Applied Computer Science M.Sc.

How is the Applied Computer Science M.Sc. structured?




The Master's degree in Applied Computer Science (M.Sc.) is a graduate programme that requires 120 credits (4 semesters) to be successfully completed. The degree includes three areas of study: Core Curriculum, Professionalisation and the Master's Thesis. The teaching languages are German and English.

Detailed information about the structure of the study programme, specialisations/fields of applications and modules can be found in the module catalogue ("Modulverzeichnis") following the link "Regulations" on the right-hand side of this page. Example study plans can be found in the "Prüfungs- und Studienordnung"

Core Curriculum


In the Core Curriculum, students acquire deeper knowledge of systems-oriented computer science in order to develop the professional skills to apply and expand the specialised methods of the discipline.

Professionalisation


In terms of Professionalisation, students have the opportunity to choose a concentration tailored to their individual and professional inclinations, as well as professional ambitions, and to acquire core job-specific and interdisciplinary skills.

Students may select one programme specialisation for professionalisation from one of the two concentrations:

Systems-Oriented Concentration

Programme Specialisations



Application-Oriented Concentration

Programme Specialisations



While all 48 credits in the Application-Oriented Concentration are selected from Applied Computer Science or the field of specialization, in the Systems-Oriented Concentration, 18 credits of the 48 credits may be selected from the Computer Science Core.

Master's Thesis


After successful completion of 48 credits from the degree-programme modules, including at least 24 credits from Core Curriculum and 24 credits from the selected specialisation, students can write a Master's Thesis in the chosen area of specialisation or in the field of applied computer science in order to complete the Master's degree.

The specific details about the structure and course of the programme are determined by the examination and study rules and regulations.




What are the prerequisites?


Details about the prerequisites for admission to the Master's degree programme can be found on the following webpage: Application Requirements for the Applied Computer Science M.Sc.




How do I apply?


Students may apply for the Applied Computer Science M.Sc. directly via the Institute of Computer Science's online application form.

Institut für Informatik

Angewandte Informatik M.Sc.

Wie ist der Angewandte Informatik M.Sc. aufgebaut?


Angewandte Informatik MSc Studiengangsstruktur

Der Master in Angewandter Informatik (M.Sc.) ist ein weiterführender Studiengang in dem Leistungen von 120 C (4 Semester) erfolgreich absolviert werden müssen. Der Studiengang umfasst die drei Studienbereiche: Fachstudium, Professionalisierungsbereich und die Masterarbeit. Die Lehrsprachen sind Deutsch und Englisch.

Fachstudium


Im Bereich des Fachstudiums erwirbt der Studierende als wissenschaftliche Grundlage vertiefende Kenntnisse in der Systemortientierten Informatik, um in der Professionalisierung die Fähigkeit zu erwerben, die spezialisierten Methoden des Fachs anzuwenden und weiterzuentwickeln.

Professionalisierungsbereich


Im Professionalisierungsbereich hat der Studierende die Möglichkeit sich nach individuellen und fachspezifischen Neigungen und Berufswünschen zu profilieren und sich berufsspezifische und fächerübergreifende Schlüsselkompetenzen anzueignen.

Im Professionalisierungsbereich kann ein Studienschwerpunkt aus einem der zwei Studienprofile ausgewählt werden:

Sytembezogenen Profil

Studienschwerpunkt



Anwendungsbereichsbezogenes Profil

Studienschwerpunkt



Während im Anwendungsbereichsbezogenen Profil alle 48 C des Studienschwerpunktes aus der Angewandten Informatik oder dem Anwendungsfach gewählt werden, können im Sytembezogenen Profil 18 C von 48 C aus dem Bereich der Kerninformatik gewählt werden.

Masterarbeit


Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss von Modulen des Studiengangs im Umfang von 48 C, darunter jeweils wenigstens 24 C aus dem Fachstudium sowie dem gewählten Studienschwerpunkt, können die Studierenden im gewählten Studienschwerpunkt oder im Bereich der Angewandten Informatik die Masterarbeit schreiben, um das Masterstudium abzuschließen.

Die genauen Details über den Ablauf und Aufbau des Studiums regelt die Prüfungs- und Studienordnung.




Was für Voraussetzungen gibt es?


Die Details über die Voraussetzungen für den Zugang zum Master-Studiengang sind auf folgender Seite beschrieben: Bewerbung für den Studiengang Angewandte Informatik M.Sc.




Wie kann ich mich bewerben?


Die Bewerbung für den Angewandte Informatik M.Sc. erfolgt direkt über das Online-Bewerbungsformular des Instituts für Informatik.