Faculty of Economic Sciences bid farewell to Spring graduates

The Faculty of Economic Sciences at the University of Göttingen bid farewell to Spring graduates on Friday, 5 June 2015: In the winter semester 2014/ 2015, 311 students received their degrees: 194 students received degrees in the Bachelor's programmes and 117 students successfully completed a Master's programme. In 2014, 34 doctorates received their doctoral diplomas.

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Rübel, Dean of Study, welcomed the participants to the festive event. Then spoke Prof. Dr. Renate Ohr, chairwoman of the Board of Examiners of the Economic Sciences, and Oscar Schroers as representative of the alumni.

Get the flash player here: http://www.adobe.com/flashplayer
External Javascripts are not allowed

Foto: Fotostudio Wilder (all photos you can download from the online-platform flickr)

Awards for outstanding graduates from the Faculty of Economic Sciences in the amount of 1,000 Euros each were also given. The internationally active laboratory and process technology provider Sartorius donated the prize for graduates that is named after the founder of the company. The "Florenz Sartorius-Preis" is awarded to the best graduates in the discipline of Business Administration, Economics, Business Information Systems, and Business and Human Resource Education as well as two distinguished doctoral theses.

The recipients of the graduate prizes in June 2015 are Christine Kaufmann (Master of Science in Finance, Accounting and Taxes), Felix Schafmeister (Bachelor of Arts in Economics), Sebastian Steiner (Bachelor of Science in Business Information Systems) and Hilke Weimeier (Master of Education in Business and Human Resource Education). Dr. Nico Lehmann, Dr. Jörg König and Dr. Malte Reimers were awarded for their doctoral theses. Dr. König and Dr. Reimers are sharing the prize for their doctoral theses in Economics:

  • Dr. Nico Lehmann: "Corporate Governance, Information Intermediation and Earnings Management" (Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Jörg-Markus Hitz)
  • Dr. Jörg König: "Measuring European Economic Integration" (Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Renate Ohr)
  • Dr. Malte Reimers: "The Nexus between Agricultural Productivity, Poverty, and Social Services Provision in Sub-Saharan Africa: An Empirical Analysis" (Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Stephan Klasen, PhD)

Abschlussfeier Juni 2015 Preisträger 365px
Foto: Fotostudio Wilder

(f.l.t.r.) Felix Schafmeister, Christine Kaufmann, Sebastian Steiner, Petra Kirchhoff (Head of Communications, Sartorius AG), Dr. Malte Reimers, Hilke Weimeier, Dr. Jörg König, Dr. Nico Lehmann