Ibero-America Institute for Economic Research

Welcome

The Ibero-America Institute for Economic Research was founded in 1964 with funding from the Volkswagen Foundation. It is part of the Faculty of Economic Sciences. In this capacity, the Ibero-America Institute supports both research and teaching in the Economics Department and coordinates the English-language MSc Development Economics program.


Call for postdoctoral research associate


The Ibero-America Institute for Economic Research (Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs) is looking for a Postdoctoral Research Associate (m/f/d) with the earliest possible start date of October 1, 2022. The application deadline is August 17, 2022. For further information please see call for applications (PDF).


ENOUGH – a new EU project that will identify how food industry can become net zero by 2050

The project ENOUGH has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme. It will develop technologies, tools and methods to contribute to the EU’s farm to fork Strategy to achieve climate neutrality in the food industry. Prof. Inmaculada Martínez-Zarzoso (Department of Ibero-America Reasearch) coordinates the Economic Policy Working Package. The kick-off meeting was held online on October 18, 2021, with 28 project partners.

more…

Supporting research on Latin America and developing countries in Göttingen

Ibero-America Institute Foundation Dr. Weiershäuser established


"I would like to say thank you for the generous scholarship that enabled me to do my PhD and research in Mexico at the time, and now give something back to the Ibero-America Institute in return. Basically, I just want to pay back my scholarship that I received five decades ago, including the average long-term interest rate. This is 250,000 euros," says Dr. Eberhard Weiershäuser. The funds are managed by a newly established foundation, the Ibero-Amerika Institut Stiftung Dr. Weiershäuser.


The purpose of the foundation is to promote science and research, especially economic research on Latin America and developing countries at the University of Göttingen, and to promote education. In addition, it is also established in memory of Prof. Dr. Erich Egner, the founding director of the Ibero-America Institute (1964-1969), as well as Prof. Dr. h.c. Stephan Klasen, Ph.D., the long-time director of the Institute (2003-2020) who sadly passed away last year. The annual distributions are intended in particular to support the work and further development of the Department of Ibero-America Research and the "Göttingen School" of development economics.


16970408e079260f3d7a83765109c616
f.l.t.r.: Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs, Dr. Felicitas Nowak-Lehmann, Prof. Inmaculada Martínez-Zarzoso, Ph.D., Dr. Stephanie Kenedi, Dr. Eberhard Weiershäuser, Prof. Dr. Matthias Schumann, Prof. Marcela Ibañez Diaz, Ph.D. and Prof. Dr. Michael Wolff

The Faculty of Business and Economics would like to thank Dr. Weiershäuser for his extraordinary commitment and his many years of dedication to Latin American and developing country research in Göttingen. His daughter, Dr. Stephanie Kenedi, will serve on the board of the new foundation. On November 3, 2021, the founding meeting took place in Göttingen with Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs, Prof. Dr. Inmaculada Martínez-Zarzoso, and the coordinator of "Ibero", Dr. Felicitas Nowak-Lehmann. In addition, Eberhard Weiershäuser and Stephanie Kenedi were welcomed by the Dean, Prof. Dr. Matthias Schumann, and the Alumni Representative of the Faculty of Business and Economics, Prof. Dr. Michael Wolff, as well as by the holder of the Chair of Development Economics, Prof. Marcela Ibañez Diaz.


Dr. Eberhard Weiershäuser was among the first doctoral students at the Ibero-America Institute of the Faculty of Business and Economics, founded three years earlier, in 1967. His research was in the field of capital market theory and development in developing and emerging economies, especially Mexico. After his time at the Institute, Dr. Weiershäuser began his professional career in the private sector.

Ibero-Amerika Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung

Willkommen

Das Ibero-Amerika Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung wurde 1964 mit Mitteln der Volkswagen-Stiftung gegründet. Es ist Teil der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät. In dieser Eigenschaft unterstützt das Ibero-Amerika Institut sowohl Forschung als auch Lehre des VWL-Departments und koordiniert den englisch-sprachigen Studiengang MSc Development Economics.


Call for postdoctoral research associate


The Ibero-America Institute for Economic Research (Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs) is looking for a Postdoctoral Research Associate (m/f/d) with the earliest possible start date of October 1, 2022. The application deadline is August 17, 2022. For further information please see call for applications (PDF).


ENOUGH – ein neues EU-Projekt soll ermiteln, wie die Lebensmittelindustrie bis 2050 mit Netto-Null-Emissionen produzieren kann

Das Projekt ENOUGH wurde vom Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramm Horizon 2020 der Europäischen Union gefördert. Es wird Technologien, Werkzeuge und Methoden entwickeln, die zur EU-Strategie “Vom Erzeuger zum Verbraucher” beitragen, um Klimaneutralität in der Lebensmittelindustrie zu erreichen. Prof. Inmaculada Martínez-Zarzoso (Abteilung für Ibero-Amerika Forschung) koordiniert das Arbeitspaket Wirtschaftspolitik. Das Kick-off-Meeting fand am 18. Oktober 2021 mit 28 Projektpartnern online statt.

mehr…

Förderung der Lateinamerika- und Entwicklungsländerforschung in Göttingen

Ibero-Amerika Institut Stiftung Dr. Weiershäuser gegründet


"Ich möchte Dank sagen für das großzügige Stipendium, das mir damals meine Promotion und meinen Forschungsaufenthalt in Mexiko ermöglicht hat, und dem Ibero-Amerika Institut nun dafür etwas zurückgeben. Im Grunde möchte ich nur mein Stipendium, das ich vor fünf Jahrzehnten erhalten habe, inklusive des durchschnittlichen langfristigen Zinssatzes, zurückzahlen. Dies sind 250.000 Euro", sagt Dr. Eberhard Weiershäuser. Die Finanzmittel werden durch eine neu gegründete Stiftung, die Ibero-Amerika Institut Stiftung Dr. Weiershäuser, verwaltet.


Zweck der Stiftung ist die Förderung von Wissenschaft und Forschung, insbesondere der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Lateinamerika- und Entwicklungsländerforschung an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, sowie die Förderung der Bildung. Darüber hinaus wird sie ebenfalls in Erinnerung an Prof. Dr. Erich Egner, den Gründungsdirektor des Ibero-Amerika Instituts (1964-1969) sowie an Prof. Dr. h.c. Stephan Klasen, Ph.D., den letztes Jahr leider verstorbenen, langjährigen Institutsleiter (2003-2020), ins Leben gerufen. Mit den jährlichen Ausschüttungen sollen insbesondere die Arbeit und die Fortentwicklung der Abteilung für Ibero-Amerika Forschung und der "Göttinger Schule" der Entwicklungsökonomik unterstützt werden.


16970408e079260f3d7a83765109c616
v.l.n.r.: Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs, Dr. Felicitas Nowak-Lehmann, Prof. Inmaculada Martínez-Zarzoso, Ph.D., Dr. Stephanie Kenedi, Dr. Eberhard Weiershäuser, Prof. Dr. Matthias Schumann, Prof. Marcela Ibañez Diaz, Ph.D. und Prof. Dr. Michael Wolff

Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät dankt Dr. Weiershäuser für sein außergewöhnliches Engagement und seinen jahrelangen Einsatz für die Lateinamerika- und Entwicklungsländerforschung in Göttingen. Im Vorstand der neuen Stiftung wird seine Tochter, Dr. Stephanie Kenedi, tätig werden. Am 3. November 2021 fand in Göttingen die Gründungssitzung mit Prof. Dr. Andreas Fuchs, Prof. Dr. Inmaculada Martínez-Zarzoso sowie der Koordinatorin des "Ibero", Dr. Felicitas Nowak-Lehmann statt. Darüber hinaus wurden Eberhard Weiershäuser und Stephanie Kenedi vom Dekan, Prof. Dr. Matthias Schumann, und dem Alumni-Beauftragten der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät, Prof. Dr. Michael Wolff, sowie von der Inhaberin der Professur für Development Economics, Prof. Marcela Ibañez Diaz, begrüßt.


Dr. Eberhard Weiershäuser zählte 1967 zu den ersten Doktoranden am drei Jahre zuvor gegründeten Ibero-Amerika Institut der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. Seine Forschungen hat er auf dem Gebiet der Kapitalmarktheorie und -entwicklung in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern, insbesondere Mexiko, durchgeführt. Nach seiner Zeit am Institut begann Dr. Weiershäuser seine berufliche Karriere in der Privatwirtschaft.