Institute of Computer Science

Institute of Computer Science


Important information concerning the Coronavirus!

The University of Göttingen has started teaching and examination activities in the summer semester on Monday, 20 April 2020, initially mainly in digital form - i.e. without attendance. For detailed information concerning the individual courses, please have a look in Stud.IP. The staff of the Institute of Computer Science will continue to work in home office. You can contact them via e-mail.

Also, the Office of the Dean of Studies of Computer Science including the study advisory service will remain closed until further notice. You can reach the study consultants by e-mail: studienberatung@informatik.uni-goettingen.de. Further information and telephone consultation hours are announced on their blog.

Please also note the university's information pages for staff and for students on the current situation. The websites are updated regularly.

(Last updated: 27.04.2020)



Welcome to the Institute of Computer Science

The Institute of Computer Science (IFI) in Göttingen was founded in November of 2002. It is part of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science. The institute is responsible for research and instruction in core computer science. It thereby contributes greatly to the Bachelor and Master programmes in Computer Science and Data Science, especially in the study of core computer science (practical, theoretical, and technical computer science). Research and instruction at the IFI focus on theoretical, applied, and practical computer sciences. Communications systems are emphasized in particular: At the IFI, professors from various disciplines work together on this common research theme. Emphasis is placed on different areas of research in this field, such as software techniques for communication systems, internet technology, databases, and also theoretical computer science. Research concerning the economic aspects of communication systems is also being carried out in cooperation with the Institute of Business Informatics. Additional interfaculty research projects exist with the departments for bioinformatics in both the Medical Center and the Faculty of Biology and Psychology as well as with other applied informatics departments.

Institut für Informatik

Institut für Informatik


Wichtige Informationen zum Coronavirus!

Die Universität Göttingen hat am 20. April 2020 den Lehr- und Prüfungsbetrieb zunächst überwiegend in digitaler Form - also ohne Präsenz - wieder aufgenommen. Detaillierte Informationen für die einzelnen Veranstaltungen finden Sie in Stud.IP. Die Mitarbeitenden des Instituts für Informatik arbeiten weiterhin im Homeoffice und sind per E-Mail erreichbar.

Das Studiendekanat der Informatik bleibt bis auf Weiteres geschlossen. Ihre Fragen und Anliegen können Sie per Email schicken an: studienberatung@informatik.uni-goettingen.de. Weitere Informationen und telefonische Sprechzeiten werden auf dem Blog des Studiendekanats veröffentlicht.

Bitte beachten Sie auch die Informationsseiten der Universität für Beschäftigte und für Studierende zur aktuellen Lage. Die Webseiten werden regelmäßig aktualisiert.

(Zuletzt aktualisiert: 27.04.2020)



Willkommen im Institut für Informatik

Das Institut für Informatik (IFI) in Göttingen wurde im November 2002 gegründet. Es ist ein Institut der Fakultät für Mathematik und Informatik. Der Auftrag des Instituts für Informatik ist die Forschung und Lehre in der Kerninformatik. Das Institut trägt dabei wesentlich zu den Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen der Informatik und Data Science bei, insbesondere in der Kerninformatik (Praktische, Theoretische und Technische Informatik). Die Schwerpunkte in Forschung und Lehre befinden sich in theoretischer, angewandter und praktischer Informatik. Ein besonderes Gewicht hat der Bereich Kommunikationssysteme: Es wirken mehrere Professuren mit ihren Arbeitsgruppen im Umfeld dieses Gebiets. Dabei werden unterschiedliche Aspekte betont, wie z.B. Softwaretechnik für Kommunikationssysteme, Internet Technologie, Service Engineering, Multimedia- und Datenbankaspekte. Im Zusammenwirken mit dem Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik werden die ökonomischen Aspekte von Kommunikationssystemen in einem gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekt zur Internetökonomie erforscht. Ferner gibt es gemeinsame Forschungsvorhaben mit den beiden Abteilungen für Bioinformatik der Universitätsmedizin und der Fakultät für Biologie und Psychologie sowie mit anderen Angewandten Informatiken.