In publica commoda

History of Global Markets (M.A.)

Features

Corporations - Globalization - Mass Consumption: How did modern economies and consumer societies emerge? Such questions are investigated at the Institute for Economic and Social History. This interdisciplinary programme, with a historical core, uses a wide variety of explanatory approaches from economics, history and the social sciences. While economics and markets are central, however, this is not a programme for students wanting to focus on business or entrepreneurship in a practical perspective.

Name:
Economic and Social History
Degree:
Master of Arts (MA)
Options:
Multiple Degree
Standard period of study:
4 semesters
Start:
summer and winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
restricted application and admission procedures

Get to know us

Programme specific Gespräch Studierende Sommer Campus 720px

Orientation week

For first semester students

Ranking Innenhof OEC 720px

CHE-Ranking 2020

Outstanding ratings

Programme specific LSG Tischgruppe 720px

Information days

Master degrees at our faculty


Details

The Master's degree programme History of Global Markets is devoted to exploring questions of globally integrated markets from a historical perspective. Capital, labour, knowledge: factors of production are increasingly allocated competitively and across national borders. Firms and consumers find themselves interlinked through a growing network of global markets. Where did these developments originate, and how can they be understood? This degree programme imparts the analytical skills of economic and social history, and combines them with building a profile either in economics, business studies, or the social sciences and history. Our focus is on the global economy, business history, and the history of consumption.

The master has a European multiple degree option called "Global Markets, Local Creativities" (GLOCAL). Students can choose this option and gain multiple degree diplomas/parchments - one from each Consortium partner - or study the master's degree programme History of Global Markets completely in Göttingen and complete it with a Master of Arts degree.

GLOCAL is a two-year Master's programme that leverages the complementary expertise, resources and networks of Economic and Social History, Business, History and Economics to provide a profoundly interdisciplinary programme and international learning experience. The following universities are involved in the programme: Glasgow (UK), Barcelona (Spain), Rotterdam (The Netherlands), Uppsala (Sweden), Bogotá (Colombia) und Kyoto (Japan). For further information please see: www.globallocal-erasmusmundus.eu

Proficiency in German or English is required. A good knowledge of both English and German is recommended.

A Master's degree in economics and social history (History of Global Markets) offers numerous career opportunities for graduates. These include, for example, subject-related activities in the (historical) communications of corporate entities and banks, in business journalism, in (historical) marketing and public relations, in economic research institutes and consulting firms, in museums and exhibitions, and in archiving (especially economic and corporate archiving). Get to know the different professional fields of our graduates in the alumni portraits , e.g. especially the portrait of Alexander Ziehe, who studied economic and social history at our Faculty (see category "Economics"/ in German).

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

The objective of the master's degree programme is the systematic, in-depth study of the subject of economic and social history. The curriculum consists of a "convergence area" (18 credits), a "compulsory area" of economic and social history (30 credits), an "elective area history of global markets" (12 credits) and, finally, a "profile area" (30 credits). In addition, students have to write a master's thesis within a period of 20 weeks. The written master's thesis (30 credits) is prepared by participating in a project seminar (6 credits, part of the compulsory area).

In the convergence area, the students´ different backgrounds and qualifications will be taken into account: graduates of bachelor programmes in history will attend basic courses economics, while graduates with bachelor degrees in economics will attend courses with a historical emphasis.

Specialisation takes place within the "profile area" by developing theoretical and methodological profiles in conjunction with other disciplines that are closely related to economic and social history. Students with an "Economy & Institutions" profile will focus on (macro) economics modules. Students with a "Business & Management" profile will concentrate on business management modules and students with the "Society & Culture" profile will place their focus on historical and sociological modules. Students in the "Globalization" profile, finally, will work closely with area specialists for economic development in Asia and other regions outside Europe.

Detailed information about the study programme as well as a detailed listing of the modules/courses offered can be found on the programme website of the Faculty of Business and Economics.

Recommended course of studies

Module directory

Regulations


Application

Application deadlines

  • April 1 to May 15 to commence studies in the winter semester (October)
  • October 1 to November 15 to commence studies in the summer semester (April)
You can start this degree programme in either the winter or summer semester.

Previous Education

  • A minimum of six semesters of study culminating in a Bachelor’s degree or an equivalent course of study with a minimum of 180 ECTS credits in the subject of economics or a closely related subject.
  • Applicants must have completed at least 150 of the 180 ECTS credits at the time of application. Unfortunately, we cannot consider applications that do not meet this requirement.

Previous Education

  • German language skills, if German is not your native language.
  • Proof of German language skills is not required for applicants whose native language is English or who have sufficient knowledge of English.

Impressions

Impressions

Specialization in 11 Master's programmes

After the Bachelor's degree you can deepen and expand your knowledge in 11 consecutive Master's degree programmes at the faculty. The faculty offers Master's programmes in Business Administration, Economics, Business Information Systems, Business and Human Resource Education, Applied Statistics and History of Global Markets. Some Master programmes even include a double degree programme with renowned universities in Europe, South Africa and China. See in the video (in German) why it is worthwhile to study in Göttingen.


Göttingen City


Our Campus


Your studies


Contact

For questions on application and admission

For enrolled students

Service Centre for Students
Faculty of Business and Economics
Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
37073 Göttingen
Oeconomicum, 1st Floor

Phone: +49-551 39 28800

studienberatung@wiwi.uni-goettingen.de
www.service-center.wiwi.uni-goettingen.de


Academic Advising

For prospective students:
Dr. Stefan Hördler
Chair of Economic and Social History
Faculty of Business and Economics
Georg-August Universität Göttingen
Platz der Göttinger Sieben 5
37073 Göttingen

Room: MZG 6.156

Phone: + 49 (0)551 / 39-24418
E-Mail

In publica commoda

History of Global Markets (M.A.)

Steckbrief

Unternehmen - Globalisierung - Massenkonsum: Wie sind die moderne Wirtschaft und die modernen Gesellschaften entstanden? Am Institut für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte werden diese Fragen erforscht. Das interdisziplinäre, im Kern historische, Fach nutzt vielfältige Erklärungsansätze aus den Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften.

Name:
History of Global Markets
Abschluss:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Optionen:
Multiple Degree
Regelstudienzeit:
4 Semester
Studienbeginn:
jedes Winter- und Sommersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Fakultät)

Lernen Sie uns kennen


Inhalte

Der Studiengang History of Global Markets kann durchgehend sowohl auf Deutsch als auch auf Englisch studiert werden. Grund hierfür ist die parallele Einrichtung des englischsprachigen Erasmus Mundus Master Degree Programmes "Global Markets, Local Creativities" (GLOCAL), welches gemeinsam mit den folgenden Universitäten durchgeführt wird: Glasgow (UK), Barcelona (Spanien), Rotterdam (Niederlande), Uppsala (Schweden), Bogotá (Kolumbien) und Kyoto (Japan). Studierende haben jetzt also die Möglichkeit, das zweijährige Erasmus Mundus Master Degree Programm zu absolvieren oder komplett in Göttingen den Masterstudiengang History of Global Markets zu studieren.

Der interdisziplinäre Masterstudiengang History of Global Markets widmet sich Fragen der historischen Genese global integrierter Märkte. Ob Kapital, Arbeit oder Wissen: Produktionsfaktoren werden zunehmend wettbewerbsförmig und über nationale Grenzen hinweg alloziert. Unternehmen und Konsument*innen werden durch ein weltumspannendes Netz von Marktbeziehungen zueinander in Verbindung gesetzt. Woher rühren diese Entwicklungen und wie lassen sie sich verstehen?

Der Studiengang kombiniert die Vermittlung wirtschaftshistorischer Analysekompetenzen mit einer Profilbildung in wirtschafts-, sozial- oder geschichtswissenschaftlichen Feldern. Die wirtschaftshistorischen Schwerpunkte liegen dabei auf der Globalgeschichte, Unternehmensgeschichte und Konsumgeschichte.

Interessierte am Erasmus Mundus Programm Global Markets, Local Creativities (GLOCAL) bewerben sich direkt an der Universität Glasgow. GLOCAL wird als Erasmus Mundus Studiengang von der EU gefördert, nähere Informationen erhalten Sie hier: www.globallocal-erasmusmundus.eu

Es müssen alternativ sehr gute Deutsch- oder Englischkenntnisse nachgewiesen werden. Gute Kenntnisse in der jeweils anderen Sprache werden dringend empfohlen.

Als Absolvent*innen des Masterstudiengangs eröffnen sich Ihnen zahlreiche Berufsfelder. Dazu gehören fachbezogene Tätigkeiten zum Beispiel in der (Historischen) Kommunikation von Unternehmen und Banken, im Wirtschaftsjournalismus, im (Geschichts-)Marketing und in Public Relations, in Wirtschaftsforschungsinstituten und Unternehmensberatungen, im Museums- und Ausstellungswesen sowie im Archivbereich (insbesondere Wirtschafts- und Unternehmensarchive). Lernen Sie die unterschiedlichen Berufsfelder unserer Absolvent*innen in den Alumni-Porträts kennen, z.B. insbesondere das Porträt von Alexander Ziehe, der an der Fakultät Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte studiert hat (Rubrik VWL).

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Die Zielsetzung des Masterstudiums ist die wissenschaftliche Durchdringung des Fachgebiets Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte. Der Studiengang setzt sich zusammen aus einem Konvergenzbereich (18 Credits), einem Pflichtbereich Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte (30 Credits), einem Wahlpflichtbereich History of Global Markets (12 Credits) und einem Profilbereich (30 Credits). Darüber hinaus müssen die Studierenden innerhalb von 20 Wochen eine Masterarbeit schreiben. Die schriftliche Masterarbeit (30 Credits) wird durch die Teilnahme an dem Projektseminar (6 Credits, Teil des Pflichtbereichs) vorbereitet.

Im Konvergenzbereich werden die unterschiedlichen fachlichen Vorqualifikationen der Studierenden berücksichtigt und Lücken geschlossen: Absolvent*innen historischer Bachelorstudiengänge besuchen ökonomische Grundlagenveranstaltungen. Absolvent*innen ökonomischer Bachelorstudiengänge besuchen historische Grundlagenveranstaltungen.

Im Profilbereich erfolgt eine Spezialisierung durch den gezielten Aufbau von Kompetenzen in einer der theoretisch-methodisch mit der Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte eng verbundenen Nachbardisziplinen. Wählbar sind die Profile "Economy & Institutions", "Business & Management", "Society & Culture" sowie "Globalization". Studierende mit Profil "Economy & Institutions" legen einen Schwerpunkt auf volkswirtschaftliche Module, Studierende mit Profil "Business & Management" auf betriebswirtschaftliche Module. Studierende mit Profil "Society & Culture" konzentrieren sich auf geschichtswissenschaftliche und soziologische Module. Studierende mit Profil "Globalization" arbeiten schließlich mit Expert*innen für ökonomische Entwicklung in Asien und anderen Regionen außerhalb Europas zusammen.

Ausführliche Informationen zum Studiengang sowie eine detaillierte Auflistung der angebotenen Module/Lehrveranstaltungen finden Sie auf der Studiengang-Webseite der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Empfohlener Studienverlauf

Modulverzeichnis

Ordnungen


Bewerbung

Bewerbungsfristen

Bitte bewerben Sie sich vom

  • 1. April bis 15. Mai für das Wintesemester
  • 1. Oktober bis 15. November für das Sommersemester
Sie können diesen Studiengang jeweils zum Winter- und zum Sommersemester beginnen.

Vorstudium

  • Mindestens sechssemestriges Studium mit Bachelor-Abschluss oder gleichwertigem Abschluss im Umfang von mindestens 180 ECTS-Anrechnungspunkten in den Studiengängen "Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte", "Neuere und Neueste Geschichte", "Volkswirtschaftslehre", "Betriebswirtschaftslehre", "Soziologie" oder "Politikwissenschaft" oder in einer fachlich eng verwandten Fachrichtung.
  • Zum Bewerbungszeitpunkt müssen mindestens 150 der 180 ECTS nachgewiesen werden. Ist dies nicht der Fall, muss die Bewerbung abgelehnt werden.

Sprachvoraussetzungen

  • Deutschkenntnisse, sofern Deutsch nicht Ihre Muttersprache ist.
  • Der Nachweis von Deutschkenntnissen ist entbehrlich für Bewerber*innen, deren Muttersprache Englisch ist oder die über ausreichende Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache verfügen.

Einblicke

Einblicke

Spezialisierung in 11 Masterstudiengängen

Nach dem Bachelor­studium können Sie an der Fakultät in 11 konsekutiven Master­studien­gängen Ihr Wissen vertiefen und ausbauen. Die Fakultät bietet Master­studien­gänge in der Betriebs­wirtschafts­lehre, Volks­wirtschafts­lehre, Wirtschafts­informatik, Wirtschafts­pädagogik, Angewandten Statistik und Wirtschafts- und Sozial­geschichte an. Einige Master­studien­gänge beinhalten sogar ein Doppel­abschluss­programm mit renommierten Universitäten in Europa, Süd­afrika und China. Sehen Sie im Video, warum es sich lohnt, in Göttingen zu studieren.


Stadt Göttingen


Unser Campus


Ihr Studium


Kontakt

Fragen zum Bewerbungs- und Zulassungsverfahren

Service für immatrikulierte Studierende
Georg-August-Universität
Service-Center für Studierende
Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Studienberatung
Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
37073 Göttingen

Oeconomicum, 1. Obergeschoss
Raum 1.135

Tel.: +49-551 39 28800

studienberatung@wiwi.uni- goettingen.de

www.service-center.wiwi.uni-goettingen.de

Spezifische Fachberatung

Für Studieninteressierte:
Dr. Stefan Hördler
Professur für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte
Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Georg-August Universität Göttingen
Platz der Göttinger Sieben 5
37073 Göttingen

Raum: MZG 6.156

Tel. + 49 (0)551 / 39-24418
E-Mail