In publica commoda

Applied Data Science (B.Sc.)

Features

Programme:
Applied Data Science
Degree:
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Standard period of study:
6 semesters
Start:
Only the winter semester
Language of the programme:
German
Admission:
restricted admission (application to the University)
Orientation events:
at the begin of your studies orientation events are offered
Pre-course:
A pre-course in computer science and a pre-course in mathematics are offered.

Get to know us


Details

The field of data science includes aspects of mathematics, computer science and statistics. Data science deals with data analysis and the knowledge gained from data, as well as the techniques required for processing large and partially unstructured data volume. In the Bachelor’s degree programme “Applied Data Science", detailed knowledge of data analysis is taught on the basis of computer science and mathematics. In an application subject, students are also introduced to the practical application of the data analysis methods they have learned. The data analysis courses include aspects of machine learning, statistics, pattern recognition and the infrastructures required for effective analyses. Students may choose economics, biology, digital humanities, medical computer science, breeding informatics or physical modeling and data analysis as application subjects.

In Göttingen, we set a high value on close connection with the application subject. Moreover, the courses in mathematics, computer science and statistics in Göttingen provide ideal conditions for a multi-disciplinary degree programme such as data science.

Anyone choosing Applied Data Science as their study subject should be interested in formal mathematics as well as application-related practical work. The ability to work in a team is a vital prerequisite for daily professional work later on. English language skills are required. Special subject-related knowledge, especially in programming, is not required.

Data scientists are currently sought after in virtually all subject areas, in research as well as in industry and commerce. Potential employers can be found especially in marketing, banks, insurance and reinsurance companies, the IT sector, business consultancies, public research institutes or corporate R&D departments, the pharmaceutical sector (clinical studies), in public health organisations and at universities. Thanks to the close involvement of this degree programme with the areas of application directly at the University, potential employment opportunities exist especially in research departments engaged in data-driven research in the areas mentioned above. In Germany, there is currently a shortage of specialist staff in all of these areas.

Related and consecutive/graduate programmes


Structure

The bachelor's degree program "Applied Data Science" requires a total of 180 credit points to be earned. The study program is divided into the areas of subject studies, professionalization and bachelor thesis. Detailed information on the structure of the study program, on application subjects and on modules can be found in the module directory. Sample study plans can be found in the examination and study regulations.

Subject studies (64 Credit points)

  • Fundamentals of computer science
  • The mathematical foundations of Data Science
  • Fundamentals of Data Science

Area of Professionalization (104 Credit points)

  • Elective area »Data Science«, e.g. Advanced Machine Learning
  • Elective area »Subject of application«, e.g. Business and Economics or Biology
  • Practical courses / Advanced research training
  • Key competencies, e.g. Programming or language courses

Bachelor thesis (12 Credit points)

Regulations and module directory


Admission

Start:
Winter semester only
1st subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)
2nd to 6th subject semester:
restricted admission (application to the University)

EU
Citizen from an EU country (including Germany and EEA) or holding a German university entrance qualification

Non-German citizens without a German educational qualification

Non-EU
Citizen from a non-EU country (or stateless person)


Contact

Academic Advising

Office of Dean of Studies Computer Science
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Student Advisory Service
Goldschmidtstr. 7
37077 Göttingen

studienberatung@informatik.uni-goettingen.de

In publica commoda

Angewandte Data Science (B.Sc.)

Steckbrief

Name des Studienfachs:
Angewandte Data Science
Abschluss:
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Regelstudienzeit:
6 Semester
Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
Unterrichtssprache:
Deutsch
Zulassung:
Zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
Orientierungsveranstaltung:
Zum Studienbeginn werden Orientierungsveranstaltungen angeboten
Vorkurs:
Es wird ein Vorkurs angeboten

Inhalte

Das Gebiet "Data Science" ist an der Schnittstelle der Mathematik, der Informatik, und der Statistik angesiedelt. Data Science beschäftigt sich mit der Analyse und dem Erkenntnisgewinn aus Daten sowie den benötigten Techniken zum Verarbeiten von großen und teilweise unstrukturierten Datenmengen. Im Bachelorstudiengang "Angewandte Data Science" werden aufbauend auf den Grundlagen der Informatik und Mathematik vertiefende Kenntnisse der Datenanalyse vermittelt. Weiterhin lernen Studierende in einem Anwendungsfach praktischen Einsatz der erlernten Methoden zur Datenanalyse kennen. Zu den vermittelten Kenntnissen der Datenanalyse gehören Aspekte des maschinellen Lernens, der Statistik, der Mustererkennung und der für eine effiziente Analyse benötigten Infrastrukturen. Als Anwendungsfächer können Studierende Wirtschaft, Biologie, digitale Geisteswissenschaften, medizinische Informatik, und Züchtungsinformatik wählen.

In Göttingen wird besonderer Wert auf die enge Verknüpfung mit dem Anwendungsfach gelegt. Weiterhin bietet das Umfeld in der Mathematik, Informatik, und Statistik in Göttingen die idealen Bedingungen für einen multidisziplinären Studiengang wie Data Science.

Wer Angewandte Data Science als Studienfach wählt, sollte sowohl an einer mathematisch formalen als auch an einer anwendungsbezogenen praktischen Arbeitsweise Interesse haben. Die Fähigkeit zur Teamarbeit ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für den späteren Berufsalltag. Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache sind erforderlich. Spezielle Fachkenntnisse, insbesondere in der Programmierung, werden nicht vorausgesetzt.

Data Scientist werden derzeit in nahezu allen Fachdisziplinen gesucht, sowohl in der Forschung, als auch in der Wirtschaft. Mögliche Arbeitgeber finden sich insbesondere im Marketing, in Banken, Versicherungen und Rückversicherungen, im IT-Bereich, in Unternehmensberatungen, in öffentlichen Forschungsinstituten oder Entwicklungs- und Forschungsabteilungen in Unternehmen, im Pharmabereich (Klinische Studien) sowie im öffentlichen Gesundheitswesen, in Hochschulen und Universitäten. Durch die Nähe der Ausbildung zu den Anwendungsbereichen direkt an der Universität sind insbesondere Forschungsabteilungen, die sich mit datengetriebener Forschung in den betrachteten Domänen beschäftigen, mögliche Arbeitsgebiete. In allen diesen Domänen mangelt es derzeit in Deutschland an Spezialisten.

Verwandte und weiterführende Studiengänge


Studienaufbau

Im Rahmen des Bachelorstudiengangs »Angewandte Data Science« müssen insgesamt 180 Credits erworben werden. Der Studiengang gliedert sich in die Bereiche Fachstudium, Professionalisierung und Bachelorarbeit. Detaillierte Informationen zum Aufbau des Studiums, zu Anwendungsfächern und zu Modulen finden Sie im Modulverzeichnis unter dem Link "Ordnungen" in der rechten Spalte. Beispielstudienpläne finden Sie in der Prüfungs- und Studienordnung.

Fachstudium (64 Credits )

  • Grundlagen der Informatik
  • Mathematische Grundlagen der Data Science
  • Grundlagen der Data Science

Professionalisierungsbereich (104 Credits )

  • Wahlbereich »Data Science«, z. B. Vertiefung Maschinelles Lernen
  • Wahlbereich »Anwendungsfach«, z. B. Wirtschaft oder Biologie
  • Fach- und Projektpraktika
  • Schlüsselkompetenzen, z. B. Programmieren oder Sprachkurse

Bachelorarbeit (12 Credits )

Ordnungen und Modulverzeichnis


Zulassung

Studienbeginn:
nur Wintersemester
1. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)
2. bis 6. Fachsemester:
zulassungsbeschränkt (Bewerbung bei der Universität)

EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Mitgliedsstaates der EU oder EWR (inkl. Deutschland) oder Bildungsinländer/in

Nicht-Deutsche Staatsbürger/in ohne deutschen Bildungsabschluss

Non-EU
Staatsbürger/in eines Staates außerhalb der EU (oder Staatenlose/r) oder Absolvent/in eines Studienkollegs


Kontakt

Spezifische Fachberatung

Studiendekanat Informatik
Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Studienberatung
Goldschmidtstr. 7
37077 Göttingen

studienberatung@informatik.uni-goettingen.de