In publica commoda

Social Sciences (B.A.)

Features

This Bachelor's degree programme offers you a broad education in Social Sciences: During the first semester, you will receive a theoretical, methodical and scientific overview of social issues. Only in the second semester will you opt for two subjects in the Social Sciences. Additionally, you will focus your personal profile by specialising in Law and/or Economics, advanced studies in Social Anthropology or Pedagogy or a further subject in the Social Sciences.

Name:
Social Sciences
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Teaching language:
German
Standard period of studies:
6 semesters
Start of studies:
Winter semester only
Admission:
restricted admission (Application to the University)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered

Get to know us


Details

Social sciences examine the phenomena of communal life in society with theoretical or empirical methods. Social interaction is analysed, for example individuals and their roles, groups and societies, but also social networks and structures, how they develop, how they function and how they disintegrate.

The interdisciplinary Bachelor’s degree programme in Social Sciences combines broad, subject-related scientific instruction with innovative ideas from the Bologna discussion. During the first semester, students receive basic instruction in the theories and methods of social sciences. Subsequently, their knowledge is expanded in two disciplines of social science, combined with an option for specialisation. Unique in Germany is the large diversity of choices with nine subject areas.

Students of Social Sciences acquire professional competencies for a variety of occupational fields. These include market and opinion research, organisational and human resources development, employment in political parties and associations, development cooperation, cultural and educational politics, foreign affairs and international development, public relations, marketing, promotion of women and gender mainstreaming, public administration, business enterprises, town planning and regional planning, the media and cultural institutions, museums, non-governmental organisations, political education and adult education. The integrated internship provides a first opportunity for orientation towards various professions and occupational fields.

The degree programme in Social Sciences prepares students for the acquisition of more advanced scientific qualification, for example through Master’s degree programmes.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

Introduction

Orientation Methods

Specialization

Specialisation

Final studies

Bachelor thesis Key Competencies

Regulations and module directory


Admission

Start:
Winter and summer semester
1st subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Citizen from an EU country (including Germany and EEA) or holding a German university entrance qualification

Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Impressions

Study Social Sciences in Göttingen

Nothing solid? Not at all. With a Bachelor's in Social Sciences you have many opportunities to try out your skills and find a career later - in political parties, international organisations, in the cultural and museum sector or in journalism. Unique in Germany is the large diversity of choices with nine subject areas. How does a society function? What roles do individuals and groups play? How do they influence each other? You get to know theories and methods, but also many like-minded people. And: There is still enough time to experience Göttingen alongside your studies.


Studienbegleitende Angebote


Contact

Academic advising

Dr. Klaas Kunst

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
Oeconomicum, Room No. 1.107
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 551 39 26557
Fax: +49 551 39 7692

Klaas.Kunst@sowi.uni-goettingen.de

Programme homepage

In publica commoda

Sozialwissenschaften (B.A.)

Steckbrief

Der Bachelorstudiengang Sozialwissenschaften bietet Ihnen eine breite sozialwissenschaftliche Ausbildung: Sie erhalten im ersten Semester einen theoretischen, methodischen und wissenschaftlichen Überblick zu gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen und Sie legen erst im zweiten Semester Ihre zwei Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fachgebiete fest. Zusätzlich schärfen Sie Ihr individuelles Profil durch eine Spezialisierung auf Rechts- und/oder Wirtschaftswissenschaften, eine ethnologische oder eine erziehungswissenschaftliche Vertiefung oder ein weiteres sozialwissenschaftliches Fach.

Name:
Sozialwissenschaften
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
Wintersemester
Zulassung:
Zulassungsbeschränkt
(Bewerbung bei der Universität)

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fachspezifisch IPS Logo

Informationsplattform

Für Studieninteressierte

Fächerübergreifend AufInsStudiumBanner
11. - 09.
JUN/JUL

Auf ins Studium

Die Orientierungsdienstage

Fächerübergreifend Herbstuni Banner
07./14.
OKT

Herbstuni

Erste Einblicke in die Universität

Fächerübergreifend Schnupperstudium
ab 15.
APR

Schnupper­studium

Be­suchen Sie Vor­lesun­gen

Inhalte

Die Sozialwissenschaften untersuchen die Phänomene gesellschaftlichen Zusammenlebens durch theoretische oder erfahrende Methoden. Es werden soziale Verflechtungen analysiert, wie beispielsweise Einzelpersonen und ihre Rollen, Gruppen und Gesellschaften aber auch Netzwerke und Strukturen, wie sie entstehen, wirken und auseinanderfallen.

Der Studiengang Sozialwissenschaften ist nicht zu vergleichen mit Studiengängen wie Soziale Arbeit oder Sozialpädagogik und bereitet auch nicht auf therapeutische oder psychologische Arbeitsbereiche vor. Die Berufsfelder, die Ihnen mit dem Bachelor Sozialwissenschaften offen stehen, liegen nicht in diesen Aufgabenfeldern. Auch ein Wechsel aus dem Bachelor Sozialwissenschaften in einen der oben genannten Bereiche dürfte äußerst schwierig werden.

Der interdisziplinäre Bachelorstudiengang Sozialwissenschaften verbindet eine breite sozialwissenschaftliche Ausbildung mit innovativen Ideen aus der Bologna-Diskussion. Die Studierenden erhalten im ersten Semester grundlegende Einblicke in Theorien und Methoden der Sozialwissenschaften. Im Anschluss daran werden zwei sozialwissenschaftliche Fachgebiete vertieft und mit einer Spezialisierungsmöglichkeit kombiniert. Deutschlandweit einzigartig ist die große Vielfalt an Auswahlmöglichkeiten mit neun Disziplinen.

Mit dem sozialwissenschaftlichen Studium werden fachliche Kompetenzen für Tätigkeiten in unterschiedlichen Berufsfeldern erworben. Hierzu zählen Felder wie Markt- und Meinungsforschung, Organisations- und Personalentwicklung, Parteien und Verbände, Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Institutionen der Kultur-, Außen- und Entwicklungspolitik, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Marketing, Frauenförderung und Gender Mainstreaming, öffentliche Verwaltungen, Wirtschaftsunternehmen, Stadt- und Regionalplanung, Medien und Kultureinrichtungen, Museen, Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen sowie Politische und Erwachsenenbildung. Durch das integrierte Praktikum wird eine erste Orientierung in unterschiedliche Praxis- und Berufsfelder ermöglicht.

Das Studium der Sozialwissenschaften bereitet auf eine weiterführende wissenschaftliche Qualifizierung etwa in Masterstudiengängen vor.

Verwandte Studiengänge

Studienaufbau

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis

Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs

Einblicke

Sozialwissenschaften studieren in Göttingen

Nichts Handfestes? Ganz und gar nicht. Mit dem Bachelor Sozialwissenschaften haben Sie viele Möglichkeiten, sich auszuprobieren und später einen Beruf zu finden - unter anderem in Parteien, internationalen Organisationen, im Kultur- und Museumsbereich oder im Journalismus. Deutschlandweit einzigartig ist die große Vielfalt an Auswahlmöglichkeiten mit neun Disziplinen. Wie funktioniert eine Gesellschaft? Welche Rollen nehmen Einzelne und Gruppen ein? Wie beeinflussen sie sich gegenseitig? Sie lernen Theorien und Methoden, aber auch viele Gleichgesinnte kennen. Und: Es bleibt Zeit, neben dem Studium Göttingen zu erleben.


Studienbegleitende Angebote

Kontakt

Studien- und Prüfungsberatung

Dr. Klaas Kunst

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
Oeconomicum, Raum 1.107
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 551 39 20472
Fax: +49 551 39 7692

Klaas.Kunst@sowi.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage des Studienfachs