Theoretical Particle Physics - Particle Phenomenology


  • May 20: Diboson paper on the arXiv (external link)
  • Apr 20: Neural Importance Sampling paper publish in SciPost (external link)
  • Apr 20: Jet Rates paper published in JHEP (external link)
  • Dec 19: Soft-Drop paper published in JHEP (external link)
  • Nov. 19: Suman Deb joins the group as an MCnetITN short term student
  • Sep 19: MCnet school in Quy Nhon Vietnam (external link)
  • Sep 19: new Sherpa paper published in SciPost (external link)
  • Jun 19: upcoming Fulbright-Cottrell Junior Faculty workshop in Göttingen (external link)
  • Apr 19: paper on full NLO corrections to 3-jet production published in EPJC (external link)
  • Apr 19: Jeremy Baron joined group as an MCnetITN shorterm student
  • Apr 19: Simon Luca Villani joined as an MCnetITN PhD student
  • Apr 19: PhD student Daniel Reichelt won Fulbright fellowship joining FNAL theory group
  • Sep 18: pupil research project scores 1st place in "Jugend Forscht" regional competition (external link)
  • Feb 18: DAAD P.R.I.M.E. fellow Dr. Vincent Theeuwes joins our group (Pressemitteilung)
  • Dec 17: Dr. Berliner-Dr. Ungewitter PhD Thesis Award for our former group member Dr. Enrico Bothmann (Pressemitteilung)
  • Jun 17: Fulbright-Cottrell Award for Prof. Steffen Schumann (Pressemitteilung)


Our group is active in the field of theoretical particle physics and in particular particle-physics phenomenology at high-energy colliders such as the LHC. We develop theoretical methods and tools to predict the outcome of collision experiments in the framework of the Standard Model or New Physics extensions of it. We design strategies to efficiently search for physics beyond the Standard Model. We are involved in the Sherpa Monte Carlo project, a multi-purpose event generator for the LHC.


A complete list of publications from members of the phenomenology group can be found here.

Open Positions and Theses Topics

Our group is regularly looking for new members. We offer bachelor and master as well as PhD theses. Please contact the group leader Prof. Steffen Schumann for further information.