In publica commoda

Political Science (B.A.)

Features

The study of political science offers insights into basic questions, methods and fields of application relating to this subject. Politics is understood as the attempt to solve or at least mitigate various social problems through collectively binding decision-making, which is why politics is sometimes also described as “the art of the possible”. Political science investigates the course and the results of political processes, their general institutional conditions and the participating actors.

Programme:
Political Science
Degree:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
restricted admission (application to the University)
Orientation events:
Orientation events are offered

Get to know us

Programme specific fachwechsel_sowi

Change of subject or university/h3>

Information and Advisory Services

Cross-programme ErsteSchrittedigital
6th Febr

Digital: First Steps

to find a suitable programme


Details

Political science deals in a methodical way with a great variety of subject areas. It asks such questions as: Which actors pursue which objectives, and how do they try to achieve them? What is the structure of the institutions in which the actors need to come to terms with each other? Who benefits from the structure of these institutions? How are compromises reached and who influences decision-making processes behind the scene? How do politicians try to influence public opinion by their actions?

In the six-semester Bachelor’s degree programme you will gain the fundamental knowledge and skills required in political science work. You will be familiarised with research methods, theories and findings, and in the course of your studies, you will be taught to apply these and examine them critically as well. You will extend the knowledge acquired from lectures about various areas of political science in accompanying seminars. There are also various additional courses on scientific work and a wide range of options in the area of professionalisation.

To help you with entering this programme of study successfully, in addition to the student advisory service, the student mentoring team is available to advise and assist first-semester students of Bachelor’s degree programme in political science.

The mono-subject B.A. degree programme in political science offers the most comprehensive political science study programme. You will acquire sound knowledge in all classic sectors of political science and be given the opportunity to extend that knowledge in the areas of your personal preferences. In the German-language mono Bachelor’s degree programme, you will also acquire the necessary skills for independent scientific work of your own. You will be required to gather extensive knowledge about fundamental terms and concepts, historical contexts, methods and theories of political science and apply these in practice.

A political science internship, a semester abroad or some form of political commitment are integral parts of this degree programme. If you are thinking in terms of acquiring a Master’s degree in political science following the completion of your Bachelor’s degree, this degree programme is the ideal starting point, since it will qualify you for a wide range of Master’s degree programmes.

Political theory and history of ideas, comparative political science and political economy, didactics of politics, international relations, the political system of the Federal Republic of Germany. The university’s Democracy Research Institute is also involved in the teaching programme.

As a graduate in political science you may find job opportunities in various fields, such as politics, administration and work with associations; non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and intercultural transfer, consultancies, market and opinion research; in the media, in public relations, political education and adult education.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

In addition to the professional studies in political science, study of a second subject is required as an extracurricular area of competence. Here, students can select one of the following areas of competence: education and migration, Chinese studies, gender studies, interdisciplinary Indian studies, international law and constitutional law, culture and religion, recent and modern history, philosophy and history of law/philosophy of law, technical innovation and the environment, society and living space, economics and international economics.

The area of professionalization consists of the optional subject areas (practice-oriented or scientific profile), and the key competencies.

Regulations and module directory


Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
open admission (enrolment without previous application)

EU
Citizen from an EU country (including Germany and EEA) or holding a German university entrance qualification

Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Contact

Academic Advising

Annegret Schallmann

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
37073 Göttingen

Phone: +49 551 39 27159
Fax: +49 551 39 26542

Annegret.Schallmann@sowi.uni-goettingen.de

Homepage

In publica commoda

Politikwissenschaft (B.A.)

Steckbrief

Das Studium der Politikwissenschaft bietet einen Einblick in grundlegende Fragestellungen, Methoden, und Anwendungsbereiche des Faches. Politik wird verstanden als der Versuch, verschiedene gesellschaftliche Probleme durch das Herstellen kollektiv verbindlicher Entscheidungen zu lösen oder zumindest zu mildern, weshalb Politik mitunter auch als die „Kunst des Möglichen“ bezeichnet wird. Die Politikwissenschaft untersucht dabei den Ablauf und die Ergebnisse politischer Prozesse, ihre institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen und beteiligte Akteure.

Name des Studienfachs:
Politikwissenschaft
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Zum Studienbeginn werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten

Lernen Sie uns kennen

Fachspezifisch IPS Logo

Orientierungsphase

Wintersemester 2022/23

Fächerübergreifend Schnupperstudium
ab Ende
Oktober

Schnupperstudium

Besuchen Sie Vorlesungen


Inhalte

Die Politikwissenschaft befasst sich methodisch mit vielen Gegenstandsbereichen. Unter anderem stellt sie Fragen wie: Welche Akteure haben welche Interessen, und wie versuchen sie, diese durchzusetzen? Wie sind die Institutionen aufgebaut, in denen sich die Akteure miteinander auseinandersetzen müssen? Wer hat Vorteile durch den Aufbau dieser Institutionen? Wie kommt es zu Kompromissen, und wer nimmt unbemerkt Einfluss auf den Entscheidungsprozess? Wie versuchen Politikerinnen und Politiker die öffentliche Meinung durch ihr Handeln zu beeinflussen?

Im sechsemestrigen Bachelorstudiengang werden Ihnen grundlegende Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten politikwissenschaftlichen Arbeitens vermittelt. Sie lernen Forschungsmethoden, Theorien und Befunde kennen und werden im Laufe Ihres Studiums in die Lage versetzt, sie anzuwenden und sich kritisch mit ihnen auseinanderzusetzen. Das in den Vorlesungen zu den verschiedenen Teilbereichen der Politikwissenschaft Erlernte vertiefen Sie in begleitenden Seminaren. Darüber hinaus gibt es zusätzlich Veranstaltungen zum wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten und ein breites Angebot im Professionalisierungsbereich.

Damit der Einstieg in das Studium gut gelingt, steht Ihnen im ersten Semester neben der Studienberatung in allen politikwissenschaftlichen Bachelor-Studiengängen auch das studentische MentorInnen-Team mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Der Monofach-B.A. Politikwissenschaft bietet das umfangreichste politikwissenschaftliche Studienprogramm. Sie erwerben fundierte Kenntnisse in allen klassischen Teilbereichen der Politikwissenschaft und haben Gelegenheit, diese Ihren Interessen entsprechend zu vertiefen. Zudem erwerben Sie im deutschsprachigen Mono-Bachelorstudiengang die Fähigkeit zum selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten. Sie sollen sich umfangreiche Kenntnisse zu den grundlegenden Begriffen sowie geschichtliche Zusammenhänge, Methoden und Theorien der Politikwissenschaft erarbeiten und diese praxisorientiert anwenden.

Ein politikwissenschaftliches Praktikum, ein Auslandssemester oder politisches Engagement sind integraler Bestandteil dieses Studiengangs. Wenn Sie überlegen, im Anschluss an den Bachelor einen Master in Politikwissenschaft zu erwerben, ist dieser Studiengang die ideale Voraussetzung, da Sie sich damit für sehr viele Masterprogramme qualifizieren.

Politische Theorie und Ideengeschichte, Vergleichende Politikwissenschaft und Politische Ökonomie, Didaktik der Politik, Internationale Beziehungen, das politische System der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Außerdem beteiligt sich das Institut für Demokratieforschung am Lehrangebot.

Als Absolventin / Absolvent der Politikwissenschaft arbeiten Sie in verschiedenen Tätigkeitsfeldern unter anderem in Politik, Verwaltung und Verbänden; Nicht-Regierungs-Organisationen (NGOs) und interkulturellem Transfer, Beratungsagenturen sowie in der Markt-Meinungsforschung; in Medien, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Politischer Bildung und Erwachsenenbildung.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Neben dem Fachstudium der Politikwissenschaft ist ein zweites Fach als außerfachlicher Kompetenzbereich zu studieren. Hier stehen folgende Kompetenzbereiche zur Auswahl:

Erziehung, Bildung, Gesellschaft; China; Geschlechterforschung; Gesellschaft und Raum; Interdisziplinäre Indienstudien; Internationales Recht und Staatsrecht; Kultur und Religion; Mensch und Gesellschaft; Neuere und neueste Geschichte; Philosophie und Rechtsgeschichte/Rechtsphilosophie; Technische Innovationen und Umwelt; Vielfalt und soziale Ungleichheit sowie Volkswirtschaftslehre und Internationale Ökonomie.

Der Professionalisierungsbereich besteht aus dem Optionalbereich (berufsfeldorientiertes oder wissenschaftsorientiertes Profil) und den Schlüsselkompetenzen.

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsfrei (Immatrikulation ohne vorherige Bewerbung)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Kontakt

Studienberatung der sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät

Annegret Schallmann

Platz der Göttinger Sieben 3
37073 Göttingen

Tel.: +49 551 39 27159
Fax: +49 551 39 26542

Annegret.Schallmann@sowi.uni-goettingen.de

Studienbüro