In publica commoda

Psychology (B.Sc.)

Features

The polyvalent Bachelor's program can be studied in two different variants and thus offers different follow-up options in Göttingen: The general master's program in psychology and, in addition, from winter semester 2022/23, the consecutive master's program in clinical psychology and psychotherapy, in order to subsequently take the licensing examination.

In addition, a postgraduate course in Psychological Psychotherapy is offered in Göttingen university for a fee.

Programme:
Psychology
Degree:
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Winter semester only
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
restricted admission (application to the University)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered

Get to know us


Details

In the Bachelor's Programme in Psychology, students will acquire sound knowledge in fundamental subjects of psychology as well as basic knowledge in its applied disciplines. This provides students with general and subject-specific occupational skills necessary for the changeover into the working world. They will learn the main correlations of psychology and to apply scientific methods and findings. The bachelor's degree is also the requirement for participation in a master's programme.

These goals are achieved by connecting theoretical contents with practice-oriented topics, so that students receive fundamental scientific knowledge as well as occupational skills. In addition, students will acquire key competencies for a successful career start. Through active participation in courses and hands-on psychological work, students acquire knowledge and skills with which they can recognize psychological tasks, formulate factually founded potential solutions and appropriately realize these. Methodological competencies (especially in research methods and statistics, computer-aided data collection, data analysis and presentation as well as diagnostic basics and procedures) are conveyed predominantly in specialized modules. Aside from textual knowledge, the students acquire social and personal competencies that are also important for professional work.

Very good English language skills are required.

The integration of GEMI in the Faculty of Biology and Psychology has lead to a strong interest in biopsychological and neuroscientific questions in Göttingen. This orientation is amplified by the interconnection with numerous centres and interdisciplinary programmes in which many faculties, Max Planck Institutes and other institutes participate (Bernstein Centre for Computational Neuroscience, German Primate Centre, international M.Sc/Ph.D programmes in neuroscience, Centre for Systems Neuroscience). An additional research focus is found in research on judgement and decision making, which comprises fundamental oriented cognitive and sociopsychological aspects as well as applied aspects. In addition, the interdisciplinary union of school education, educational psychology and the specialised didactics of the Universität Göttingen in the Centre for Empirical Research into Teaching and Schools (ZeUS) forms the third area of specialisation. Göttingen also offers extensive possibilities to gain in-depth knowledge in the subject of methodology and the area of clinical psychology. In this area, a postgraduate programme is also offered for master graduates in cooperation with the Universität Braunschweig to obtain the medical license as a psychological psychotherapist. A detailed description of research focuses of the individual departments of GEMI can be found on the homepage of the institute (see right or below).

Consecutive/graduate programmes

Consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

The polyvalent Bachelor's Programme in Psychology at the Georg Elias Müller Institute for Psychology (in following GEMI for short) is a full-time programme primarily directed to the German-speaking region. Fundamentals of psychology are conveyed in the modules Social Psychology, Differential Psychology, General Psychology, Biological Psychology as well as Developmental Psychology. To acquire methodical skills in psychology, the following modules are offered: Introduction to Areas and Research Methods of Psychology, Quantitative Methods I and II, Diagnostic Basics, Diagnostical Procedures, as well as the Research-Oriented Internship. Many modules are dedicated to hands-on practice. Courses on educational psychology, business psychology, and clinical psychology and psychotherapy are offered in two modules each and are directly related to future occupational tasks. The selection of elective psychological and non-psychological courses allows students to focus on enhancing their knowledge for a certain future field of work. In the 5th semester in particular, modules can be selected which qualify for an application for the Master's degree in Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy (with subsequent licensure examination).

The direct practical reference is demanded in two internships. Key qualifications are conveyed in all modules, whereby especially the module Development and Presentation of Contents from Science and Practice must be named. In the bachelor's thesis (to be completed within 12 weeks), students show that they have learned to deal with a problem in a special field of psychology, guided by the scientific methods of the subject.

Different forms of teaching and learning are implemented in the bachelor's programme. Presentations by the course instructor dominate the lectures, whereas students are expected to actively participate in the seminars. Students independently learn the subject matter by preparing reports or working together in small groups. Practical courses teach further competencies by systematically practicing psychological conversations and diagnostic behavioural observation. Feedback from the course instructors give students a basis for improvement.

The course material is usually tested in written form. Some courses, however, foresee oral testing. The research-oriented internship is concluded with a documented individual report on an empirical project. The module "Trial Research" comprises participation in empirical-psychological investigations within the framework of research work on GEMI. A detailed description can be found in the catalogue of modules attached to the programme regulations.

Regulations and module directory


Measles vaccination

A proof of measles protection must be provided for enrollment. The form is to be completed by the primary care physician. If you have any questions, please contact the Office of the Dean of Students Office studienbuero@psych.uni-goettingen.de.

Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)

EU
Citizen from an EU country (including Germany and EEA) or holding a German university entrance qualification

Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Contact

Academic Advising

Dr. rer. nat. Nuria Brinkmann
Goßlerstraße 14
37075 Göttingen
Tel. +49 551 39 13981
Fax. +49 551 39 33662
studienbuero@psych.uni-goettingen.de
Programme homepage

In publica commoda

Psychologie (B.Sc.)

Steckbrief

Der polyvalente Bachelorstudiengang kann in zwei unterschiedlichen Varianten studiert werden und bietet damit in Göttingen unterschiedliche Anschlussmöglichkeiten: Den allgemeinen Masterstudiengang in Psychologie und zusätzlich ab Wintersemester 2022/23 den konsekutiven Masterstudiengang in Klinischer Psychologie und Psychotherapie, um im Anschluss die Approbationsprüfung abzulegen.

Darüber hinaus wird an der Universität Göttingen ein weiterbildender Studiengang Psychologische Psychotherapie kostenpflichtig angeboten.

Name des Studienfachs:
Psychologie
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Zum Studienbeginn werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Inhalte

Die Studierenden erarbeiten sich solide Kenntnisse der psychologischen Grundlagenfächer sowie grundlegende Fachkenntnisse in den angewandten Disziplinen der Psychologie, um so eine allgemeine und fachspezifische Berufsfähigkeit zu erwerben. Ziel des polyvalenten Bachelor-Studiengangs in Psychologie ist es, die für den Übergang in die Berufspraxis notwendigen Fachkenntnisse zu vermitteln und der Fähigkeit aufzubauen, zentrale Zusammenhänge des Fachs zu überblicken und wissenschaftliche Methoden und Erkenntnisse anzuwenden. Der Bachelor-Abschluss ist zudem die Grundvoraussetzung für Teilnahme an einem weiterführenden Masterstudiengang.

Um die genannten Ziele zu erreichen, werden in der Ausbildung theoretische Inhalte mit Praxisthemen verknüpft, so dass den Studierenden sowohl wissenschaftliche Grundlagenkenntnisse als auch berufliche Handlungskompetenz erhalten. Zusätzlich erwerben die Studierenden Schlüsselkompetenzen für einen erfolgreichen Berufseinstieg. Durch die aktive Mitarbeit an Lehrveranstaltungen und das Einüben praktisch-psychologischer Tätigkeiten erarbeiten sich die Studierenden Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten, mit denen sie psychologische Aufgaben erkennen, sachlich begründete Lösungsansätze formulieren und diese angemessen umsetzen. Methodenkompetenzen (insbesondere in Forschungsmethoden und Statistik, computergestützte Datenerhebung, -analyse und -präsentation sowie diagnostische Grundlagen und Verfahren) werden vor allem im Rahmen von Fachmodulen vermittelt. Neben inhaltlichem Wissen erwerben die Studierenden Sozial- und Selbstkompetenzen, die auch für die Berufspraxis wichtig sind.

sehr gute Englischkenntnisse werden gefordert.

Die Einbettung des Georg-Elias-Müller-Institut für Psychologie in der Fakultät für Biologie und Psychologie hat zu einem starken Interesse an biopsychologischen und neurowissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen im Haus geführt. Diese Orientierung wird verstärkt durch die Vernetzung in zahlreiche Zentren und interdisziplinäre Studiengänge, an denen eine Vielzahl von Fakultäten, Max-Planck-Instituten und anderen Institutionen beteiligt ist (Bernstein-Zentrum für Computational Neuroscience; Deutsches Primatenzentrum; Internationaler M.Sc./Ph.D.-Studiengang Neuroscience; Zentrum für Neurobiologie des Verhaltens). Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt besteht in der Urteils- und Entscheidungsforschung, die sowohl grundlagenorientierte kognitions- und sozialpsychologische als auch angewandte Aspekte umfasst. Darüber hinaus ist der interdisziplinäre Zusammenschluss der Schulpädagogik, der Pädagogischen Psychologie und der Fachdidaktiken der Universität Göttingen im Zentrum für Unterrichts- und Schulforschung ("Zeus") als dritter Schwerpunkt zu nennen. Schließlich bietet Göttingen auch umfangreiche Möglichkeiten das Fach Methodenlehre und den Bereich der Klinischen Psychologie zu vertiefen. In diesem Bereich wird für Master-Absolvent*innen auch ein postgradualer Weiterbildungsstudiengang als Psychologische Psychotherapeutin / Psychologischer Psychotherapeut angeboten. Eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Forschungsschwerpunkte der einzelnen Abteilungen des Georg-Elias-Müller-Institut für Psychologie finden sich auf der Internetseite des Instituts.

Weiterführende Studiengänge

Weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Der polyvalente Bachelor-Studiengang in Psychologie am Georg-Elias-Müller-Institut für Psychologie ist ein Vollzeit-Studium mit primärer Ausrichtung auf den deutschen Sprachraum. Grundlagen der Psychologie werden über die Module "Sozialpsychologie", "Differentielle Psychologie", "Allgemeine Psychologie", "Biologische Psychologie" sowie "Entwicklungspsychologie" vermittelt. Zum Erwerb der methodischen Fähigkeiten im Bereich der Psychologie werden die Module "Einführung in Gebiete und Forschungsmethoden der Psychologie", "Quantitative Methoden I und II", "Grundlagen der Diagnostik", "Diagnostische Verfahren" sowie das "Forschungsorientierte Praktikum – Grundlagen der Forschung" angeboten.

Einen breiten Raum nehmen die anwendungsbezogenen Module ein. Veranstaltungen zur "Pädagogischen Psychologie", der "Wirtschaftspsychologie" und der "Klinischen Psychologie und Psychotherapie" werden in jeweils mindestens zwei Modulen angeboten und haben einen direkten Bezug zu späteren Berufstätigkeiten. Durch die Wahl von Lehrveranstaltungen im psychologischen und nichtpsychologischen Wahlbereich können die Studierenden in ihrem Studium Schwerpunkte setzen, um ihr Wissen im Hinblick auf eine spätere Beruftätigkeit zu vertiefen. Insbesondere können im 5. Fachsemester Module gewählt werden, die für eine Bewerbung für den Master Klinische Psychologie und Psychotherapie (mit anschließender Approbationsprüfung) qualifizieren.

Der direkte Bezug zur Praxis wird auch durch zwei Berufspraktika gefördert. Schlüsselqualifikationen werden in allen Modulen vermittelt, wobei hier besonders das Modul "Wissenschaftliche Kompetenzen für die Psychologie" zu nennen ist. Dass die Studierenden im Bachelor-Studiengang gelernt haben, ein Problem in einem Spezialgebiet der Psychologie mit den wissenschaftlichen Methoden des Faches angeleitet zu bearbeiten, stellen sie mit der Bachelor-Arbeit (Bearbeitungszeit 12 Wochen) unter Beweis.

Im Rahmen des Bachelor-Studiengangs kommen unterschiedliche Lehr-/Lernformen zum Einsatz. In den Vorlesungen dominiert die Präsentation des Veranstaltungsleiters, während in Seminaren die aktive Teilnahme der Studierenden erwartet wird. So wird der Lehrstoff selbständig erarbeitet, indem Referate durch die Studierenden vorbereitet oder Kleingruppenarbeiten durchgeführt werden. In Praktikumsveranstaltungen sollen weitere Kompetenzen eingeübt werden, indem beispielsweise psychologische Gesprächsführung und diagnostische Verhaltensbeobachtung systematisch eingeübt und von den Lehrveranstaltungsleitern durch Feedback verbessert werden.

Prüfungen erfolgen in den meisten Fällen durch Klausuren. Allerdings sind in einigen Fällen auch mündliche Prüfungen vorgesehen. Das forschungsorientierte Praktikum wird über einen dokumentierten Einzelbericht über ein empirisches Projekt abgeschlossen. Das Modul "Versuchspersonenstunden" besteht aus der Teilnahme an empirisch-psychologischen Untersuchungen im Rahmen von Forschungsarbeiten am Institut. Eine detaillierte Beschreibung kann dem Modulhandbuch im Anhang der Studienordnung entnommen werden.

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Masernimpfung

Ein Nachweis des Masernschutzes ist zur Einschreibung zu erbringen. Das Formular ist vom Hausarzt auszufüllen. Für Rückfragen wenden Sie sich bitte an das Studiendekanat studienbuero@psych.uni-goettingen.de.

Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Kontakt

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. rer. nat. Nuria Brinkmann
Goßlerstraße 14
37075 Göttingen
Tel. +49 551 39 13981
Fax. +49 551 39 33662
studienbuero@psych.uni-goettingen.de
Homepage des Studienfachs