In publica commoda

Spanish and Hispanic American Studies/Spanish (B.A.) (2 subjects)

« El que lee mucho y anda mucho, ve mucho y sabe mucho. »Miguel de Cervantes

Spanish is a world language with currently about 400 million speakers and continuously increasing significance. If you are interested in the Spanish language, literature and culture, from medieval heroic epics to the digital media, study with us! Become a specialist in the cultures of Spanish-speaking countries and regions and their distinctive linguistic characteristics. Discover, for example, what led to the invention of Don Quijote in the Siglo de Oro, or learn more about the fascinating interaction of cultural influences in Latin America.

Name of subject: Spanish and Hispanic American Studies/Spanish
Degree: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2 subjects)
Standard course length: 6 semesters
Start of programme: Winter semester
Language requirements prior to start of programme (evidence required): Knowledge of Spanish

Admission to the winter semester 2018/19:

  • 1st subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • 2nd to 6th subject semester: open admission (enrolment without previous application)
  • International applicants (non-EU): open admission (application to International Student Services)

Subject description

Language requirements prior to start of programme (evidence required)

To start the degree programme, Spanish language proficiency is required at the B1 level of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (GER). This level of proficiency can be proved either by relevant documentary evidence or by passing our aptitude and orientation test. More detailed information can be found under the link “Language requirements” in the right-hand column.

Subject/content/goals

In the course of your Spanish and Hispanic American Studies, you will acquire competencies in numerous different areas:

  • linguistic competence (level C1 GER)
  • intercultural competence
  • ability to conduct scientific work
  • historical perspectives on linguistic, literary and cultural developments
  • regional and country-specific knowledge
  • analytical skills
  • key competencies in communication, investigation methods and information processing
  • knowledge about teaching Spanish as a foreign language

Research areas and research focus

The sections of the Bachelor’s degree programme Spanish and Hispanic American Studies are language practice, literary studies, linguistics, regional and cultural studies and communication skills.

In the area of language practice, you will practice and expand the four skills of listening, reading, speaking and writing on the basis of the European Framework of Reference (from level B1 to C1), to develop your receptive and productive competence in oral and written communication. You will analyse and compare various aspects of German and Spanish grammar. All courses in language practice include some aspects of regional and cultural studies (such as history, culture, politics, etc.) of both Spain and Hispano-America.

The purpose of linguistics is to examine the structure and usage of contemporary Spanish and its historical development (e.g. the description of phonetic structure, vocabulary and grammar). The basic principles, core areas and methods of Spanish linguistics are taught in the relevant courses. We make a point of offering a wide range of courses from traditional Romance language areas, such as historical linguistics, generative syntax and dialectology, as well as covering modern questions of discourse linguistics and cognitive semantics. The goal here is to enable students to carry out independent work using modern linguistic methods (e.g. computational linguistics).

Literary studies deal with the Spanish-language literatures and cultures, and their history from the medieval beginnings to the 21st century. You will be familiarized with various methods of text interpretation and literary theories, whose diversity opens up a great variety of approaches to text analysis and other media forms (e.g. film). In the literary studies courses, some specific eras and works are dealt with in more detail. Some research areas in Ibero-Romance literary studies are the Spanish literature of the Middle Ages and early modern era, as well as the contemporary Spanish and Hispano-American literature, the Hispano-American novel of the 19th century, intermediality (literature and music) and Hispanic gender studies.

In regional and cultural studies, you will acquire basic knowledge about the history, economics, politics, society and culture of Spain and Hispano-America, using theories from the social and cultural sciences. The acquisition of regional and cultural knowledge includes the development of intercultural competence to enable you to reflect on both your own and the foreign culture, and to comprehend the two cultures as dynamic, living and multifaceted systems. In the advanced courses, this basic knowledge is expanded using specific examples.

The degree programme includes one module to impart knowledge about using and designing media to process and present subject-specific content. Here you will also learn how to critically analyse content presented via various media.

Structure of the degree programme

The degree programme consists of several basic and advanced modules in the sections of language practice, linguistics, literary studies and regional and cultural studies, as well as one module of communication skills. The modules are composed of individual courses, for each of which a fixed number of credits can be obtained. These credits reflect the amount of work required to complete the individual courses and are granted separately from the grades.

Studying Spanish in Göttingen

There are so many advantages to studying Spanisch in Göttingen:

  • You learn about Spanish and Hispanic American language and culture in the heart of Germany.
  • You will get personal support in learning groups with small numbers of participants.
  • We have an international teaching staff.
  • A major part of the curriculum is taught in the target language.
  • Your studies are research-oriented thanks to our interdisciplinary cooperation projects.
  • We have a special subject library with more than 100,000 volumes.
  • You can also get into contact with other Romance languages and cultures, if you like.

Possible/recommended profiles

Depending on the targeted occupational field, a combination of the subject Spanish and Hispanic American Studies with subjects of cultural and social sciences is recommended, or, alternatively, with studies of economics and/or law. Studying in Göttingen provides opportunities for innovative, personal combinations from a choice of about 40 subjects.

Occupational fields

For graduates, all types of careers are open which are connected with the Spanish language and culture. Some typical occupational fields are media professions, tourism, publishing, non-governmental and cultural organisations and public relations, for example in internationally active commercial enterprises. The Bachelor’s degree in Spanish and Hispanic American Studies offers an optimal starting point for subsequent specialisation as an interpreter or translator. The University offers many programmes of career guidance and preparation for the job market.

In publica commoda

Spanien- und Hispanoamerikastudien/Spanisch (B.A.) (2-Fächer)

« El que lee mucho y anda mucho, ve mucho y sabe mucho. »Miguel de Cervantes

Spanisch ist eine Weltsprache mit derzeit rund 400 Millionen Sprecherinnen und Sprechern, die kontinuierlich an Bedeutung gewinnt. Wenn Sie Interesse an der spanischen Sprache, Literatur und Kultur haben, vom mittelalterlichen Heldenepos bis zu den digitalen Medien, studieren Sie bei uns: Werden Sie Spezialistin oder Spezialist für die Kulturen der spanischsprachigen Länder und Regionen und ihre sprachlichen Besonderheiten. Erkunden Sie zum Beispiel, wie es zur Erfindung des Don Quijote im Siglo de Oro kam, oder erfahren Sie mehr über das faszinierende Zusammenwirken kultureller Einflüsse in Lateinamerika.

Name des Studienfachs: Spanien- und Hispanoamerikastudien/Spanisch
Abschluss: Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) (2-Fächer)
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester
Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn (Nachweis): Kenntnisse der spanischen Sprache

Zulassung zum Wintersemester 2018/19:

  • 1. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • 2. bis 6. Fachsemester: zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)
  • Internationale Bewerber (Non-EU): zulassungsfrei (Bewerbung bei Studium International)

Darstellung des Studienfachs

Sprachanforderungen vor Studienbeginn (Nachweis):

Für die Aufnahme des Studiums werden Spanisch-Sprachkenntnisse im Umfang von Niveau B1 des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen (GER) vorausgesetzt. Diese können Sie durch bestimmte Dokumente oder durch das Bestehen unseres Eignungs- und Orientierungstests nachweisen. Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter dem Link „Sprachvoraussetzungen“ in der rechten Spalte.

Gegenstand/Inhalte/Zielsetzungen

In Ihrem Spanisch-Studium erwerben Sie vielfältige Kompetenzen:

  • Sprachkompetenz (Niveau C1 GER)
  • interkulturelle Kompetenz
  • Fähigkeit zum wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten
  • historische Perspektiven auf sprachliche, literarische und kulturelle Entwicklungen
  • regionale und landesspezifische Kenntnisse
  • analytische Fähigkeiten
  • Schlüsselkompetenzen in der Kommunikation, Recherche und Informationsbearbeitung

Fachgebiete und Forschungsschwerpunkte

Die Teilbereiche des Bachelor Spanien- und Hispanoamerikastudien sind Sprachpraxis, Literaturwissenschaft, Sprachwissenschaft, Landeswissenschaft und Vermittlungskompetenz.

Im Bereich der Sprachpraxis werden die vier Fertigkeiten (Hören, Lesen, Sprechen und Schreiben) zur Entwicklung der mündlichen und schriftlichen Rezeptions- und Produktionskompetenzen auf der Grundlage des Europäischen Referenzrahmens eingeübt und vertieft (von Niveau B1 bis C1). Sie analysieren vergleichend verschiedene Aspekte der deutschen und spanischen Grammatik. Alle Lehrveranstaltungen in der Sprachpraxis berücksichtigen landeswissenschaftliche Aspekte (Geschichte, Kultur, Politik, usw.) sowohl Spaniens als auch Hispanoamerikas.

Die Sprachwissenschaft (oder Linguistik) untersucht die Struktur und den Gebrauch des Spanischen in der Gegenwart und seine geschichtliche Entwicklung (z. B. die Beschreibung von Lautstruktur, Wortschatz und Grammatik). In den Lehrveranstaltungen werden die Grundlagen, Kernbereiche und Methoden der spanischen Sprachwissenschaft vermittelt. Wir legen Wert darauf, ein breit gefächertes Angebot an Veranstaltungen sowohl aus den traditionellen romanistischen Bereichen wie der Historischen Linguistik, der Generativen Syntax und der Dialektologie zu gewährleisten als auch modernen Fragestellungen der Diskurslinguistik und der Kognitiven Semantik gerecht zu werden. Ziel ist dabei auch, die Studierenden zum eigenständigen Arbeiten mit modernen linguistischen Methoden zu befähigen (z.B. Computerlinguistik).

Die Literaturwissenschaft beschäftigt sich mit den spanischsprachigen Kulturen und Literaturen und ihrer Geschichte von den Anfängen im Mittelalter bis ins 21. Jahrhundert. Die Studierenden werden in verschiedene Methoden der Textauslegung und in literaturwissenschaftliche Theorien eingeführt, deren Vielfalt eine Fülle an Zugängen für die Analyse von Texten und anderen medialen Formen (z.B. Film) eröffnet. In den Lehrveranstaltungen werden bestimmte Epochen und Werke vertieft erschlossen. Forschungsgebiete der iberoromanischen Literaturwissenschaften sind die spanische Literatur des Mittelalters und der frühen Neuzeit, die spanische und hispanoamerikanische Gegenwartsliteratur, der hispanoamerikanische Roman des 19. Jahrhunderts, Intermedialität (Literatur und Musik) sowie die hispanistische Geschlechterforschung.

Die Landeswissenschaft vermittelt grundlegende Kenntnisse über Geschichte, Wirtschaft, Politik, Gesellschaft und Kultur Spaniens und Hispanoamerikas unter Verwendung sozial- und kulturwissenschaftlicher Theorien. Der Erwerb von landeswissenschaftlichen Kenntnissen beinhaltet den Aufbau einer interkulturellen Kompetenz, die ermöglichen soll, über die eigene und die fremde Kultur zu reflektieren und beide als dynamisches, lebendiges und vielfältiges System zu verstehen. In den weiterführenden Lehrveranstaltungen werden die Grundkenntnisse anhand konkreter Beispiele vertieft.

Das Studium beinhaltet ein Modul zur Vermittlung von Kenntnissen über die Nutzung und Gestaltung von Medien bei der Aufarbeitung fachspezifischer Inhalte. Hier lernen Sie auch, die über die verschiedenen Medien vermittelten Inhalte kritisch zu analysieren.

Aufbau des Studiums

Das Studium besteht aus Basis- und Aufbaumodulen in den Teilbereichen Sprachpraxis, Sprach-, Literatur- und Landeswissenschaft sowie aus einem Modul im Bereich der Vermittlungskompetenz. Die Module setzen sich aus einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen zusammen, für die jeweils eine bestimmte Anzahl an Credits vorgesehen ist. Diese Credits bilden den Arbeitsaufwand für die einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen ab und werden unabhängig von der Note vergeben.

Spanisch studieren in Göttingen

  • spanische und hispanoamerikanische Sprache und Kultur im Herzen Deutschlands
  • individuelle Betreuung in Lerngruppen mit überschaubarer Teilnehmerzahl
  • internationales Team von Lehrenden
  • Unterricht in der Zielsprache in einem großen Anteil des Curriculums
  • forschungsorientiertes Studieren dank interdisziplinärer Kooperationen
  • Fachbibliothek mit über 100.000 Bänden
  • Kontakt und Austausch mit weiteren romanischen Sprachen und Kulturen in einem gesamtromanistischen Institut

Mögliche/empfohlene Profile

Je nach angestrebtem Berufsfeld ist eine Kombination des Faches Spanien- und Hispanoamerikastudien mit kultur- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern, darüber hinaus mit Wirtschafts- bzw. Rechtswissenschaften empfehlenswert. Das Studium in Göttingen ermöglicht individuelle, innovative Kombinationen aus einem Angebot von rund 40 Fächern.

Berufsfelder

Für Absolventinnen und Absolventen erschließen sich alle beruflichen Wege, die mit der spanischen Sprache und Kultur zu tun haben. Typische Berufsfelder sind beispielsweise Medienberufe, Tourismus, Verlagswesen, Nichtregierungs- und Kulturorganisationen sowie Öffentlichkeitsarbeit etwa in international agierenden Wirtschaftsunternehmen. Der Bachelor Spanien- und Hispanoamerikastudien bietet optimale Voraussetzungen für eine spätere Spezialisierung als Dolmetscherin oder Übersetzerin bzw. Dolmetscher oder Übersetzer. Die Universität bietet viele Veranstaltungen zur Berufsorientierung und zur Vorbereitung auf den Arbeitsmarkt.