In publica commoda

Cultures and Languages of the Mediterranean (M.A.)

Features

Interdisciplinary– practically and professionally orientated

Are you interested in the countries, languages and cultures of the Mediterranean region? Learn more about the history of this important global cultural area as well as its present social, political, economic and cultural development, and become a multilingual expert on Mediterranean countries!

Name:
Cultures and Languages of the Mediterranean
Degree:
Master of Arts (M. A.)
Teaching Language:
German
Standard period of studies:
4 Semester
Start of studies:
summer and winter semester
Admission:
Restricted (Application to the Faculty of Humanities)

Get to know us

Programme specific Studierende Philosophische Fakultät 720px

Lecture series

„Perspectives of the Mediterranean Studies“ (in german)

Programme specific Studierende Philosophische Fakultät 720px

Social media channels

Instagram & Facebook

Cross-programme Studenten Sport Fußball 2

Student life

Living, finances and culture


Details

The Master of Arts Cultures and Languages of the Mediterranean is an application-oriented, interdisciplinary degree programme. It teaches knowledge of and professional competence in the Mediterranean region, which covers the present era and simultaneously, takes an in-depth look at this region’s history. In this way, Mediterranean experts can be trained who possess advanced language skills as well as subject-related knowledge in the fields of Mediterranean cultures, history, societies, politics and social affairs.

There are 13 institutions of the Faculty of Humanities, which take part in this degree programme (as well as the faculty for Geoscience) and offer a combination of subject-related expertise regarding the Mediterranean region, which is unique in Germany. In this way, there is an impressive network of expertise and study programmes, including ancient and modern languages of the Mediterranean and their accompanying literary- and cultural studies as well as regional studies.

Students benefit from this interdisciplinary cooperation and acquire knowledge on currently vital topics such as migration, border studies, transculturality and transnationality, ethnic diversity, hybridization and more.

The Master’s degree in Cultures and Languages of the Mediterranean qualifies graduates for occupational fields and employers both inside and outside Germany, where advanced language skills and in-depth knowledge on the Mediterranean are required. These include, for example, cultural and welfare institutions, humanitarian agencies, NGOs, companies operating internationally in the Mediterranean region, politics and political consulting, language and cultural teaching, integration work, tourism, press and public relations work, publishing companies, media, museums or archives.

Related and consecutive programmes


Structure

The Master’s degree in Cultures and Languages of the Mediterranean is a Single-Honours Master programme (78 C). The core-subject studies are divided into compulsory modules, elective compulsory modules and elective modules. In addition, key competencies must be acquired to the extent of 12 credits. The degree programme concludes with a Master’s thesis module.

Regulations and module directory


Application

Previous studies

  • B.A.-Degree or equivalent
  • at least 150 ETCS at the time of application
  • Eligibility:
    • You apply with a B.A.-Degree in philological or cultural studies, with at least 50 C in Assyriology, Egyptology/Coptology, Studies of Ancient Cultures, Arab Studies or Islamic Studies, Archaeology of the Grecian, Latin or Byzantine World, French Studies, History, Greek Philology, Iranian Studies, Art History, Italian Studies, Cultural Anthropology/European Ethnology, Latin Philology, Latin Philology of the Medieval and Modern Times, Portuguese Studies, Slavic Philology, Spanish Studies, Turkish Studies or in an equivalent field area.

Language requirements

  • If your native language is not German, you must demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the German language at level C1.
  • Furthermore, you have knowledge on B1 level (or equivalent) in a language relevant to Mediterranean:
    • Akkadian, Ancient Greek, Old Church Slavonic, Ancient and Middle Egypt, Ancient and Middle Aramaic, Ancient and Middle Hebraic, Arabic (Classic Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic as well as Modern Arabic, especially Arabic Dialects in Western (Maghrebi), Levantine Arabic and Egyptian Arabic), Coptic, Classic and Medieval Latin, Sumerian, Ugaritic, Albanian, Berber Languages, Bosnian, Bulgarian, French, Greek, Italian, Judaeo-Spanish, Catalan, Corsican, Croatian, Kurdish, Maltese, Macedonian, Montenegrin, Modern Hebrew, Occitan, Persian, Portuguese, Romanian, Sardinian, Serbian, Spanish, Syriac Aramaic, Turkish
    • If the language is certified by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages, it is needed to proof at least B1 level. For other languages it is required to proof studies of at least 20 C, for Middle Egyptian, Coptic and Kurdish at least 12 C.
  • The proof can be provided by reports, language certificates or other evidence of accomplishment in one of the languages mentioned above.
  • After enrollment, the proficiency has to be provided to the Faculty of Humanities until the 30th of September. The proficiency is a requirement for enrollment, there is no conditional enrollment.

Contact

Study and examination advice Faculty of Humanities

Lisa Katharina Müller and Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

Email: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Questions on the programme

Philip Stavros Vrahas

Philosophische Fakultät
Seminar für Romanische Philologie
Humboldtallee 19
37073 Göttingen
Raum: SRP 3.204

E-Mail: philipstavros.vrahas@uni-goettingen.de
Homepage

Questions on the programme

Ali B. Langroudi, M.A.

Seminar für Iranistik
Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14
37073 Göttingen
Room: KWZ.2.812

Phone: +49-551 39 24396
ali.balaeilangroudi@uni-goettingen.de
Homepage

Questions regarding applications

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1st floor)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

In publica commoda

Kulturen und Sprachen des mediterranen Raums (M.A.)

Steckbrief

Interdisziplinär– praxis- und berufsorientiert

Sie interessieren sich für die Länder, Sprachen und Kulturen des Mittelmeerraums? Lernen Sie die Geschichte sowie aktuelle soziale, politische, ökonomische und kulturelle Entwicklungen dieses wichtigen globalen Kulturraums kennen und werden Sie mehrsprachige*r Experte*in für Mittelmeerländer!

Name:
Kulturen und Sprachen des mediterranen Raums
Abschluss:
Master of Arts (M.A.)
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Regelstudienzeit:
4 Semester
Studienbeginn:
Sommer- und Wintersemester
Zulassung:
Bewerbung bei der Fakultät

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fachspezifisch Studierende Philosophische Fakultät 720px

Ringvorlesung

„Perspektiven der Mediterranistik“

Fachspezifisch Studierende Philosophische Fakultät 720px

Soziale Medien

Instagram & Facebook

Fächerübergreifend Studenten Sport Fußball 2

Wohnen und Leben

Wohnen, Finanzierung und Freizeit


Inhalte

Der M.A. Kulturen und Sprachen des mediterranen Raums ist ein anwendungsorientierter, interdisziplinär ausgerichteter Studiengang. Er vermittelt Wissen und Sachkompetenz über den Mittelmeerraum, das aktualitätsbezogen ist und gleichzeitig die historische Tiefe dieses Raums in den Blick nimmt. So können Mittelmeerexpert*innen ausgebildet werden, die über fundierte Sprachkenntnisse verfügen wie ebenso über thematisches Wissen in den Bereichen mediterrane Kulturen, Geschichte, Gesellschaften, Politik und Soziales.

Am Studiengang beteiligt sind 13 Einrichtungen der Philosophischen Fakultät (sowie die Geowissenschaften), die in deutschlandweit einzigartiger Weise Fachexpertise über den Mittelmeerraum vereinen. Vorhanden ist auf diese Weise ein beeindruckendes Expertise-Netz und Studienangebot an alten und modernen Mittelmeersprachen, diesen zugeordneten Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaften sowie Landes- und Regionalwissenschaften.

Studierende profitieren von dieser interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit und erwerben Kenntnisse in derzeit so wichtigen Themen wie Migration, Border-Studies, Transkulturalität sowie Transnationalität, ethnische Diversität, Hybridisierungen u.v.m.

Der Abschluss des Master of Arts Kulturen und Sprachen des mediterranen Raums qualifiziert für Berufsfelder und Arbeitgeber im In- und Ausland, in denen umfassende Sprach- und Sachkenntnisse über den mediterranen Raum erforderlich sind. Dazu gehören z.B. Kultur- und Sozialeinrichtungen, Hilfsorganisationen, NGOs, im Mittelmeerraum international operierende Wirtschaftsunternehmen, Politik und Politikberatung, Sprach- und Kulturvermittlung, Integrationsarbeit, Tourismus, Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Verlage, Medien, Museen oder Archive.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Der Master Kulturen und Sprachen des mediterranen Raums ist ein Monomaster (78 C). Das Fachstudium gliedert sich in Pflichtstudium, Wahlpflichtstudium und Wahlstudium, weiterhin sind Schlüsselkompetenzen im Umfang von 12 C zu erwerben. Das Studium schließt mit einem Masterarbeitsmodul ab.

4. Semester

Masterarbeit

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Bewerbung

Vorstudium

  • B.A.-Abschluss oder vergleichbarer Abschluss
  • mind. 150 ECTS zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung
  • Fachliche Spezialisierung:
    • Sie bewerben sich mit einem abgeschlossenen philologischen oder kulturwissenschaftlichen B.A. Studium, das einen Nachweis von wenigstens 50 C in Altorientalistik, Ägyptologie/Koptologie, Antiken Kulturen, Arabistik/Islamwissenschaften, Archäologie der Griechischen, Römischen und Byzantinischen Welt, Französisch/Galloromanistik, Geschichte, Griechischer Philologie, Iranistik, Kunstgeschichte, Italienisch/Italianistik, Kulturanthropologie/Europäische Ethnologie, Lateinischer Philologie, Lateinischer Philologie des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit, Portugiesisch/Lusitanistik, Slavischer Philologie, Spanisch/Hispanistik, Turkologie oder in vergleichbaren Fachgebieten beinhaltet.

Sprachvoraussetzungen

  • Falls Ihre Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist, müssen Sie ausreichende Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache auf dem Niveau C1 nachweisen.
  • Weiter besitzen Sie Kenntnisse auf Niveau B1 (bzw. Äquivalent) in einer für den Mittelmeerraum relevanten Sprache:
    • Akkadisch, Altgriechisch, Altkirchenslavisch, Alt- und Mittelägyptisch, Alt- und Mittelaramäisch, Alt- und Mittelhebräisch, Arabisch (Klassisches Arabisch, modernes Standardarabisch sowie moderne arabische, insbes. maghrebinische und syro-libanesisch-palästinensische Dialekte und ägyptisches Arabisch), Koptisch, Klassisches Latein und Mittellatein, Sumerisch, Ugaritisch, Albanisch, Berbersprachen, Bosnisch, Bulgarisch, Französisch, Neugriechisch, Italienisch, Judenspanisch, Katalanisch, Korsisch, Kroatisch, Kurdisch, Maltesisch, Mazedonisch, Montenegrinisch, Neuhebräisch (Ivrit), Okzitanisch, Persisch, Portugiesisch, Rumänisch, Sardisch, Serbisch, Spanisch, Syro-Aramäisch, Türkisch
    • Handelt es sich um Sprachen, die durch den Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmen (GER) erfasst werden, so muss wenigstens Niveau B1 nachgewiesen werden. Für Sprachen, die nicht durch den GER erfasst werden, müssen Leistungen im Umfang von wenigstens 20 C nachgewiesen werden, im Falle der Sprachen Mittelägyptisch, Koptisch und Kurdisch wenigstens 12 C.
  • Der Nachweis der Sprachkenntnisse erfolgt durch Zeugnisse, Sprachzertifikate oder andere Nachweise ausgewiesener Leistungen in einer der genannten Sprachen.
  • Die Sprachnachweise sind bei Einschreibung bis zum 30.09. gegenüber der Philosophischen Fakultät zu erbringen; die Nachweise sind Immatrikulationsvoraussetzung, eine bedingte Einschreibung findet nicht statt.

Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung Philosophische Fakultät

Lisa Katharina Müller und Eva Wolff

Humboldtallee 17
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 21888 (Müller)
Tel.: +49 (0)551 39 26713 (Wolff)

E-Mail: studienberatung@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Dr. phil. Mailyn Lübke

Seminar für Romanische Philologie
Humboldtallee 19
37073 Göttingen
Raum: SRP 1.306

Tel.: 0551/39–33595 (zzt. nur per E-Mail erreichbar)
mailyn.luebke@uni-goettingen.de
Homepage

Spezifische Fachberatung

Ali B. Langroudi, M.A.

Seminar für Iranistik
Heinrich-Düker-Weg 14
37073 Göttingen
Raum: KWZ.2.812

Tel.: +49-551 39 24396
E-Mail: ali.balaeilangroudi@uni-goettingen.de
Homepage

Fragen zur Bewerbung

Snezana Weber M.A.

Humboldtallee 17
Room 1.110 (1. Stock)
DE-37073 Göttingen

Tel: +49 (0)551 39 26717
Fax: +49 (0)551 39 4010

Email: master.koordination@phil.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage