In publica commoda

Applied Statistics (MSc)

Features

Applied Statistics is a key discipline in the information society. It deals with collecting, analysing and integrating data. To this end, methods and instruments are developed by which large and unsorted masses of data from various sources can be translated responsibly and objectively into information and knowledge. As an interdisciplinary subject, Applied Statistics combines mathematical-statistical knowledge with elements from computer science and various fields of application.

Name:
Applied Statistics
Degree:
Master of Science (M.Sc)
Standard period of study:
4 semesters
Start:
Winter semester
Language of the programme:
German and English
Admission:
restricted

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Programme specific Gespräch Studierende Sommer Campus 720px

Orientation week

For first semester students

Ranking Innenhof OEC 720px

CHE-Ranking 2020

Outstanding ratings

Programme specific LSG Tischgruppe 720px

Information days

Master degrees at our faculty


Details

Applied Statistics is a key discipline in the information society. It deals with collecting, analysing and integrating data. To this end, methods and instruments are developed by which large and unsorted masses of data from various sources can be translated responsibly and objectively into information and knowledge. As an interdisciplinary subject, Applied Statistics combines mathematical-statistical knowledge with elements from computer science and various fields of application.

The focus in Göttingen here is on the field of statistical modelling. At a solid mathematical level, this course imparts methodical knowledge while simultaneously keeping the application in mind. Part of the degree consists in a practical statistical course. Students are required to select a field of application in which they attend in-depth classes.

In the economic sphere and in industry, as well as in numerous areas of modern research, there is a high demand for well-qualified young talent with in-depth knowledge of statistics. Generally speaking, statisticians are required wherever decisions have to be made based on complex data structures and in conditions of uncertainty.

Possible employers include, in particular, the insurance and reinsurance sector, banks, the IT sector, corporate consultancies, research and development departments of companies, enterprises in the pharmaceutical industry, public research institutes, colleges and universities, and statistical offices. The career prospects for statisticians are excellent and are set to remain so for the foreseeable future.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

The Master's Programme in Applied Statistics is designed to take four semesters. In semesters 1 to 3, the students gain fundamental knowledge of statistical inference, statistical models and statistical modelling in the modules of the compulsory section. In the compulsory elective section, they can deepen their knowledge of statistical modelling and the selected field of application. Economics, Life Sciences, Empirical Social Research and Computer Sciences are currently available as choices for the fields of application.

In addition to this, the students work out statistical solutions to a given issue within the context of a practical statistical course, in cooperation with a practical partner. The Master of Applied Statistics is offered in both German and English. Sufficient competency in both languages will need to be demonstrated as part of the application process. The 4th semester is intended for writing the master's thesis.

Detailed information on the degree programme and a detailed list of the modules/courses offered can be found on the degree programme website of the Faculty of Business and Economics.

Recommended course of studies

Module directory

Regulations


Application

Application deadlines

Please apply from

  • April 1 to May 15 to commence studies in the winter semester (October)
You can only start this degree programme in the winter semester.

Previous Education

  • A minimum of six semesters of study culminating in a Bachelor’s degree or an equivalent course of study with a minimum of 180 ECTS credits in Statistics, Mathematics, Computer Sciences, Economics, Agricultural Economics or a closely related discipline (e.g. empirical Social Sciences and Psychology).
  • Applicants must have completed at least 150 of the 180 ECTS credits at the time of application. Unfortunately, we cannot consider applications that do not meet this requirement.

Language Requirements

  • English language skills
  • German language skills, if German is not your native language

Impressions

Impressions

Specialization in 11 Master's programmes

After the Bachelor's degree you can deepen and expand your knowledge in 11 consecutive Master's degree programmes at the faculty. The faculty offers Master's programmes in Business Administration, Economics, Business Information Systems, Business and Human Resource Education, Applied Statistics and History of Global Markets. Some Master programmes even include a double degree programme with renowned universities in Europe, South Africa and China. See in the video (in German) why it is worthwhile to study in Göttingen.


Göttingen City


Our Campus


Your studies


Contact

For questions on application and admission

For enrolled students

Service Centre for Students
Faculty of Business and Economics
Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
37073 Göttingen
Oeconomicum, 1st Floor

Phone: +49-551 39 28800

studienberatung@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de
www.service-center.wiwi.uni-goettingen.de


Academic Advising

For prospective students and questions about the admission process
Centre for Statistics
Georg-August Universität Göttingen
Humboldtallee 3
37073 Göttingen

E-Mail

In publica commoda

Angewandte Statistik (M.Sc.)

Steckbrief

Die Angewandte Statistik ist eine Schlüsseldisziplin der Informationsgesellschaft. Sie beschäftigt sich mit der Sammlung, Analyse und Integration von Daten. Dazu werden Methoden und Werkzeuge entwickelt, mit deren Hilfe große und unübersichtliche Datenmengen verschiedener Quellen verantwortungsvoll und objektiv in Information und Wissen übersetzt werden können. Als interdisziplinäres Fach kombiniert die Angewandte Statistik mathematisch-statistische Kenntnisse mit Elementen der Informatik und verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen.

Name des Studienfachs:
Angewandte Statistik
Abschluss:
Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit:
4 Semester
Studienbeginn:
Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Fakultät)

Lernen Sie uns kennen


Inhalte

Die Angewandte Statistik ist eine Schlüsseldisziplin der Informationsgesellschaft. Sie beschäftigt sich mit der Sammlung, Analyse und Integration von Daten. Dazu werden Methoden und Werkzeuge entwickelt, mit deren Hilfe große und unübersichtliche Datenmengen verschiedener Quellen verantwortungsvoll und objektiv in Information und Wissen übersetzt werden können. Als interdisziplinäres Fach kombiniert die Angewandte Statistik mathematisch-statistische Kenntnisse mit Elementen der Informatik und verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen.

Der Schwerpunkt in Göttingen liegt dabei im Bereich der statistischen Modellierung. Das Studium vermittelt auf solidem mathematischem Niveau die methodischen Kenntnisse und hat gleichzeitig die Anwendung im Blick. Teil des Studiums ist ein statistisches Praktikum. Studierende müssen ein Anwendungsgebiet wählen, in dem sie vertiefende Veranstaltungen belegen.

Sowohl in Wirtschaft und Industrie als auch in zahlreichen modernen Forschungsgebieten besteht ein hoher Bedarf an gut qualifiziertem Nachwuchs mit vertieften Statistik-Kenntnissen. Generell kommen Statistiker*innen überall dort zum Einsatz, wo basierend auf komplexen Datenstrukturen und unter Unsicherheit Entscheidungen zu treffen sind.

Mögliche Arbeitgeber sind insbesondere Versicherungen und Rückversicherungen, Banken, der IT-Bereich, Unternehmensberatungen, Entwicklungs- und Forschungsabteilungen in Unternehmen, Unternehmen der Pharmabranche, öffentliche Forschungsinstitute, Hochschulen und Universitäten, sowie statistische Ämter. Die Berufsaussichten für Statistiker*innen sind hervorragend und werden dies auf absehbare Zeit auch bleiben.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Der Masterstudiengang Angewandte Statistik ist auf vier Semester ausgelegt. Im 1.-3. Semester erlangen die Studierenden in den Modulen des Pflichtbereichs grundlegende Kenntnisse der statistischen Inferenz, statistischer Modelle sowie der statistischen Modellierung. Im Wahlpflichtbereich vertiefen sie ihre Kenntnisse der statistischen Modellierung sowie des gewählten Anwendungsgebietes.

Als Anwendungsgebiete stehen derzeit Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Lebenswissenschaften (Life Sciences), Informatik und die empirische Sozialforschung zur Auswahl. Darüber hinaus erarbeiten die Studierenden im Rahmen eines statistischen Praktikums in Kooperation mit einem Praxispartner statistische Lösungen zu einer vorgegebenen Problemstellung. Das 4. Semester ist für die Erstellung der Masterarbeit vorgesehen.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang sowie eine detaillierte Auflistung der angebotenen Module/Lehrveranstaltungen finden Sie auf der Studiengang-Webseite der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Empfohlener Studienverlauf

Modulverzeichnis

Ordnungen


Bewerbung

Bewerbungsfristen

Bitte bewerben Sie sich vom

  • 1. April bis 15. Mai für das Wintesemester
Sie können diesen Studiengang jeweils nur zum Wintersemester beginnen.

Vorstudium

  • Mindestens sechssemestriges Studium mit Bachelor-Abschluss oder gleichwertigem Abschluss im Umfang von mindestens 180 ECTS-Anrechnungspunkten im Studiengang Statistik, Mathematik, Informatik, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Agrarökonomie oder in einer fachlich eng verwandten Fachrichtung (z.B. empirische Sozialwissenschaften und Psychologie).
  • Zum Bewerbungszeitpunkt müssen mindestens 150 der 180 ECTS nachgewiesen werden. Ist dies nicht der Fall, muss die Bewerbung abgelehnt werden.

Sprachvoraussetzungen

  • Englischkenntnisse
  • Deutschkenntnisse, sofern Deutsch nicht Ihre Muttersprache ist.

Einblicke

Einblicke

Spezialisierung in 11 Masterstudiengängen

Nach dem Bachelor­studium können Sie an der Fakultät in 11 konsekutiven Master­studien­gängen Ihr Wissen vertiefen und ausbauen. Die Fakultät bietet Master­studien­gänge in der Betriebs­wirtschafts­lehre, Volks­wirtschafts­lehre, Wirtschafts­informatik, Wirtschafts­pädagogik, Angewandten Statistik und Wirtschafts- und Sozial­geschichte an. Einige Master­studien­gänge beinhalten sogar ein Doppel­abschluss­programm mit renommierten Universitäten in Europa, Süd­afrika und China. Sehen Sie im Video, warum es sich lohnt, in Göttingen zu studieren.


Stadt Göttingen


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Fragen zum Bewerbungs- und Zulassungsverfahren

Service für immatrikulierte Studierende
Georg-August-Universität
Service-Center für Studierende
Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Studienberatung
Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
37073 Göttingen

Oeconomicum, 1. Obergeschoss
Raum 1.135

Tel.: +49-551 39 28800

studienberatung@wiwi.uni- goettingen.de

www.service-center.wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

Spezifische Fachberatung

Für Studieninteressierte und bei Fragen zum Zulassungsverfahren
Zentrum für Statistik
Georg-August Universität Göttingen
Humboldtallee 3
37073 Göttingen

E-Mail