Echange Studies: Global Exchange Programme

After applying at your home university and being nominated for the Global Exchange Programme, you can register at the University of Göttingen. Please use our instructions for this "Procedure in 8 Steps – Global Exchange Programme".

Registration deadlines: June 1 (for the winter semester),

Nomination deadlines: April 15 (for the winter semester), October 15 (for the summer semester)

Language skill requirements

The University of Göttingen does not require proof of language proficiency, but we have clear guidelines on the language skills required for you to study here successfully. We leave it up to our partners to select students so that they have the appropriate language skills. Our guidelines are:

Language of instruction English: B2 level in English according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages for students from non-English speaking countries. A B1 level in German is recommended.

  • Examples of comparable minimum scores (for your reference): TOEFL iBT: 79 – 93 IELTS: 6.5

Language of instruction German: German language skills at B2 level according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages

  • Examples of comparable minimum scores (for your reference): Goethe BE Test DAF TDN

Information on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages

German language courses

Find more information about German language courses here.

Please apply for a visa at a German embassy or consulate in your home country. For this purpose, you will also need the letter of admission and the invitation that we will send you in the Welcome Package.

Allow enough time, as processing can take several weeks.

Health insurance

In Germany, health insurance is mandatory for all students. You cannot be enrolled without valid proof of health insurance. You need a contract with a German public health insurance company. We do not accept private insurance, as some treatments are not covered. For further information, please contact Mrs. Xiaoting He.

Liability and accident insurance

You are visiting a friend and accidentally trip. You fall against the table and his tablet breaks – just one example of unintentionally causing damage or accidents. A large part of the German population has private liability insurance for this. Although this insurance is not compulsory, we recommend it, as personal injury and/or property damage are covered by it. You are not covered by liability insurance through the University of Göttingen. Please ensure that you have sufficient liability insurance coverage yourself. Private liability insurance costs between 6 and 10 euros per month.

Accident insurance does not come into effect until the beginning of the semester. Please ensure sufficient accident protection for yourself if you arrive before the start of the semester

The University of Göttingen will not pay you a stipend. Inquire at your home university about options for financial support.

Further information for traveling to, arriving in and living in Göttingen. This information is generally intended for international students who are pursuing a degree programme in Göttingen; however, it may also contain helpful information for exchange students.

Contact:

Xiaoting He
Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

Email: incoming@uni-goettingen.de
Phone: +49 551 39-21348
Opening Hours: Mo, Wed, Thu, Fri 10 - 12:30 am
Map (UniTour)

Austauschstudium: Global Exchange Programme

Nach der Bewerbung an Ihrer Heimathochschule und Ihrer Nominierung für das Global Exchange Programme müssen Sie sich an der Universität Göttingen anmelden. Bitte nutzen Sie dafür unsere Anleitung "Ablauf in 8 Schritten".

Anmeldefristen: 01. Dezember (für das Sommersemester), 01. Juni (für das Wintersemester)

Nominierungsfristen: 15. April (für das Wintersemester), 15. Oktober (für das Sommersemester)

Anforderungen Sprachlevel

Die Universität Göttingen fordert keinen Sprachnachweis, aber wir haben klare Richtlinien zu den erforderlichen Sprachkenntnissen, damit Sie hier erfolgreich studieren können. Wir überlassen es unseren Partnern, Studierende so auszuwählen, dass sie die entsprechenden Sprachkenntnisse mitbringen. Unsere Richtlinien sind:

Unterrichtssprache Englisch: B2- Niveau in Englisch laut Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmen für Sprachen für Studierende aus nicht englischsprachigen Ländern. Ein B1- Niveau in Deutsch wird empfohlen.

  • Beispiele für vergleichbare Mindestpunktzahlen (zu Ihrer Orientierung): TOEFL iBT: 79 – 93 IELTS: 6.5

Unterrichtssprache Deutsch: Deutsche Sprachkenntnisse auf B2-Niveau laut Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmen für Sprachen

  • Beispiele für vergleichbare Mindestpunktzahlen (zu Ihrer Orientierung): Goethe BE Test DAF TDN

Informationen zum Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmen für Sprachen

Deutschkurse

Hier finden Sie Informationen zu Deutschkursen.

Beantragen Sie bitte selbstständig ein Visum bei einer deutschen Auslandsvertretung (Botschaften oder Konsulat) in Ihrem Heimatland. Dazu brauchen Sie auch den Zulassungsbescheid und die Einladung, die wir Ihnen im Welcome Package zuschicken.

Planen Sie genügend Zeit ein, da die Bearbeitung mehrere Wochen dauern kann.

Krankenversicherung

In Deutschland ist eine Krankenversicherung für alle Studierenden Pflicht. Ohne gültigen Krankenversicherungsnachweis können Sie nicht immatrikuliert werden. Sie brauchen einen Vertrag mit einer deutschen gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung (german public health insurance). Privatversicherungen werden von uns nicht akzeptiert, da damit einige Behandlungen nicht abgedeckt sind. Weitere Informationen gibt Frau Seack.

Haftpflicht- und Unfallversicherung

Sie sind bei einem Freund zu Besuch und stolpern aus Versehen. Sie fallen auf den Tisch und sein Tablet geht dabei kaputt – nur ein Beispiel für das unbeabsichtigte Verursachen von Schäden oder Unfällen. Ein Großteil der deutschen Bevölkerung besitzt hierfür eine private Haftpflichtversicherung. Obwohl diese Versicherung nicht Pflicht ist, empfehlen wir sie, da Personen- und/oder Sachschäden dadurch abgedeckt sind. Sie sind durch die Universität Göttingen nicht haftpflichtversichert. Bitte sorgen Sie selbst für einen ausreichenden Haftpflichtversicherungsschutz. Eine private Haftpflichtversicherung kostet monatlich zwischen 6 und 10 Euro.

Die Unfallversicherung tritt erst zu Beginn des Semesters in Kraft. Sorgen Sie bitte selbst für ausreichenden Unfallschutz, falls Sie vor Semesterbeginn anreisen.

Die Universität Göttingen zahlt Ihnen kein Stipendium. Erkundigen Sie sich bei Ihrer Heimatuniversität nach Möglichkeiten finanzieller Unterstützung.

Weitere Informationen zu "Anreise, Ankunft und Leben in Göttingen". Diese Informationen richten sich an internationale Studierende, die ein komplettes Studium mit Abschluss in Göttingen absolvieren, sind aber auch für Austauschstudierende hilfreich.

Kontakt:

Christiane Seack
Von-Siebold-Straße 2
37075 Göttingen

E-Mail: christiane.seack@zvw.uni-goettingen.de
Telefon: 0551 39-21348
Fax 0551 39-21349 und 1821348
Sprechzeiten: Mo, Mi, Do & Fr 10:00 - 12:30 Uhr
Lageplan (UniTour)