedersachsen.

Die Einstellung einer Arbeitskraft ist Vertrauenssache. Wenn es um internationale Kräfte geht, bedarf es für viele auch an Mut. Nicht nur der Fachkräftemangel, auch die Internationalisierung der Märkte und ein zunehmendes Bewusstsein für die Potentiale einer diverseren Belegschaft steigert gleichwohl das Interesse auch kleiner und mittelständischer Unternehmen an Internationalen.

Insbesondere internationale Studierende stellen ein herausragendes Fachkräftepotential, das Niedersachsen gerne im Land halten möchte. Sie leben bereits über Jahre in Göttingen und sind mit dem deutschen Lebensumfeld gut vertraut, sprechen in der Regel sehr gut deutsch, englisch und die Sprachen ihrer Herkunftsländer, haben zudem eine hochwertige deutsche Ausbildung vorzuweisen. Ein Praktikum während des Studiums ist eine ideale Chance, Karriereoptionen in der Region bewusst zu machen, Vertrauen aufzubauen und mögliche Arbeitskräfte frühzeitig zu binden. Ein Trainee-Programm kann den Übergang fließend gestalten und die Passung für beide Seiten erhöhen. Die Anerkennung beruflicher Ausbildungen aus dem Ausland kann eine Anpassungsqualifikation erforderlich machen, die einen Platz in einem Unternehmen voraussetzt. Verschiedene Formate und Einstiegswege ermöglichen es Betrieb und Fachkraft, einander kennenzulernen, bevor es zu einer Anstellung kommt.

Unsere Angebote für Unternehmen:

  • Wir nehmen Ihre Bedarfe und die Profile vakanter Stellen auf.
  • Wir führen Sie mit passenden Bewerber*innen zusammen.
  • Wir klären Rechtsfragen zu Qualifizierung und Beschäftigung Zugewanderter.
  • Wir informieren Sie zu Möglichkeiten des beruflichen Übergangs wie Praktika, Anpassungsqualifizierung und Trainee-Programmen.
  • Wir sind in der Phase betrieblicher Integration für Sie da und begleiten Zugewanderte über die Einstellung hinaus.
  • Wir vermitteln Sprachkurse und Sprachtandems.
  • Wir beraten zur Förderung der interkulturellen Kompetenz im Betrieb und zu betriebsinternen Sprachkursen.
  • Wir fördern Patenschafts-Programme für Neueingestellte und Mentoring-Programme.

Im Industrieland Deutschland bieten auch ländliche Räume herausragende Möglichkeiten für den Berufseinstieg. Unternehmen im Land Niedersachsen, in der Region, in der Stadt Göttingen schätzen Ihren internationalen Hintergrund ebenso wie Ihre fachliche Expertise. Start Guides unterstützt Sie dabei, Unternehmen im Umfeld Ihrer Hochschule kennenzulernen, Einstiegsperspektiven zu erarbeiten und die ersten Monate im neuen Beruf erfolgreich zu meistern.

Perspektiven entstehen, wenn Sie gut qualifiziert sind – fachlich und überfachlich. Start Guides unterstützen Sie dabei, die Passung Ihres Qualifikationsprofils für den deutschen Arbeitsmarkt abzuschätzen und bedarfsgerecht zu entwickeln.

Praktika schon während des Studiums machen Sie mit der täglichen Arbeit in Ihrer Wunschbranche vertraut; Trainee-Programme können einen fließenden Übergang vom Studium in den Beruf ermöglichen. Auch das Unternehmen möchte Sie kennenlernen; gegenseitige Vertrautheit, Kontakte und Beziehungen können Ihnen neue Chancen eröffnen. Start Guides unterstützen Sie bei ersten Kontakten mit den Unternehmen, erarbeiten Einstiegsoptionen und stellen Kontakte her.

Gerade in der Berufseinstiegsphase kann Ihr internationaler Hintergrund für beide Seiten Herausforderungen mit sich bringen. Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, diese zu bewältigen und ihren Hintergrund als Ressource in den betrieblichen Alltag einzubringen.

Unsere Angebote für Studierende und Absolvent*innen:

  • Wir sichten Ihren Lebenslauf und ihre Zeugnisse.
  • Wir orientieren Sie zu möglichen Berufsfeldern.
  • Wir unterstützen bei der Identifikation Ihrer Wunschbranche und passender Berufsbilder.
  • Gemeinsam erkunden wir, wo Unterstützung und Nachqualifizierungen Ihre Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt erhöhen können.
  • Wir planen mit Ihnen einen persönlichen Integrationsweg und begleiten Sie dabei.
  • Wir vermitteln passende Beratungs- und Qualifizierungsangebote.
  • Wir helfen Ihnen, ein studienbegleitendes Berufspraktikum zu realisieren.
  • Wir helfen Ihnen, private und berufliche Netzwerke aufzubauen.
  • Wir orientieren zu Karrieremessen und Informationsveranstaltungen zum Stellenmarkt.
  • Wir vermitteln berufsfeldspezifische interkulturelle Kompetenz.
  • Wir bringen Sie mit Unternehmen aus Südniedersachsen zusammen.

Ideale Voraussetzungen:

  • gesicherte Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Qualifizierung oder Erwerbsarbeit
  • Deutschkenntnisse mindestens auf dem Niveau B1

Start Guides arbeitet eng zusammen mit dem Career Service der Universität Göttingen. Unter Arbeiten in Deutschland finden Sie die spezifischen Angebote für internationale Studierende und Absolvent*innen.


Wünschen Sie sich Begleitung beim Einstieg in den Arbeitsmarkt? Dann freuen wir uns über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme per E-Mail, Telefon oder über dieses Anfrageformular.



Kontakt:

Abteilung Göttingen International
Incoming Office

Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

Annabel Konermann
Start Guide – Arbeitsmarktintegration Internationaler
Von-Siebold-Straße 4
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: annabel.konermann@zvw.uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: 0551 39-21277

Kontakt


Lageplan


Find us on Facebook